Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 503
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I have been a Silver Gate parent for 11 years and have been extremely happy with every aspect of the school. Great teachers, wonderful principal and phenomenal parent involvement. This school is definitely a 10! School is great at Silver Gate!

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
We've been at Silver Gate for 5 years now and cannot say enough about what a wonderful experience we've had. Absolutely fantastic staff, from our aides to our teachers to our Principal, Sandy McClure. Such a happy, healthy, nurturing environment. Parental involvement is stellar!


Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2011
- a parent
Love it, love it, love it... and so do my kids. I honestly feel like my kids are getting a better education than they could get in most local private schools.

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
The principal, Sandra McClure is incredible at this great school. She has one child there currently and one that just graduated, so she's vested. She's approachable, proactive, forward thinking and genuinely a nice person. The school has an amazing parent association, Friends of Silver Gate, who's fundraising efforts shelter this school from the state budget woes. Go to any advertised event and see the family support, friendly people, and and feel the sense of community. You can't go wrong in choosing this school. All three of my children have learned the love of learning at Silver Gate. The Silver Gate community raises successful students so I rate it a 5 star school.

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
We are military and move frequently. In our 11 yrs in public ed I can say Silvergate has the best principal my children have ever had!!! Would also like to say if you have a child with any special needs this is the school for you!! The resource teacher is simply the beast!! She makes you feel your child is the only child that matters!! I highly recommend this school!!!! Great parent involvement!! Incredible PE teacher as well!!!


Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2010
- a parent
Great school. We looked at private and public schools and loved this school. The principal is totally involved, the teachers care and the parents are amazing... they fund so much it seems like a private school. We loved it and were sorry to leave.

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers really care if your child is learning, principal is very involved and very approachable. PTA is marvelous, many hard working parents contributing to the success of the school. Families are encouraged to be involved.

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a teacher
Warm and welcoming campus; wonderful, dedicated staff; fantastic school community; science, computer, and movement labs; before and after school tutoring and activities; extra music and art lessons; fabulous students; excellent test scores; and much more.


Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
The parent involvement, programs paid by the Friends of Silver Gate foundation which were cut by the state and the love the teachers have for their students. You get a real sense of community at this school. The children always have smiles on their faces and you can see the teachers love to teach there. It is the most incredible school I have ever seen!

Silver Gate Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
The principal is friendly and well-organized. The teachers really care about the children. Parents volunteer and support the school's programs. They have many activities for the students including a school garden project. The test scores are great.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silver Gate Elementary School
1499 Venice Street, San Diego, CA  92107
(619) 222-1139
Last modified Silver Gate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silver Gate Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top