Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Standley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $277,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2013

So it seems most parents hate or love Stanley......at any school one will have issues. I will not tell you about the positive but what I will tell you is why people see the native & this may explain all the one star ratings. One parent writes of a known bully who the principal allowed to read the graduation speech. This parent is only venting and failed to include that their daughter was suspended supported by school cameras. Further the principal does not chose the speech writer & reader but a panel of 7 teacher (none of which are the principal). The speech reader this yr is loved by the majority of her piers and weighs in at 120lb 5 feet and labeling an outstanding person a bully is sad. Parents blame everyone for their failures when they have no clue and seems that they are manipulated by these little ones. Math is difficult but in any good HS it is harder. We had to use tutoring to get our star reader to pass math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

I used to go to this school when it was still Jr. High and it was a great school back then, so, i figured if I put my daughter here, she would have somewhat of the same experience...well, boy was I mistaken. My daughter struggles with school and right away the teachers just said she was lazy and was seen as a target. I asked for an IEP test and was told I needed to talk to my doctor??..Teachers here don't know how to talk to the kids, or parents, yet they expect respect and they do not lead by example. The staff there doesn't know how to deal with certain issues. Just because this school is in La Jolla, doesn't mean it's a good school. They were also under review not too long ago...and it was for a reason. I am proud and relieved to say that my daughter will NOT be attending this school next year. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT bring your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

I understand that middle school can be a difficult time for kids and a challenge for educators. But the administration at this school is the epitomy of apathy. The Principal refuses to address important issue like bullying and other bad behavior to the point that it takes threats of legal action for her to do her job. We were appauled to learn recently that a known bully was given the honor of making a speech at the 8th grade promotion ceremony next week, because she won a speech writing contest. Ms. Lyons promotes bad behavior and than grandstands when she finally takes action to advise parents about the bullying that is taking place on her campus that she has been told about for months. I would say this is a pathetic display of leadership. This has been the worst 3 years of my daughters life and we are so grateful that its almost over. I would advise you don't walk away from sending your child to Standley Middle School, run as fast and as far as you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

A negative and disorganized school that performs well below expectations. Staff are not racist but can be rude, condescending and obstructive with any parent. Parents volunteers who were active in elementary school often stop helping out when they start to feel their children are treated unfairly. The feeder elementary and high schools are high performing yet Standley was classed as 'failing' for three years and barely escaped this year - last test scores are still far short and NOT 'out of this world'. Professional behavior, basic skills and teaching effort in almost 1/3 of the staff is lacking. I have seen staff responsible for student injuries, bring replica weapons into school, blatant failures to grade or demonstrate any records of student work, failures to show up for parent meetings.. If this were your child's behavior it would soon be a suspension or worse but the Principal simply refuses to acknowledge problems. A letter yesterday detailed how graduating 8th graders with low academic or citizenship scores will be prohibited from attending the graduation ceremony. All these kids should be celebrated but the final memory of Standley will be negativity and discrimination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

The way math is taught in this school (district?) is the most convoluted mess I have ever seen. I can not even put into words how both my child and myself have come to HATE this subject now. I realize that once summer starts I will be entirely reteaching this whole subject to my child in an orderly and logical progression using workbooks as it seems this subject at the school is all over the place and hardly uses the book on most occasions. To many handouts without answers and not enough intervention to determine exactly how well a student is doing at understanding the material, whatever that my be at times. Makes me question if I should send another child to this school or just relocate instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

This school has a Three Strike & You re Out rule.(A punishment program regarding unfinished homework assignments) and the staff are forcing students (who did not complete and/or turn in a homework assignment or packet) to make a phone call home (while school is in session) and read (from a script written by the school staff) a VERY HUMILIATING speech to their parents; (in short) telling them how sorry they are for letting them down & not living up to their standards and expectations, & so on. By the third (strike) time not completing a homework assignment, the student not only has to make the (humiliating speech) call home, they also must have a meeting with the school s VP 5 days of lunch detention or one day of Wednesday school. This happens even if the student has been out sick and has quite a bit of homework to catch up on. I m sorry but, What s Up !! Is this practice of student humiliation REALLY necessary; I think NOT ??!! But then again . . . Who am I to question this school s disciplinary actions; I m just another parent; right ?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

i like this school im a six grader there i love it just some thighs i dont like lets start with PE i dont like chaging i front of the other students i try to go to the rest room and it turns out we are not aloud to chage i the rest room my math teacher mr withers is awsome he can get a little rasit ad ms danilso she can get racest too mr marcus is the awsome teacher he is a music teacher and mr weedmark is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted September 4, 2012

Standley Middle School is by far the worst school I have ever been to. The school is very poor and unorganized. They say that it is not their fault they are poor but because the funding is bad. However, they spend their money very poorly spending money on textbooks and other things that are almost never used throughout the year. The schedules are also very unorganized, and are always wrong and have to be changed 2 or 3 times. The staff and teachers also fail at controlling the kids and most of them are very racist and constantly say inappropriate things. The school is very unsanitary, as there is gum all over the floor, under the desks, and even under the chairs. The principal does not even accept parents' requests for changing their kids' classes. The cafeteria lunch menu is also poorly designed because they are limited to each item to often vegetarians starve. I went to Standley for an unfortunate 3 years. Take my advice and do NOT go to Standley.


Posted April 21, 2012

There is so much racism at this school from the Principal to office staffs! They are unkind and ignore students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

There is quite a bit of racism at Standley Middle School. There also seems to be a problem with bullying that the administration tolerates. It appears that the staff has difficulties controlling the behavioral problems of the students. My child has been bullied repeatedly at Standley and the staff chooses to look the other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

This is the most awesome school i ever seen even my kids are very smart and the GATE program helped them to go to higher level classes so I say that this is the best school I ever seen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I think Standley is an awesome school. I sent both my kids to Standley after they attended private school. Standley challenged and supported them both! Principal Lyon and staff are the best! TK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Academics at this school score badly relative to the UCcluster elementary and high schools and are also poor relative to comparable student populations in the SD District. Science is only given as an option for 1/3year in 6th grade, so less important than PE, Social Studies.. Lunch and external activities are minimal. Many teachers seem incapable of managing their web materials or email. The main school focus appears to be tracking petty disciplinary issues. Management and planning is poor - now even worse then the previous Principal - this year 2/6 grading periods were almost done (Thanksgiving!) before the back-to-school night explaining class expectations was even held. Office staff typically ignore you and one counselor is notoriously unresponsive. There are good reasons many UC cluster parents skip the kids out from Standley for the middle school years and come back for UC High later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2011

If I understand the official mail I just received, this school is in year 2 of an Improvement Program after having failed to achieve proper scores in basic standardized testing for the No Child Left Behind act. Whether this reflects poorly on the school itself or suggests GreatSchools.org is a scam for ranking it a 9, something is misaligned with all these stats and ratings. The very scary thing about this San Diego Unified School District letter, by the way, is encouragement to apply to other schools with no cost bussing for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I recently graduated from Standley and I really enjoyed my time there. I was in the Seminar program and the teachers were really helpful and often challenged us to go further in our studies. They helped us do our best for tests and were very supportive!


Posted April 18, 2011

Standley Middle School is a very good school that does it's best to serve all students. The GATE classes are offered in English and Social Studies for each of the three grades (6th, 7th and 8th). For math, all students are tested and placed based on the test results. All other classes are taught by capable and better than capable teachers and consist of a mix of all students. Students have excellent elective choices in addition to the outstanding band/orchestra options. Anyone who thinks the teachers and staff are only interested in GATE students has not spent any time at the school or talked to any of the dedicated teachers and staff. These are people who have tirelessly been doing more with less for years and will likely continue to do given the current budget outlook. How many of us would be willing to do the job they do under current conditions? In the two and a half years that she has been at the school, Principal Lyon has changed the culture dramatically. According to my child, bullying is at an all-time low. Her consistent zero-tolerance position has had a pervasive effect. I am looking forward to having my next child start there in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

This school only offers good resources (math classes, etc.) to GATE children. If your not in GATE than sorry but your going to basically learn the same stuff from 6th to 8th grade. So of course some comments (made by GATE kids) are thrilled with the school. They're actually LEARNING! There are also 43 ratings made by teacher/staff members ,which they all gave 5 stars, no surprise they all want to keep their jobs. Why don't they get a degree and start teaching! Why do kids come to school if their no getting anything out of it! It is a waste of everybody's time and when they get to high school it's gonna be a heck of a lot harder. GOOOOD LUCK!


Posted February 26, 2011

My child currently attends Standley. The only positive thing I can say about this school is that it has a great band program. Other than that this is a terrible school. Children are constanly being bullied and not much if anything at all is being done to controll it. My child will not be returning to this school next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

I just finished my first year at Standley, and I am very pleased with how the year went. The teachers are outstanding: challenging but offer lots of help when you need it. I was in the GATE program and learned a lot throughout the year. Highlights were English, in which I learned many things and also did nice projects. I also enjoyed having PE every day. The coaches were supportive and challenged you to always push harder, but never forced you to do anything completely against your abilities. I made a lot of new friends, although the behavior of some kids could be better. I am overall very happy with my first year at Standley and can't wait to start again!


Posted March 18, 2010

best school ever. the band has been an award winning band for almost 10 years and the teachers are phenominal.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
57%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
18%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females83%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability60%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state53%

Math

All Students78%
Females76%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females82%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students75%
Females79%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students69%
Females61%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females81%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students12%
Females12%
Males12%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Non-economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability19%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students75%
Females69%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Science

All Students82%
Females78%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 31%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 9%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Heidi Eastcott (Lyon)
Fax number
  • (858) 546-7627

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6298 Radcliffe Drive
San Diego, CA 92122
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 455-0550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT