Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
82 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Standley Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Great school for a new family to the area. Excellent new principle and the school has monthly sessions helping kids focus on developing character and safe learning community. So far the majority of my kid's teachers seem very good.

Standley Middle School 1

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
I was compelled to check the qualifications of the teachers due to several factors. Several seem not to have the appropriate credentials. Check your child's teachers credentials at the California department of education. Google teachers credentials california. They have a look up button. You will be surprised. To teach 7th and 8th you need a single subject in the subject you are teaching. To teach 6th you can have the elementary only. Let make sure the administration puts the correct teachers in your child classroom.


Standley Middle School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a community member
One of the teachers this year teaches 6th & 7th grade & 7th grade seminar. This is incredibly inconvenient because the teacher cannot focus and/or create different lesson plans for their classes, additionally the teacher lives far away so when the kids are sitting in their class, and while the students are working she is eating breakfast, I find this to be disturbing. The 6th grade class is practically doing the same work as the 7th graders except with different materials The 7th grade class is practically reading and doing the same thing as the seminar students The seminar students ask for a better & different lesson plan and are neglected because "the teacher is too busy" Also, someone told me that the teacher does not except late work AT ALL to create a better lesson plan, but I highly doubt this, and also, a bit back, the kids were assigned to make a plot diagram of the Superbowl, I don't think she realizes that not everyone is athletic and/or plays sports The administration is really awful and the school is flooded with students with almost 40 students per class with the teacher working 5/6 periods a day

Standley Middle School 4

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Standely, like every other middle school, has it's challenges. However, our family has had a positive experience. Their seminar track was very thorough, however my 'non-seminar' children really enjoy their experience at Standley too. With the exception of a couple, my children enjoyed their teachers. My children were choiced in so friendships were more difficult. However being a middle school student is a tricky time in the best of circumstances, and they over came this. I was not a fan of the principal last year yet she was a vast improvement over her predecessor. Over all this school is solid academically, has caring teachers, and a supportive community of parents. We've been happy here.

Standley Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
This school was absolutely terrible for me. I have ran into a bunch of bullying issues, and the counselor and teachers have done nothing about it. Even though the teachers were very kind and helpful I hated everyday I went there. I have been to six different schools throughout my entire education and that one school was the worst by far.


Standley Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
As a parent I am very discouraged with Standley. The teachers do not return emails. The communications between the VP and counselor leave a lot to be desired. The right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. I wish I would have pulled my child in December and sent them to another school. The school is a joke and a total waste of time. The only thing they care about is the paycheck... Think long and hard before sending your child here!

Standley Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This school has very competent teachers and a high parent involvement. The focus is not only how students do well but assisting and guiding them to help them reach those goals.

Standley Middle School 2

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This is school have a lot problems each class have 40 kids at less, kids come from all over San Diego , there is no parent involved and the principal ?


Standley Middle School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
I have to chuckle at the reviews. Most if not all of the teachers are quite accessible. Parents have good accessibility to both school staff and the district office. Principal Lyon has worked hard to reduce campus student population to a reasonable "by design" size over the last several years. Both of our children have attended Standley. Both children have developed great friends as well as solid academic relationships with instructors.

Standley Middle School 2

Posted February 11, 2014
- a community member
I AM A STUDENT OF THIS SCHOOL. And I would like to say that this school has its ups and downs. It is culturally diverse and has almost no bullying issues but, the principal is horribly incompetent, some teachers have no control over classes and there is very little teacher-parent communication. The only way my parents can quickly access my grades is through a website only introduced this year. And the staff is mostly burnt out. I often feel depressed when I leave school because the teachers have no control over classes and I can't recieve the full lesson nor can I fully understand it. I would not recommend this school to parents who want their children to truly strive in school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Standley Middle School
6298 Radcliffe Drive, San Diego, CA  92122-3330
(858) 455-0550
Last modified Standley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Standley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top