Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 544
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Taft Middle School 4

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
I have know Taft Middle School for many years. My children have attended this school and all the negative comments are probably made by unhappy students or parents who do not get their way. Academically the school offers an A thru G curriculum. Highly qualified teachers and receptive administration to community and parents. Too many negative people express their unhappiness and not enough positive because they are happy and don't think they need to express concern. This is a great school with community support and very bright future.

Taft Middle School 4

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
My son transferred here from a "really good" school a few months ago, and I have to say, I am more than pleased with this school. They have such a low rating and the other school is well over rated! This school does NOT have a bullying issue, and when there was even a concern of that, the teachers were quick to resolve it before it became an "issue." My son went from hating math to it being his favorite subject! Being at the "good" school didn't teach him anything bc the teachers were careless and the principal was not even aware of anything going on. With this school, any concerns you may have, they are quick to get answers and resolve any issues that may arise. The Principal is very nice and he is very involved. All the staff, from office, to cafeteria to the teachers are well involved and very nice. I have recommended this school to other friends as well as strangers and I am proud to say this school deserves a much better rating and this school is one of the best ones I've come across and I hope you give it a try if your looking for a middle school for your child!


Taft Middle School 2

Posted August 27, 2011
- a community member
There are alot of bulling in this school even if your popular. Also some or most children use innaproiate words. The teachers are great, but some students only about there grades and learning.
1 person found this helpful

Taft Middle School 4

Posted April 24, 2011
- a teacher
Since most of these reviews are very old, I am compelled to update the general public. The school currently has an API score of 776 which is a steady increase in test cores over the last several years. The teachers are caring and compassionate...and working harder than most teachers in affluent areas. Yes, as in all schools, there are some discipline problems (which, by the way, stem mostly from the home environment.) If less than 5% of the students can create an entire reputation for a school, then there is something wrong. People may have an opinion about the school and its leadership but, please consider the source of such comments. Our Student of the Month Awards ceremonies fill the library every month and we just had four students win first place at the Science Fair. There are some fantastic things happening...come to the school to visit and judge for yourself.
1 person found this helpful

Taft Middle School 1

Posted March 28, 2010
- a student
Oh my. This school is ... ugh. Some of the people you meet here are great, and I've made great friends throughout my 2 1/2 years (just recently switched) But it is very unsafe at times. (weed? comeon now . )
1 person found this helpful


Taft Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Taft Middle School 2

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Taft Middle School 2

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
Just less then a month of school left. I am so happy. This school is horrible, yes some of the teacher are great....but the lack of leadership here, is un-de scrib a ble. I have required some informations from the school and some of the staff here wouldn't know what end of a stump is if they were to see one.
1 person found this helpful


Taft Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2008
- a parent
I have had nothing but problems with this school. There are several teachers there that have been great, but as far as the leadership and safety in the school I am certainly disappointed.
1 person found this helpful

Taft Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Taft Middle School
9191 Gramercy Drive, San Diego, CA  92123
(858) 496-8245
Last modified Taft Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Taft Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top