Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Tubman has "freedom rights" of the month. Each month a different vocabulary word and trait is highlighted by the school. When a student exemplifies that trait they maybe selected as the one who most demonstrates that trait and is recognized at the monthly assembly.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Governance Board!!! The first day at Tubman was awesome!! The new principal was visible, approachable, knowledgeable and firm. We are so excited for this new school year. Most of the posts on this site and the biased newspaper article are not a true reflection of what Tubman is. This is a school which offers an exceptional academic program, which is partnered with many exciting programs such as team sports, ASB, safety patrol, peace patrol, AVID, and a full library and computer lab. These negative posts demonstrate clear misinformation, misunderstanding and a personal vendetta against board members. We should be building our school up for our students and not tearing it down. Please note: Tubman is a school of choice, anyone can move their child to another school is they are as unhappy as the posts indicated, however, the same negative people continue to bring their kids to Tubman. Are they truly that unhappy or are they too complaisant to actually move their student? Really glad to see a new group of teachers. The old ones caused much of the turmoil which has plagued Tubman for the last two years and then blamed others for their actions and then left anyway. Our family has weathered the storm and will continue to support the school we love. It's time to move on, end the drama, the rumors, the gossip, the misinformation and rebuild our school. If you have a question, heard a rumor or just have a concern - go ask someone who might actually know. It's easy to do. Here's to 2015-2016 and a great year at Tubman! Go Tubman Tigers!


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted July 17, 2015
- a community member
Please read the article entitled Parent Seizes Control of a Charter School in the Voice of San Diego newspaper. This is an on-line news source. The article outlines ongoing issues at Tubman.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
Again, kinda hard to foster respect for students while disrespecting the staff. A do as I say not as I do sort of leadership.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
The administration certainly doesn't treat it's staff that way so no telling what message the students are getting.


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
If you're looking for a strong top down dictatorial administration this school is for you! Don't worry about any teachers getting out of line, rocking the boat or speaking truth to power. They'll make sure that voice is silenced with an immediate pink slip, this being an "at will" school and all. Doesn't matter how good the teachers are. If they step one toe out of line they will be dealt with. Imagine the wonderful learning environment your students will enjoy under teachers who are constantly looking over their shoulders, stifling their thoughts and anxious whether this day will be their last. How ironic this charter chose the name Harriet Tubman, as their namesake would be appalled by the way this school is run. But hey, if you like that sort of thing, this may be the perfect place for your child.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 3

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My children thrive at Tubman. The teachers at this school are beyond extraordinary - they are the glue that has been keeping this school together for the past 3 years through turmoil, change, and decreasing morale. The school is in a super neighborhood, one in which I have lived for many, many years, and the community around the school is wonderful. Even the other schools in the community are super supportive of the teaching staff and parents of Tubman. The school has always been focused on the student & academics, which have always thrived...until the 2014-2015 year. Something has happened this year under the new board's leadership that is rather alarming. The communication to parents has ceased - hardly existent. The involvement in parents, the community, and staff is no longer available, and the board has become a unilateral effort to do whatever they want without any input from staff nor parents - which is exactly what a charter school is designed for. The board is under fire from the district & has been committing illegal and unethical actions, which is causing the alarm & negative comments. The bullying that went on with the previous leader has quadrupled, funneling down to the students, & this year has been disastrous, at least. Curriculum changes that no one knows about, lawsuits that are going to cost tens of thousands that aren't being communicated to parents. The board needs a major overhaul because this school is really truly a great little school with a LOT of opportunities for students and parents and a LOT of potential. The teachers are doing an EXCELLENT job keeping this kids sailing in academics, and it's disgusting that instead of being recognized for their efforts or being coached effectively, they are being told to either resign or not being re-elected for the following year. A charter school cannot run with someone who has NO education experience on the board - & especially by one who is even worse a bully than the previous school leader. Parents, it's a really good school, but be ware of the current board and the future.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
After giving this school a fair chance, it is clear that it is not going to get better. One can give only so much and the failure of the governance board to see that, or even understand that is seen day in and day out. When your child no longer wants to go to school, that should tell you something! Yes we did talk with teachers, Dr. Bailey and Mr. Moore when he was there. We were actually getting somewhere with Mr. Moore, since his release things have only gotten worse for my child. Yes we ALL know it was a transitional year, but the board has to be willing to give as much as they expect the parents to. If we are to make it about the kids, then so should the board! I can not, nor will I support a board that can not support its parents. I would rather there be no board and no charter so that the kids could get the support they need. And yes - NOW the site is being update regularly, but note this happened after complaints here and to SDUSD and their charter committee. If that is what it takes to get action, then I urge ALL parents to do that, for the sake of making sure your kids are getting EVERYTHING they deserve!


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
We ALL knew this was going to be a transitional year and that things might continue to change. If the principal was not a good fit, good that he was removed before the year ended. The website is updated all the time and a letter was sent saying there would be NO new principal this year - very clearly communicated. There will probably be more changes coming for next year as things continue to be worked through. The students are happy and the academic standard remains a priority at Tubman. A new educational consultant was hired to help the school continue to move towards change and the right course. It does not happen overnight. Rather than criticize, we should be supporting the governance board (all volunteers!) and school - we all want the same thing - the best school for our kids.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Here we are again in the same boat that seems to be plaguing this school with a serious lack of communication. The previous Board had one great of issue of no communication - something that has perpetuated with the new Board. A few months back we lost our principal and it took a month and complaints to the right people before a letter was sent home to parents. During all of that time the school and the kids were aware of his release, but not the parents. Some asked if there would be communication, yet nothing transpired. It took calls to the Charter Office before this would happen. Here we are in May and yet again, no communication to the parents about a new principal! How do parents find out? By their kids coming home and saying something. Who are the adults here? It is said many times that the parents need to be responsible and show up to meetings and that we need to ask. All well and good, but there needs to be accountability by the Board and the school as well! I sure hope this happens for the next school year as those kids deserve it. We are doing the best thing possible and taking our child to a different school and I would suggest others do the same!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
6880 Mohawk Street, San Diego, CA  92115
(619) 668-8635
Last modified Harriet Tubman Village Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harriet Tubman Village Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top