Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted July 17, 2015
- a community member
Please read the article entitled Parent Seizes Control of a Charter School in the Voice of San Diego newspaper. This is an on-line news source. The article outlines ongoing issues at Tubman.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
Again, kinda hard to foster respect for students while disrespecting the staff. A do as I say not as I do sort of leadership.


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
The administration certainly doesn't treat it's staff that way so no telling what message the students are getting.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
If you're looking for a strong top down dictatorial administration this school is for you! Don't worry about any teachers getting out of line, rocking the boat or speaking truth to power. They'll make sure that voice is silenced with an immediate pink slip, this being an "at will" school and all. Doesn't matter how good the teachers are. If they step one toe out of line they will be dealt with. Imagine the wonderful learning environment your students will enjoy under teachers who are constantly looking over their shoulders, stifling their thoughts and anxious whether this day will be their last. How ironic this charter chose the name Harriet Tubman, as their namesake would be appalled by the way this school is run. But hey, if you like that sort of thing, this may be the perfect place for your child.

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 3

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My children thrive at Tubman. The teachers at this school are beyond extraordinary - they are the glue that has been keeping this school together for the past 3 years through turmoil, change, and decreasing morale. The school is in a super neighborhood, one in which I have lived for many, many years, and the community around the school is wonderful. Even the other schools in the community are super supportive of the teaching staff and parents of Tubman. The school has always been focused on the student & academics, which have always thrived...until the 2014-2015 year. Something has happened this year under the new board's leadership that is rather alarming. The communication to parents has ceased - hardly existent. The involvement in parents, the community, and staff is no longer available, and the board has become a unilateral effort to do whatever they want without any input from staff nor parents - which is exactly what a charter school is designed for. The board is under fire from the district & has been committing illegal and unethical actions, which is causing the alarm & negative comments. The bullying that went on with the previous leader has quadrupled, funneling down to the students, & this year has been disastrous, at least. Curriculum changes that no one knows about, lawsuits that are going to cost tens of thousands that aren't being communicated to parents. The board needs a major overhaul because this school is really truly a great little school with a LOT of opportunities for students and parents and a LOT of potential. The teachers are doing an EXCELLENT job keeping this kids sailing in academics, and it's disgusting that instead of being recognized for their efforts or being coached effectively, they are being told to either resign or not being re-elected for the following year. A charter school cannot run with someone who has NO education experience on the board - & especially by one who is even worse a bully than the previous school leader. Parents, it's a really good school, but be ware of the current board and the future.


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
After giving this school a fair chance, it is clear that it is not going to get better. One can give only so much and the failure of the governance board to see that, or even understand that is seen day in and day out. When your child no longer wants to go to school, that should tell you something! Yes we did talk with teachers, Dr. Bailey and Mr. Moore when he was there. We were actually getting somewhere with Mr. Moore, since his release things have only gotten worse for my child. Yes we ALL know it was a transitional year, but the board has to be willing to give as much as they expect the parents to. If we are to make it about the kids, then so should the board! I can not, nor will I support a board that can not support its parents. I would rather there be no board and no charter so that the kids could get the support they need. And yes - NOW the site is being update regularly, but note this happened after complaints here and to SDUSD and their charter committee. If that is what it takes to get action, then I urge ALL parents to do that, for the sake of making sure your kids are getting EVERYTHING they deserve!

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
We ALL knew this was going to be a transitional year and that things might continue to change. If the principal was not a good fit, good that he was removed before the year ended. The website is updated all the time and a letter was sent saying there would be NO new principal this year - very clearly communicated. There will probably be more changes coming for next year as things continue to be worked through. The students are happy and the academic standard remains a priority at Tubman. A new educational consultant was hired to help the school continue to move towards change and the right course. It does not happen overnight. Rather than criticize, we should be supporting the governance board (all volunteers!) and school - we all want the same thing - the best school for our kids.
1 person found this helpful

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Here we are again in the same boat that seems to be plaguing this school with a serious lack of communication. The previous Board had one great of issue of no communication - something that has perpetuated with the new Board. A few months back we lost our principal and it took a month and complaints to the right people before a letter was sent home to parents. During all of that time the school and the kids were aware of his release, but not the parents. Some asked if there would be communication, yet nothing transpired. It took calls to the Charter Office before this would happen. Here we are in May and yet again, no communication to the parents about a new principal! How do parents find out? By their kids coming home and saying something. Who are the adults here? It is said many times that the parents need to be responsible and show up to meetings and that we need to ask. All well and good, but there needs to be accountability by the Board and the school as well! I sure hope this happens for the next school year as those kids deserve it. We are doing the best thing possible and taking our child to a different school and I would suggest others do the same!
2 people found this helpful


Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Not the school we first decided to send our child to! Over the time we have been members of this school we have seen changes, and not for the good. The moment we thought things would be better, they upped and fired Principal Moore. There is a HUGE lack of communication from the school and governance board, and even if questions are asked the answers are vague and hold no value or information for parents or students. It has now been over 3 weeks since our principal was let go and no correspondence has been sent home to parents. Many of us found out from our student while others found out via the "rumor" mill. If you want a good school for your kids, do your homework! I can guarantee that once you look into how things are being handled here you will definitely want to choose a better school. We ourselves took the leap and have made this the last year our student will attend this place.
4 people found this helpful

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School 1

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
What can I say about this school? Absolutely nothing!!! This school has changed drastically since Mrs. Scinski have been gone. The school has deteriorated in teaching style. If I can give this school a zero star I would. So I learned from my child that the new principal, Mr. Moore, was fired. What for? Nobody knows!! Now one may wonder what did this man do to get himself fired from his somewhat new job. I was in shock that I had to get this information from my child, not from the school. Parents should be notified on changes that happen at the school as it may effect our children. Is the Tubman governance board qualified and educated enough to select a principal for our school? Selecting a principal is not a trial and error. If this principal doesn't work out, let's find another one. Now let's talk about the website, school website hasn't been updated. The last governance board minutes was from December 2014. There were posting of upcoming governance board meetings but no posting of outcome. Why? And where did all those new board members go? Did they finally learn the truth and fed up with these incompetent governance board and quit? Parents please beware.
5 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harriet Tubman Village Charter School
6880 Mohawk Street, San Diego, CA  92115
(619) 668-8635
Last modified Harriet Tubman Village Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harriet Tubman Village Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top