Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wangenheim Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1002 students

Broad and challenging curriculum with an extensive range of electives

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

I am a 6th grader at this school, and so far, it has been Wonderful! All of my teachers are very nice and you rarely ever get bullied. Plus, they provide very fun games and cool music for both lunches two times a week.They also have a great music program and I love it!


Posted November 20, 2013

I just moved to Mira Mesa this summer and I was very worried about the things I have heard about Mira Mesa and there schools. But truth be told, I was worried over nothing. My son just started Wangenheim this year for 7th grade. Its a great school. The teachers are nice and very helpful. The after school club he joined is a lot of fun and he looks forward going to it each week and as a parent I enjoy going to the monthly coffee with the principal. I would highly recommend Wangenheim. Its a wonderful school in a amazing family oriented city. I'm glad we moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I love this school. Wangenheim has a great capability in making students have an interest in their academics. The staff here make this school even more fun than it already is. The campus is big and spacey, people barely bump into each other. They have music and cool activities during lunch every week!


Posted July 17, 2013

I am (now) a former student from Wangenheim. This school is GREAT! There is no old-school upper class men privileges. Bullying is a rare occurrence. We have a no-tolerence policy for bullying. We have sports activities, unlike Challenger. We have many fun events. We also have an outstanding music program. We take pride in that. We also have a lot of athletes, the school made sure that everyone was at their full potential. I absolutely LOVE the teachers! The teachers made sure we exiled and that we we were at our full potential. Many of the teachers have been there for awhile now, and they know how things work. There are no teachers that just go by the textbook. All the teachers like to be interactive. The last thing i'd like to say is that the school has the most ridiculous dress-code. Things that annoyed me were: thicker than 3-inch straps, leggings or tights under dresses that are down to your knee, no sheer or lace tops (even if we are wearing a tank under). I hated that on the very cold or warm days, suddenly we can wear beanies, wear our sheer tops, etc. Regardless, I still really like this school and I'll miss it. Mira Mesa, here i come!


Posted February 28, 2012

I have had two children attend Wangenheim. The curriculum is challenging but manageable. There is a good mix of experienced, enthusiastic teachers and newer, enthusiastic teachers. The school offers a larger selection of electives than most middle schools. There are opportunities for parents to interact with the teachers that other schools don't have such as Shadow a Student Day and Family Math Night. At Orientation, the student receives a copy of his/ her schedule and may visit the classroom and teacher before school begins. The staff encourages the parents to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

I am currently a student at Wangenheim I love it here, I have been going here for the last 2years and can't wait for my 8 th grade year. I was never bullied here and it is very easy to make friends. Me coming from a miltary family, most of the cjildren that do go here either are miltary children or live in the area.Most teachers are pretty cool and nice and do care about our academics. I am very happy my parents chides for me to go here instead of Marshall or Challnger.


Posted December 12, 2011

Wangenheim, like other schools, are hit hard by the budget cuts. I think they do a real good job with what they have. I have a 6th and 8th grader and they love going to school. This age is hard for kids and when your children love to go to school and want to learn...that's all a parent wants. The activities, PTSA and teachers are great. This a good school and I would recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

Wangenheim is a great school. Given the fact it's in a low-income area, the education provided is quite phenomenal. The majority of teachers at this school are well-experienced and contain a full knowledge of California standards. They'll teach your children many things. In the process, they'll learn the material they need to while they learn must-needed high school study habits. The school's leadership/administration only have in mind what's best for the students of this school. The main focus of the administration are basically teaching your children to reach their full potential. The academic programs at Wangenheim are one of the bests I've seen. Their gifted & talented program is very impressive. The teachers for the GATE program are definitely notable. This school is definitely one I would highly recommend to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

Wangenheim is a horrible school! I was an 8th grader and as soon as I got in, I wanted out. I came in as a new 8th grader and was bullied my first week and it only got worse as time went by. The bullying and lack of diversity is the worst of any school I've been to. The administration does absolutely nothing to help. A specific name of the worst administator is VP Carmi Strom. He is the worst VP I have ever had. He gave attitude and resolved none of my bullying problems. I eventually was transferred to Challenger and I must say it was an amazing school after experiencing Wangenheim. If you're thinking about enrolling your kid in Wangenheim...DON'T. Challenger is so much better!!!


Posted April 5, 2010

If i see someone get hit by a bully the bully doesnt get suspended! im in 6th...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

i happen to go to wangenheim its a very nice school. i don't get bullied and im i 6th grade and i already think its great. i can't wait for next year!i am in beg. choir and its been soo fun! though my teachers are saying the school is low on money so we cant go on trips the much. but that's ok because its easy to make friends also the teachers understand you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I agree. That is the biggest lie ever. Wangenheim does have bullies but, are not being ignored by the administrators. It is the student's choice weather or not to report these incidents. Also, those students who have free or reduced lunch, aren't exactly at the bottom of the school's 'Social Pyramid', about maybe, a quarter of the school has free or reduced lunch. And, this '8th Grade Privilege' thing, is very rare, almost non-existent. I've never had it happen to me or seen it happen & it is my second year at Wangenheim. And, the principal does all he can to stop bullying. At school, the administrators almost every single day, enforce a no bullying rule. The bully knows that they can get a suspension. And the teachers, oh my gosh, the majority of them are every parent's dream. They, take their time with us & provide individual help if needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

even as a parent, there have been a lot of uncontrollable bullying, my son has been picked on and i tell the principal all he does is fill out a paper and the bully quiets down for 2 months and then starts harassing my son again, this school is very very bad school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

That is the biggest lie ever. I happen to go to Wangenheim and the 8th graders bully sometimes but not always. Our school has great dicipline. The teachers teach perfect like they put their mind in our places. The school is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

I am compelled to comment on the seminar program at Wangenheim not only because of the high quality of the program. but also because of the very evident interest the teachers have for the students. The program is one that engages the students and challenges their potential to be creative and insightful. Teachers seem to really know the students' potential and take an interest in them on an individual basis. The program has had a positive reputation for quite some time and has very evidently maintained it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

The bullying at this school is out of control and largely ignored by the adminstrators. '8th Grade Privilege' is the norm, so younger students get treated badly by older students with no consequences. Student who get free or reduced price lunches are singled out in a special lunch line. Why not put a sign on the kids' backs that says, 'Kick me'? The academics are great, but the social problems are enough to outweigh that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

I love all my teachers, I have a great time there too! The school is just the right size and the only thing i dont like about it is some of the kids are mean, but thats not the schools fault!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

good teachers, good principal nuff' said
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

Wangenheim Middle School is one of the best schools in San Diego, It has great teachers, a great band, and a really good PE program. I am an 8th grader at this school and I am going to be sad to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2006

Wangenheim is a good school. As a former student I enjoyed the the classes very much. Mrs. Ault, Mrs. Vanderhurst, and Mr. Hickman are great teachers. Their seminar classes helped me to grow as a student. However, Wangenheim has been hit with grafitti a couple of times. This school will help academically and will help the student to be aware of their friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

862

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

862

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females76%
Males74%
African American72%
Asian77%
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students57%
Females53%
Males61%
African American39%
Asian75%
Filipino58%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females100%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females74%
Males60%
African American73%
Asian86%
Filipino70%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students54%
Females54%
Males53%
African American44%
Asian78%
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate59%
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students60%
Females63%
Males58%
African American45%
Asian82%
Filipino60%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented74%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state50%

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females77%
Males64%
African American63%
Asian81%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state67%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students48%
Females56%
Males40%
African American45%
Asian73%
Filipino45%
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students89%
Femalesn/a
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students66%
Females65%
Males66%
African American55%
Asian72%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state47%

Science

All Students78%
Females79%
Males77%
African American80%
Asian93%
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate77%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 27%
Asian 20%
White 13%
Two or more races 10%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Speech and language therapist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
School psychologist
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hmong
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Matthew Fallon
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (858) 578-9481

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hmong
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swim Club, Bowling Team,
Girls sports
  • Swim Club, Bowling Team,

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mira Mesa High School
Scripps Ranch High School
Cathedral Catholic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9230 Gold Coast Drive
San Diego, CA 92126
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 578-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ap Christian Academy
San Diego, CA


Handy Academy
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT