Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | K-5

We weave the theme of international citizenship throughout the curriculum.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $326,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

I really don't have a problem with the families and children. I have a problem with the rude staff and fake principal. If there is a problem with the school, they will turn the table and make the victim become the issue of the school. They sweep problems under the carpet in order to protect their reputation. The principal is manipulative and labels children. She will diagnose children without proper credentials. A parent was told that her child should be assessed. The principal told the parents in front of the child. I have no idea why they kept her in this school. The child now has self-esteem issues. I feel the Principal planted that negative seed in the child's mind and now the child believes that she is not like the other children. I know this family and it is heartbreaking. I wonder how many kids are stuck in a stigma now, due to an assessment made by this Principal. I hope someone looks deep into this school and questions parents. I have heard many horror stories. One girl was called fat everyday. The parents requested a conference. The school staff made it seem like it was the bullied child's fault and parents fault for not teaching their child to be strong minded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

Horrible, there are bullies in this school. The administrative staff tends to find ways to cover it up and find excuses to save face. It is sad that many downtown parents have to find schools outside of our own jurisdiction. We live here, work here and pay the local taxes for our local school. Yet, we have to find charters and go on wait lists or choice out. This school receives a lot of good funding and has good partnerships with local businesses. Why can't they manage the issues at this school. Maybe they should hire a new principal. Many parents have had an issue with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

This local elementary school is filled with amazing teachers & the enrichment classes they offer are amazing. Our daughter was in the Transitional Kindergarten (TK) program and we can't say more great things about our lovely neighborhood school. We mostly loved the fact that the students had 40 minutes of Spanish (or optional Italian or additional English is necessary) 4 days a week!!! Along with weekly music lessons, computer classes as well as PE and running club!...all during the normal school day! The TK program has been an amazing learning experience for our daughter, both socially as well as academically - teaching her to read, write & do simple math, along with a ton of play time...all before entering Kindergarten! Washington Elementary also has a great SAY subsidized preschool attached to it - which is great if you have a little one (over 3 & potty trained) that you want to prep for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

This is a friendly, and enriching neighborhood school with a particularly strong transitional kindergarten program. It is a diverse school. I see this as a positive attribute. My son's class included kids from Japanese, Saudi Arabian, Iranian, Native American, British, and Italian families in addition to several hispanic families. The school celebrates this diversity and offers an good language program with 40 minutes language instruction (currently choice of Spanish or Italian) 4 days a week from TK onwards. English as a second language is an alternative for those that need it. I also like the music program; and the computer classes - not just playing games - our TK-ers now type with two hands! Specifically for TK there are lessons on empathy and getting on with other kids, and a fun atmosphere with time for playing together and forming friendships. The staff are caring and the school is in a great location in the heart of Little Italy and is well connected with the community (one issue: parking! Come early for pickup or be prepared to pay at the meters).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Washington Elementary is an excellent school. We absolutely love their overall approach to keeping a focused, academic environment that discourages many of the distractions and/or inappropriate dress/behavior that seems so easily overlooked by parents and schools. Having two older children and experience with elementary schools, the curriculum is advanced with our kindergartener having the option of Spanish or Italian as a foreign language! Having spent time in the classroom during school, I got firsthand experience with my child's teacher. She has extensive experience and it is very apparent in her approach. After our one-on-one parent/teacher conference, I had a clear idea of daily routine and was most impressed with the structure provided. Our child attends the SAY After School Program and doesn't want to leave each day because he loves it! I feel very well-informed of my child's progress, as well, with daily behavior cards and a homework folder. He's 5 and reading and writing! There is a friendly, cheerful staff and I can't say enough good about this school. I am not easily impressed. As a parent, I have the utmost confidence that our boy is in the best of care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

I am the new School Psychologist at Washington Elementary this year. I have worked at many schools in the district as well as schools in other districts. This is a wonderful and unique school located in a beautiful area. The school supports the culture and history of the area by offering the rare opportunity to take Italian and Spanish classes. However, Washington is not without challenges being located near Down Town. We serve a large population of homeless children and the staff goes out of their way to help support student and family needs. School gates close after school starts and all visitors are required to sign in for security purposes. This school has a very friendly, highly competent and diverse staff who speak many languages. The School offers the family Friday s program and listens to parent feedback and suggestions. I really don't know how anyone could give this school a bad rating. If I could give 6 stars I would. Sincerely, Felicia.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

I have two children in this school. The other day a neighbor came up to my children (their native language is English) and said good morning to the kids in Spanish. My children translated the Spanish into Italian and responded to my neighbor in Italian. The foreign language instruction is fantastic. Additionally, my kids actually complain when I pick them up from the after school programs because they don't want to leave for the day and love school so much. Most importantly, I feel that the staff and teachers value both education and life lessons for the kids. With foreing language instruction, a beautiful interactive garden, and many enrichment programs, I feel that the school provides a well balanced and global education. The well balanced education serves the kids well and is important to ensure that the kids grow up both intelligent, but also with responsible and community oriented values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I am the principal of Washington Elementary School. We have made many new changes such as 10 ft wronght iron fencing surrounding the school and a new front office entrance that allows us to secure the entire school during the school day. All visitors must enter directly into the front office to sign in. We share Amici Park with the San Diego Park and Recreation Department. The public uses the park after school hours. Currently, we are working with the Little Italy Association in building a dog park on the south end of the grass area. Children will have a safe and clean place to play, as well as our neighborhood dogs. Call me at (619) 525-7475 to make an appointment to see our new school! Janie Wardlow


Posted October 27, 2010

My 3rd grader was bullied every day because she couldn't speak spanish. The office staff has no idea what they are doing. No security, gates left open, homeless people walking though, college kids tanning, and dogs using the bathroom in the school's one grassy area. Wrote a check to the PTO in June, it got deposited in September.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Out of the 4 schools my daughter has attended this was the best school. I loved everything about it. It was the best school experience she has had so far. I wish we still lived near this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

My child is in kindergarten and so far I've been delighted with Washington Elementary. Our teacher is kind, motivational and organized; our new principal has taken on challenging long-term goals (e.g. bringing up test scores, site improvement projects) and achieved short-term wins (e.g. Spanish lessons for English speakers, English lessons for Spanish speakers); our PTO is supported by committed and dedicated parents. We've got a good thing going and we're only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

This past school year has seen many changes - all for the best. We have really enjoyed the addition of art, PE and drama to our campus. We have also seen a dramatic increase in parent involvement and community partnerships. We did experience some difficulties at the beginning of the school year due a poorly implemented program, but it has only made the school stronger with the formation of an incredible leadership team resulting in the identification of solid academic and vocational goals. My daughter has just completed the 5th grade with the great honor of receiving the President's Award for Academic Excellence. I now look forward to my second grader being treated to the same high standard of education. I encourage you to come visit us at Washington. We are a wonderful warm and nurturing community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

The Harborside Program is a great program(07/08). The teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

This school has been nothing but a dissapointment. There are no extras and the teachers seem eager to leave early. There are several serious issues that have yet to be addressed the 'open campus', behavioral, and absolutley no extras.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 17, 2007

The merger between the Harborside Program and Washington has been very dissapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Washington has been a great place for my very young, but talented little girl. She is now entering the 2nd grade reading above her level. She has grown by leaps and bounds with the caring attention that has been given to her education and individual creativity. This school has been a wonderful addition to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Washington is the gem of Little Italy! Parents and teachers are very diverse and sensitive to the unique school culture Washington has to offer. It's a school where you feel a part of the school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

The merger between Harborside and Washington will be amazing! Ms. De la Pena the Kinder teacher focuses on the individuality of each child and helps them learn in a nurturing environment. My daughter is reading and confident in a classroom environment! Parents are involved and actively looking for ways to make the school better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

The preschool program at this school is great! Ms. Garcia is Very caring, respectful and responsible and cares about her students education and making sure they excel. Good Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I am very happy with this school. My kids have made some great friends, and the teachers have all been very knowledgeable, and friendly. The school has many after school and before school programs for students and parents. I am also very happy with the 6-6 staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

749

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

749

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females48%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females36%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Females14%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability23%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate20%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students34%
Females27%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented44%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females62%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females68%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented64%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females84%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students70%
Females84%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 71%
White 14%
Black 9%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/AN/A
English language learners 44%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • David Crum
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (619) 231-3562

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Studies
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roosevelt Middle School
San Diego High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1789 State Street
San Diego, CA 92101
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 344-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

City Tree Christian
San Diego, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT