Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carmel Creek Elementary School 3

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
High level of teacher absences and many students are ESL slowing the learning process overall. The school hits parents up for money frequently through various schemes that don't benefit the kids. To top it off, there is a unacceptable level of condescension from the secretary at the front desk.

Carmel Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Carmel Creek is a special place for our kids, they love it! The difference we feel here is that families get involved and along with their teachers are always looking for ways to make the children's elementary school experience well rounded and fun!


Carmel Creek Elementary School 3

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are always absent. The level of some teachers absence is unacceptable. I don t understand how they can get away with it year after year. The school puts so much pressure to donate money, and they make kids to raise money all the time. There is no GATE program, and its definitely not a good school for gifted children. If they didn t have to pay so much money for substitute teachers, they would have more money for our kid's education.

Carmel Creek Elementary School 3

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
Despite getting a week of half-days during parent/teacher conference week, some teachers refuse to accommodate before or after school conferences. As a working parent I've had to hear about my kids progress second hand all year. On the upside, I have had the pleasure of organizing, and paying for, one-off child care for this random week as the kids are dismissed at 12. Thanks! In fairness, I've only come across one teacher in 4 grades with such an uncompromising stance.

Carmel Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
My child loves this school, great teachers, great ambiance all around the school. Lot of interaction and learning engagement between teacher and students in the classroom.


Carmel Creek Elementary School 2

Posted June 22, 2012
- a parent
Only positive experience I have from CC is my daughter was very happy because of the great teacher she had. But school doesn't provide kids with any extra-curricular academic experience like math, science clubs where kids can participate in competitions like Science Field Day etc. Principal doesn't have any clue that these exists. So kids in this school is falling behind compared kids in other sister schools.

Carmel Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is currently in her 3rd year at Carmel Creek and I feel she has gotten an excellent education, comparable to a private school. All of her teachers have been excellent. The school is clean and offers a lot of extras; like a nice library, art, p.e., media center, computer room, garden patio, etc. Carmel Creek is doing a really great job and I am so thankful my daughter has been able to attend this great school.

Carmel Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
Carmel Creek is a fantastic school! Our children have excelled socially and academically there.


Carmel Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school! Teachers put real emphasis on students' psychological and academic development! Great foundation for kids' future!

Carmel Creek Elementary School 3

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Yes the test scores are high. That seems to be a huge emphasis. The principal is in denial about the burned out, tenured teachers. Most teachers are excellent with only x2 bad apples, which is very good for a public school. They took a week off in observance of presidents day. Parental progress is measured in fundraising dollars generated. Overall a good school, not a great school, with some obvious flaws.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carmel Creek Elementary School
4210 Carmel Center Road, San Diego, CA  92130-2480
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (858) 794-4400
Last modified Carmel Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top