Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Patrick's Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 185 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2012

St Patrick's has been a blessing for my family. My kids have been enrolled since Kindergarten and have attended many years. The classes average 20 kids and the teachers take the time to get to know the children and their strengths and weaknesses. They are truly dedicated to getting it right. My kids are challenged academically with a balance of an amazing art program, sports opportunities and ways to get involved in the school and church in other ways. The kids at all age levels take care of one another which is something that I treasure knowing that even the oldest middle school kids are respectful of the younger children on campus. It really is like a family. If you want a safe and nurturing environment for your children, you should check out this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I have two children that attend St. Patrick's School and I cannot imagine being anywhere else. The staff is not only caring but extremely dedicated to educating children at the highest level while still teaching the highest level of respect for one another. They are teaching my children to be better people at the earliest stages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

I have two children who currently attend St. Patrick's. We love being apart of this community but I have to express what I have just experienced at our school. Every school needs to ask: Do we passively permit bullying by individuals or groups? Do we address bullying in our discipline policies and do we teach our students that bullying causes pain? Do we universally teach our youth that being a bystander to bullying and intimidation both encourages the bully and demeans the bullied? Kids can be mean and I WILL NOT STAND FOR THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR especially when it hits close to home. As parents we can make a difference and change this behavior in our school with our voice so that we can be heard...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

all three of my kids were educated at St. Patrick's, San Diego. It is a wonderful, diverse, caring, educational, supportive, inclusive, and collaborative-with-parents school. I'd recommend it everywhere to everyone who values a well-rounded academic experience that is surrounded by the values of the Catholic tradition. Five stars from me!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

St. Patrick's is a wonderul school. We feel very blessed to have such a wonderful community of caring and dedicated teachers, parents, and children. Alll of the kids are respectful and thoughtful and truly are supportive of each other. Can't wait until the pre-school opens so both of our children can be there together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I trust the teachers in this school with my children as much as I trust myself. This school is truly remarkable and stands out from the rest by fully integrating family and faith into the education of the children. Not to mention how great the acedamia is. I can't say enough about how pleased I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2009

I am so glad that my kids go to this school, I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Nothing like St. Patrick's Catholic School, its the best catholic private school in San Diego California.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

St Patricks is like a second family for my children. They are educating them not only great academically but nurturing them as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 52%
White 26% 26%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fr. Michael McFadden
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3014 Capps Street
San Diego, CA 92104
Phone: (619) 297-1314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT