Advertisement
Advertisement

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 203 students

Well rounded students who care about the world around them
 
 

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $235,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

We have 3 children ages 6, 8 and 10 that have attended Blessed Sacrament Parish school since they all were 4 years old. The staff here are very helpful and are caring of our children and it gives us a feeling of a second home here. We know that our children are safe at Blessed Sacrament and love the feeling of the community closeness that we get from the staff and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

My children ages 2, 9 and 13 attend Blessed Sacrament Parish School in the College Area of San Diego. My son who is 13 and in 8th grade started in the BSPS preschool when he was 2. The school offers outstanding educational and Catholic experiences for our children who are growing up to be smart, ethical and well rounded individuals. The dedication of the teachers and staff to the children they teach is incomparable. The devotion of other parents is outstanding, as well as it's a very family oriented environment with everyone looking out for each other. BSPS has become an integral part of our lives and we give the teachers there much credit for shaping and developing our children. They are excelling academically and are learning the skills and the moral grounding they need to make good, and safe, decisions in their future. The godparents to our 2 year old are parents we met during our time at BSPS that have become a part of our family - for this we are forever grateful. Everyday when we send our children off to school we feel they are safe and are being given an excellent education that will give them the skills, and the faith foundation, to succeed in their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

I'm very happy with the teachers at Blessed Sacrament. They have helped both of my children in many ways and have not only educated them but also taught them "how" to learn. Very lucky to have a staff that would take the time on a individual bases to help the kids. I would absolutely recommend this school to family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

This is a wonderful school working hard to improve the lives of the students, families, and community. I had three children graduate from this school and they all did wonderfully in high school. This school prepared them for the challenges; academic, social, and spiritually. With a new principle coming in next year, I am looking forward to great things happening!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

This is a school that has a very diverse student population. Excellent class sizes and experienced, caring loving teachers. The kindergarten teacher is an amazing educator. There is a full computer lab with many educational programs for students to work on at school and from home. Annual school events include the Big Ten dinner dance and the Fall Festival which are outstanding parent run functions. Student athletic teams consist of soccer for the younger grades and flag football, basketball and volleyball for middle school. There is a cheer team available to all grade levels to participate in. Pre and post school program is available as well as professional after school opportunities such as jump rope, art ,language, aerobics, martial arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

We enrolled our child at BSPS several years ago after a long search of public and catholic schools. We chose BSPS because of the recommendations of existing students/parents and the community feeling of the school. The teachers are very interested in getting the best out of your child and helping them to excel. We also liked the school for the multicultural aspect and the variety of after school activities. We also really like the parochial sports league that the school participates in and are looking forward to our child being able to participate in the other sports in the older grades. Go cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

My kids attend this traditional Catholic school where values as well as high standards in the level of education go hand by hand. I am very happy I picked this school where my kids started since pre school and my oldest is now in 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Blessed Sacrament Parish School is an outstanding school! We picked this school from a choice of 4 Catholic schools in the area and I couldn't be happier! The teachers and staff are fantastic! If you want your child to have an amazing experience in Kindergarten from the start, this is the school!. Small class sizes, great extracurricular activities, music, PE, sports, religion and so much more! The parents are super involved and everyone knows each others names and kid's names. All age groups are kind to each other. There's an on site nurse, hot lunches and afterschool care which my son begs to stay at for $3 an hour! Many of the parents are alumni which speaks volume because they want their children to have the same great experience that they've had. The tuition is keep affordable but they also have scholarship program if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

My son has been at BSPS since pre K and I can't imagine him being anywhere else. The faith, love, and support is never ending. The staff is incredible as well as the students and families. You will not find a better environment or get a better education! I love our little school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

BSPS is an amazing school with a great parent base. Parents routinely come in and assist on a day to day basis. There are plenty of activities available for students, both through the school and brought into the school by outside groups. The school offers athletics and has a cheer program. Students get a balanced education with smaller class sizes to the benefit of the students. I highly recommend the school. I have been involved in public education and I have seen what this little school is up against. I wouldn t send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Wonderful Teachers and learning setting! The children are very happy with their classmates, and there is more one-on-one attention from teachers with the smaller class sizes. Children show good manners, knowledge of Catholic faith, strong academics, and are learning to be good Christians. Academics is a strong point, with each passing year requiring more effort from students, which is a good stepping stone in preparation of high-school work loads. I'm the mother of 1 child at BSPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

We love Blessed Sacrament Parish School. When we moved here from AZ, our daughter had a hard time adjusting to the move. With the help of the preschool director. (Miss Sharin) our daughter was able to be a well adjusted student. She is now in 2nd grade and loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

BSPS is an outstanding school the teachers are great it's truly a Family caring environment. BSPS offers great after school programs It's the best place for my 3 kid's to attend. We've been at BSPS since 2002 We now have a daughter in high school who graduated from BSPS. Choosing BSPS has been the best decision we've made . God heard our prayers when we asked him to help us find the best school for our daughter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

My oldest daughter granduated from Blessed Sacrament and she loved it The loving support and education was excellent. I now have 2 other children in preschool and Blessed Sacrament is still the best school I know of. The academics are excellent and again the support and love each child gets it so special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Blessed Sacrament Parish School is truly a special place. My children are able to grow in their faith, as well as develop socially and emotionally. Thanks to a stellar staff, they are challenged academically, and feel supported and encouraged. The community as a whole is very involved, diverse, extremely open, and inviting. The curriculum prepares the students to be successful at every level. They develop leadership skills and compassion through character trait assemblies and days of reflection. We absolutely love this school, and all of the staff and families who make it so special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Loving, caring, fun and safe environment to learn in. Blessed Sacrament provides a challenging yet rewarding curriculum for the children that truly prepares them for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

We love this school. I went to BSPS and now I am so grateful that we get to send our kids here. We really love this school and this community. The teachers and staff are Great, the programs are Great, the parents are Great, and the friendships that these children are building will be for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

We had the pleasure of placing our fourth child at Blessed Sacrament this year. We have put three children through catholic schools all the way through Catholic High schools here in the San Diego area. Blessed Sacrament was pure heaven, no polotics, no surprises, no preferential treatment. My only regret is that I did not place all of our children there! If you are unhappy with ANYTHING in your current school situation, I challenge you to give this wonderful environment a try. Your child will thank you and grow in Christ every day. God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Excellent neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

My daughter has been at Blessed Sacrament for a year or so now. The teachers are caring and get along well with the kids. However, the school is small and the kids do not have much to do. The school does not have a strong curriculum that challenges children that are truly pre-k.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 39%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 18%
Two or more races 13%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Community School of the Year (2011)
  • Community School of the Year (2012)
  • Community School of the Year (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Community School of the Year (2010)
  • Community School of the Year (2011)
  • Community School of the Year (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin, afterschool Sapnish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Theodora Furtado
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (619) 265-9310

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin, afterschool Sapnish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
23
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
28

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Our Lady of Peace
St. Augustine
Cathedral Catholic, MaterDei
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4551 56th Street
San Diego, CA 92115
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 582-3862

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Iftin Charter School
San Diego, CA


Faith Academy
San Diego, CA



Alba School
San Diego, CA


Mann Middle School
San Diego, CA


Fay Elementary School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT