Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
151 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family Elementary School 2

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Moving schools because of various reasons after spending three years here. The current school priest is unsupportive, uncommunicative and from a distance appears to be mismanaging the finances. I've gone through two principles and the current one is leaving again. The curriculum is over 10 years old and there is no computer lab or advancement in technology as compared to PUBLIC schools which is sad because tuition is the same as other Catholic Schools. Look at other Catholic Schools and save your time and money with this one.

Holy Family Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
This Catholic school is very irresponsible. They allow things to go on and the parent is the last one to know in Progress Report Day or Report Card Day such as missed homework, assignments, low test scores and others ... It is too late for students to correct their problems. The good teachers quitted or school did not sign other contracts with them in the last summer. You should shop around many Catholic schools and decide which the best Catholic school is for your children.


Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! When I first came here I was so scared that I was going to be an outcast because at my old school I was bullied but at Holy Family I was welcomed with open arms! What surprised me the most was that my classmates didn't travel in clusters. I love the sports teams here because you don't have to be amazing at the sport to try out for the team. If you mess up you don't get scowled at because we are all just there to learn and have fun with it. If you are struggling with subjects you can get after-school help. Teachers are super nice. The whole school is like a big family of diverse people. I highly recommend HFS to anyone!

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
HFS has been our home for the last four years. I am very pleased with the education my child has received. His growth both academically and spiritually is attributed to the passionate and caring teachers, staff and parents that work together to build a learning community in which our children thrive.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I am so pleased with Holy Family School. The small class sizes are great. I feel very comfortable and confident with the teachers and staff. My children love the school and it's multicultural community.


Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
The new teachers and music department are inspiring for all ages. This school has a warm community spirit and the small class sizes allow for a one of a kind educational experience. The children truly have the joy of learning and growth of the spirit while attending our school. Parents, teachers, and community members all work together to make the annual bizarre come together. This effort results in lower tuition for everyone and a quality education.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
My children are entering their 3rd year at HFS and I'm very pleased with the education that they have received. The teachers and other staff are very supportive and receptive to feedback. There are a lot of opportunities for learning and I appreciate that the faculty members are very passionate about teaching. My children also love the school, so much that they are willing to brave an earlier and longer morning commute when we moved 30 miles north of the school! HFS is very committed to its students, as well as the local community!

Holy Family Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
We are reaching our 4th year with Holy Family and I am very pleased with how my children are developing. The teachers are dedicated and it also has a very active parish pastor that is also very dedicated. I would recommend this school to any of my friends or family.


Holy Family Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
I am very pleased with the quality education my children receive at Holy Family School. It is a wonderful school with a very dedicated staff. I feel that my children are learning the important skills they need both academically and spiritually. It is in a very central location--very convenient for parents who are commuting to work near the downtown area. It seems that this wonderful little school would serve the needs of many local and commuting families!

Holy Family Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 04, 2008
- a parent
I am now entering my fourth year at HFS and can proudly say all four of my kids will be attending the 'big' school as they call it (K-8). With so many choices out there for parents in central San Diego, HFS is at the center of the map! The campus is welcoming, inclusive and the multicultural community offers students a chance to learn and grow in a faith-filled atmosphere. Both my husband and I have educational backgrounds and gladly provide the private school education offered at HFS. It's piece of mind and so much more with the advanced Math, Science Lab, Computer Lab, dedicated P.E. and Music teachers and the rigorous academic focus. Aside from the academics, my kids look forward to sharing their strengths (like reading, etc.) with the younger grades. This fosters the sense of community that is the spirit of HFS.

Nearby schools

Holy Family Elementary School
1945 Coolidge Street, San Diego, CA  92111
(858) 277-0222
Last modified Holy Family Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top