Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Family Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
This Catholic school is very irresponsible. They allow things to go on and the parent is the last one to know in Progress Report Day or Report Card Day such as missed homework, assignments, low test scores and others ... It is too late for students to correct their problems. The good teachers quitted or school did not sign other contracts with them in the last summer. You should shop around many Catholic schools and decide which the best Catholic school is for your children.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! When I first came here I was so scared that I was going to be an outcast because at my old school I was bullied but at Holy Family I was welcomed with open arms! What surprised me the most was that my classmates didn't travel in clusters. I love the sports teams here because you don't have to be amazing at the sport to try out for the team. If you mess up you don't get scowled at because we are all just there to learn and have fun with it. If you are struggling with subjects you can get after-school help. Teachers are super nice. The whole school is like a big family of diverse people. I highly recommend HFS to anyone!


Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
HFS has been our home for the last four years. I am very pleased with the education my child has received. His growth both academically and spiritually is attributed to the passionate and caring teachers, staff and parents that work together to build a learning community in which our children thrive.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I am so pleased with Holy Family School. The small class sizes are great. I feel very comfortable and confident with the teachers and staff. My children love the school and it's multicultural community.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
The new teachers and music department are inspiring for all ages. This school has a warm community spirit and the small class sizes allow for a one of a kind educational experience. The children truly have the joy of learning and growth of the spirit while attending our school. Parents, teachers, and community members all work together to make the annual bizarre come together. This effort results in lower tuition for everyone and a quality education.


Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
My children are entering their 3rd year at HFS and I'm very pleased with the education that they have received. The teachers and other staff are very supportive and receptive to feedback. There are a lot of opportunities for learning and I appreciate that the faculty members are very passionate about teaching. My children also love the school, so much that they are willing to brave an earlier and longer morning commute when we moved 30 miles north of the school! HFS is very committed to its students, as well as the local community!

Holy Family Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
We are reaching our 4th year with Holy Family and I am very pleased with how my children are developing. The teachers are dedicated and it also has a very active parish pastor that is also very dedicated. I would recommend this school to any of my friends or family.

Holy Family Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
I am very pleased with the quality education my children receive at Holy Family School. It is a wonderful school with a very dedicated staff. I feel that my children are learning the important skills they need both academically and spiritually. It is in a very central location--very convenient for parents who are commuting to work near the downtown area. It seems that this wonderful little school would serve the needs of many local and commuting families!


Holy Family Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 04, 2008
- a parent
I am now entering my fourth year at HFS and can proudly say all four of my kids will be attending the 'big' school as they call it (K-8). With so many choices out there for parents in central San Diego, HFS is at the center of the map! The campus is welcoming, inclusive and the multicultural community offers students a chance to learn and grow in a faith-filled atmosphere. Both my husband and I have educational backgrounds and gladly provide the private school education offered at HFS. It's piece of mind and so much more with the advanced Math, Science Lab, Computer Lab, dedicated P.E. and Music teachers and the rigorous academic focus. Aside from the academics, my kids look forward to sharing their strengths (like reading, etc.) with the younger grades. This fosters the sense of community that is the spirit of HFS.

Holy Family Elementary School 2

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
This school was lax in its discipline, being a christian school /i believed there would be a more strict tolerance for behavioral issues among students. While some of the cirricculum is good, it fails by not offering language like spanish or german or french as alternatives. There were very few extra-cirricular activities and sports events that I saw, and I volunteered the mandatory hour plus more. In addition, the credo of good Christian values didn't seem to be fully enforced in areas of little playground rumbles between kids. The Saxon method for math was not at all right for my child as it is based on rote and speed learning rather than conceptual and critical thinking. I also saw very little enrichment prevailing in the classrooms. Teachers/staff were very approachable, but seemed to make conferences leading to no resolution. On a good note, the priest was always involved & helpful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Family Elementary School
1945 Coolidge Street, San Diego, CA  92111
(858) 277-0222
Last modified Holy Family Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Holy Family Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top