Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

School Of The Madeleine

Private | K-8 | 554 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

School of the Madeleine is great. Parents are involved and education level is high, It is very structure and religious oriented what is a plus in my view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My daughter went here for 6th grade and part of 7th, unfortunately we ended moving to the east coast before she could finish. The school is wonderful! After moving to the east coast, I constantly compare this school to the rest, they never come close. This is why; my daughter came in at 6th grade from a public school, the teachers were always willing to help her with the transition with coming into a catholic school. A lot of kids start in preschool/kindergarten, so when someone comes in at the age it can be difficult. It really never was for her, she always felt welcome. The principal, the vice principal and the teachers are all wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

I have two children at the School of the Madeleine. They both entered the program at kindergarten. In the early years the school lays down a very solid foundation in all of the core subjects. Religion, math, English, reading, science and social studies. As they get older, new interrelated concepts are added at each grade level. It is wonderful to see our children grow in their academic journey at the same time they are developing a close relationship with God and in depth understanding of the Catholic church. The school community of parents and teachers are truly wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

Madeleine teachers are dedicated, caring, and always go above and beyond to help their students. Our principals are amazing. They work hard to make our school the best it can be. Madeline students are respectful, smart and happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

This school has been a blessing to our family for the past 8 years. Our eldest just graduated and was academically well prepared for the rigors of a private high school. We love Madeleine's value-based curriculum, community support, and family atmosphere which enhance its strong academics and enrichment programs. The dedicated teachers truly care about the success of their students (ALL are credentialed and over half possess master's degrees!), the staff is committed and caring, and the open-door access to the principal and vice-principal is notable (they know every child by name). There is a true partnership between parents and the school. I feel confident my children's education, as well as their social and spiritual development, is being thoughtfully considered each day. My children have developed invaluable time management skills, and love participating in a variety of school activities and after-school sports programs. We endure a long daily commute because we know the benefits of School of the Madeleine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Unlike the parent that posted on Feb. 12, our family has had the opposite experience with respect to professionalism and communication with the faculty and the administration. We've had two children graduate from Madeleine and still have one attending the school. Over the many years that we have been part of this school community, we found the teachers to be well qualified. All of the classroom teachers have a teaching credential and more than half of them have a Master s Degree. We also have had no problem with accessibility or communication with any of the teachers, much less, with the administration. Both the principal and the vice-principal maintain an open door policy and are very visible and accessible during the school day, as well as before and after school. We can honestly attest to the quality education that our kids have received at this school. Our two oldest kids were well prepared for high school (each attended different Catholic Highs Schools) and now college! Sending our kids to Madeleine was the best money we ever spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

I completely agree with the review on May 22. Both of my children have gone to a well known amazing, prestigious catholic school out of state and was recommended this one...an absolute disgrace. I am in awe over the lack of professionalism and communication of the faculty. My two children are in the elementary school. I now know why teachers can be unlicensed and work in private education..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

We brought children here from a SD district school. They were challenged for the first 3 months to catch up and learn how to learn. There was 1 on 1 tutoring provided without us asking for it. After the adjustment, they are thriving and learning at an amazing pace. They actually still have athletic programs. Poor teachers are let go very year. The classrooms are quiet, clean and the kids learn manners. And no, there are no rulers or mean nuns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

We have been very happy at School of the Madeleine. I could not ask for a better community of families and peers for my daughter to grow up with. I feel that the administration is very open to feedback and makes appropriate changes if necessary. The curriculum is challenging but that is one reason why I want her in private school. It's an outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

This is a wonderful school wih strong academics, excellent teachers, and a great community. Classroom disruption is not tolerated so the teachers can focus on education instead of the class clown. The students are expected to use proper manners and to respect one another. The uniform requirement makes the morning routine a little more pleasant too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

School of the Madeleine is a gift for our family! Our two children are new to the school this year. Our family felt welcomed and well supported coming into the school. My children feel nurtured by their teachers and come home excited about every day of school. The curriculum is rich, comprehensive, and well planned. The principal and vice principal are actively involved with students and parents on a daily basis. The pride in the school is evident! We feel blessed to send our children to School of the Madeleine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

I have two children and we have been at the School of the Madeleine since preschool (over nine years). My eldest just graduated. Our experience has been extremely positive. We love this school. The teachers, administration, and parents are very committed to providing a safe, high academic, and faithful environment for the children. The teachers are wonderful. The principle provides strong leadership that leads to creating an outstanding school. The academics are challenging and rewarding. Sending our children to Madeleine has been the best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

Don't let the May 22nd reader disuade you, this is a fantastic school. Our family carefully researched a variety of private school options, and (after three years now), feel very blessed to be a part of the Madeline community. Yes, the expectations are high for both academics and behavior, but it is all done in a very loving and caring way, and in a way that encourages each kid to do their best and take individual and personal responsibility. The Christian principles are interwoven at all levels, and we value the religious and moral instruction. The principal knows every kid by name, and is extremely dedicated to each child's sucess. But if you are the parent type that has a psychological need for a school that constantly provides exaggerated and glowing pronouncements of how wonderous your own child is as compared to others, you might want to look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

We had such high hopes for our experience at this school - we were sold on its stated commitment to academic excellence, devotion to Christian principles, beautiful athletic fields/playgrounds, and most importantly, the promise that every child is treated like a gift and appreciated for his/her unique talents. Unfortunately, we have been very disappointed in the "sink or swim" approach to learning. In our experience, there is a lack of meaningful communication/feedback from the teachers/administration and parent input is often ignored. Sadly, it appears that decisions are made based on administrative exigencies rather than on the best interest of the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Switching to the School of the Madeleine 6 years ago was one of the best decisions we could have made for our family ( 3 children ! ) Madeleine provides a rigorous, faith based educational environment to properly prepare our children for success in high school and beyond. Our children have also benefited from the numerous extracurricular activities offered at Madeleine including band, choir and several different sports. Strong leadership and pride in the School of the Madeleine is evident from the principal, her staff and all of the teachers. We are truly blessed to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Our daughter is a graduate from School of the Madeleine, our two boys are current students. I credit the staff, teachers and administrators of this fine school with supporting our Catholic values and modeling Christian behavior for our children. There is a very strong sense of community in this school and parish. The Church of St. Mary Magdelene is an integral part of the school, kids have mass every other Friday and there is an on-site counsellor if needed by the kids. There is a great sports program including volleyball, basketball, football and soccer. I am always proud to be a part of this school especially when one of our students or family members is in need - the support is overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

We are extremly pleased with School of the Madeleine. Transferring our kids from public school to Madeleine has to be one of the best choices we have ever made for our kids. There is an amazing sense of community and faith at this school with the families being very welcoming and helpful to new families. The teachers and the admninistration are fully dedicated to the well being of these kids and have high expectations of them in a firm yet caring environment. The staff is very accessible and aware of each kid's individual needs. The kids here are respectful and nice to one another. The jr high kids are paired up with 'little buddies' in the younger grades which fosters a sense of caring and helping of each other. We are absolutely thrilled to have found this school - a priceless educational and spiritual experience at a very reasonable cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

My youngest daughters have attended this fine school. The teachers are xlnt communicators and private tutoring is available. The teachers are highly motivated with great 'student' and 'parent' skills.. involving parents whenver the opportunity becomes known. We moved to The School of the Madeleine from Francis Parker School. . and found the quality was at least as good at far less than half the price. . plus involving all religions and belief in 'God' through whatever works for your family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Madeleine has been a wonderful experience for my children. The curriculum is superb, the teachers are truly caring, and the extracurricular activites are endless. Madeleine gave my children the right academic preparation for high school, and a social environment that emphasized the importance of family and community. The family participation is like no other school I've ever seen, and the students learn through required service hours how to volunteer, too. As a parent, I was happy to know that my childrens' happiness and well being were never compromised. I couldn't have chosen a better school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 11% 1%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fr. Steve McCall
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1875 Illion Street
San Diego, CA 92110
Phone: (619) 276-6545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Longfellow K-8
San Diego, CA




Francis Parker School
San Diego, CA


Francis Parker School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT