Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
554 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School Of The Madeleine
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The entire office staff is tremendous, looking out for the students and assisting parents in a partnership to enrich the child's educational experience. The principal is highly experienced and knowledgeable, down to the teachers, especially Mrs. H, who give her all to her students! THANK YOU ALL!

School Of The Madeleine
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
All are credentialed and most have Master's degrees in education. Success of each student is the highest priority.


School Of The Madeleine
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My kids have a balanced amount of work in each subject, and it has served them well as they all tested high in private high school placement (honors and above), allowing them to gain access to accelerated classes.

School Of The Madeleine
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
An emphasis on empathy, forgiveness and compassion is part of the curriculum, along with the development of self-discipline which encourages a strong character in the students.

School Of The Madeleine
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The values instilled and reinforced daily in the formation of ethics, respect and faith encourages the students to internalize these virtues and implement them throughout their studies and social environment.


School Of The Madeleine 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Three of our children have been educated at School of the Madeleine, with the last getting ready to graduate from 8th grade this year after starting in the preschool program. Our eldest is also a graduate and was very well prepared for a rigorous private school curriculum. We are very grateful not only for Madeleine’s strong academic programs, but also for the discipline, time management skills, and confidence our children received in a nurturing and value-based environment. The teachers are dedicated, the administration is experienced, and the principal and vice-principal are accessible (and they know each child by name)! Our children have grown in their faith and their intellectual pursuits, and love participating in the sports programs and other activities offered. The partnership between parents and the school is remarkable, ensuring the success of each student. School of the Madeleine is a gift and we will greatly miss it!

School Of The Madeleine 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
School of the Madeleine is great. Parents are involved and education level is high, It is very structure and religious oriented what is a plus in my view.

School Of The Madeleine 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went here for 6th grade and part of 7th, unfortunately we ended moving to the east coast before she could finish. The school is wonderful! After moving to the east coast, I constantly compare this school to the rest, they never come close. This is why; my daughter came in at 6th grade from a public school, the teachers were always willing to help her with the transition with coming into a catholic school. A lot of kids start in preschool/kindergarten, so when someone comes in at the age it can be difficult. It really never was for her, she always felt welcome. The principal, the vice principal and the teachers are all wonderful!


School Of The Madeleine 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at the School of the Madeleine. They both entered the program at kindergarten. In the early years the school lays down a very solid foundation in all of the core subjects. Religion, math, English, reading, science and social studies. As they get older, new interrelated concepts are added at each grade level. It is wonderful to see our children grow in their academic journey at the same time they are developing a close relationship with God and in depth understanding of the Catholic church. The school community of parents and teachers are truly wonderful.

School Of The Madeleine 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a parent
Madeleine teachers are dedicated, caring, and always go above and beyond to help their students. Our principals are amazing. They work hard to make our school the best it can be. Madeline students are respectful, smart and happy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School Of The Madeleine
1875 Illion Street, San Diego, CA  92110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (619) 276-6545
Last modified School Of The Madeleine is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top