Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Jolla Country Day School

Private | K-12 | 1139 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $810,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2009

Excellent learning enviroment. Students are given opportunities for community service and are very enthusiatic about helping! Very diverse student body and wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

This is an exceptional school, with loving teachers and supportive parents. As is often the case in a private school, there are always parents who can afford that extra outfit or that extra tutor. But there is more economic diversity than people realize (it's just not anyone's business who is on tuition assistance), and extra tutoring isn't necessary--availing yourselves of the existing experts (the teachers!) is all you need. The Lower School provides a nuturing ,enriching environment; the Middle School introduces students to the variety that will exist in later years, and the high school provides exceptional college preperatory instruction. The entire school fosters character guidance that will serve students well throughout their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The middle school is unbeatably wonderful, but beware of the high school. As soon as the grades/ranking become important for college purposes (9th grade), is when the political favortism rears its ugly head. Most of the tests at the high school level allow the teachers to be very subjective with grading. If you love 20+ hours of weekly homework (including weekends and through the holidays), than this may be the place for you. But, if you are well-rounded and school is only one important component of your life, you may want to think twice before staying for high school or entering at the high school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Pretty remedial education if you ask me. I think the school day is so fast-paced it makes your head spin. They try to be everything to everyone and it falls way short! The teachers are great but the coursework is boring, repetitive and is all about memorizing and regurgitating it for a test. No critical thinking going on here. Not much is expected of the students at least in lower school through 6th grade. Some kids in my grade even have tutors! They do not honor the brightest kids and instead, try to make everyone fit in a little box like we're all learning at the same rate when we just plain don't!! Not enough challenge for the smartest kids. Public school would do a better job (exception music, science and PE). Lots of rich kids with attitude espeically the girls! Phew!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

Terrific school. From lower, to middle to high school, the headmaster to the preschool, this place is untouchable. They are not perfect, but they set the standard. Lots of wealthy people here, but we are middle class and feel zero pressure from even the most wealthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Country Day is a place where you child can grow to be an individual. The school provides a nuturing environment that allows kids to try different things. The teachers clearly care and have the resources and time to really teach the kids. We have been at the school for four years and most importantly, our kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

It is up to parents to enforce that material things are not important. There is a lot of effort that goes into raising money for the scholarship fund. To give your child the gift of an education like this is priceless. Children are like that at any school- who has what...... it is up to the adults to see through that and give their child something for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

im a student at la jolla country day and the teachers are just outstanding. They help you very well when somethings wrong. They also teach you advanced stuff that you would usually learn in highschool. Im very lucky and glad that i go to this school :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

Do your research. They have had some very public issues with bullying in the upper school. There have also raised the tuition in large chunks. Lot of families with too much money and not enough ethics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

My son just finished his 1st year (7th grade) and we are very happy with the school. We found the teachers to be superior, the students great kids, and the environment very positive. We wish the homework wasn't so heavy, especially with the new addition of 7th grade semester finals. Sometimes this leaves little or no time for family and outside activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Appearances are deceiving. Every time you turn around the school is having another fund raiser and has their hand out. The tuition to this school is way over priced. If you're family is well grounded, then my suggesting to you, do not go here! Pass them right by, you and your child will not be happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

Your child will not like this school if they are on scholarship! Expensive clothes and money are extremely important at this school, and there is a lot of competition. A less well-off child will feel inferior. Even the teachers are less accomodating to the scholarship kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 1, 2007

Great School. My children Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Great school! Excellent teachers, and education. Best school in S.D.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

La Jolla Country Day School is in general a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

La Jolla Country Day is a wonderful school. The students love being there. The teachers work hard to give a top notch education. The children are generally accepting of others and open new students with open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Great, progressive school. Teachers in lower school are very supportive. Social/fundraising scene is a bit heavy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

Our child has attended JLCDS since kindergarten and really loves the school, the other children, faculty, and extended day program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

We have a second grader who has attended this school since grade K. So far, we have been very impressed with the professionalism, enthusiasm, and energy of the teachers. These teachers seem extraordinarily attuned to the strengths and weaknesses of each student, and give plenty of individulaized attention to help them succeed academically and socially. Our daughter has really enjoyed learning, and is generally happy there. There is P.E. daily, music 2 X's weekly, and art weekly. Science is twice weekly, as is foreign language. Parents are very involved. There is some international and racial diversity, but the majority of families are well off. The group norm seems to reflect positive behavior and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

This school is known for having an exceptionally polite group of students, at the elementary level. I do not have information regarding older students. Those who are looking for an atmosphere that encourages manners, couteous behavior, etc., will be very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher Schuck
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9490 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92037
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 453-3440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT