Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,139
 

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

48 reviews of this school


La Jolla Country Day School 2

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
Very disappointed. Big time investment. Commuting on the road. Car investment with the heavy duty commute. Emotional investment with relationships made. Monetary investment with the ridiculous price tag of $30,000 a kid... NOT WORTH IT. You will not get back what you put into it.

La Jolla Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
There are one or two good teachers sprinkled throughout. ON the most part VERY UNIMPRESSIVE. SAVE YOUR MONEY!


La Jolla Country Day School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
My kid never did his homework and the teachers never told me. So, in turn, this very smart kid did not get good grades. The teachers would tell me in the "11th hour" just to cover their backs come report card time.

La Jolla Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
Teachers and administrators are too lazy to push your kid. You have to have self-motivators who will push themselves. SAVE YOUR MONEY. This place is not a good value for $30,000 the teachers, coaches, administrators just DO NOT GO THE EXTRA MILE. This school is hanging on its laurels. I had two really cool, smart, athletic, musical kids here for 4 years. SEVERELY disappointed. OVERRATED. They are not doing their jobs.

La Jolla Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
When the COACHES, teachers and administrators don't practice honesty, integrity and fairness... how do you expect your kid to learn that???


La Jolla Country Day School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
La Jolla Country Day School has exceeded my expectations in every way. It treats each student as an individual and took my son from a point where I wondered whether college was in his future and now, we believe, he may be Ivy material. This isn't a school for parents who want a cookie cutter approach and want to sit back and critique the place. As with all schools there are plenty of challenges when shaping and re-shaping students. But they did a marvelous job with my sometimes cantakerous son and I couldn't be happier.

La Jolla Country Day School 1

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, LJCDS has not faired well in the financial down turn. They have accepted an increasingly large number of underperforming, poorly behaved, spoiled kids over the last 5 years. The results have been disastrous. If you have a high functioning, hard working child, this is NOT the school for you. Most LJCDS kids don't want to work hard, and the main emphasis is social connections for the parents. This is not an academic institution no matter how many times the head of school says it to you. If you have a lot of money, and can afford a country club environment, complete with spoiled bratty children,many with learning issues, that don't want to work hard, this is the school for you. Otherwise, you best go elsewhere. Many teachers are dedicated and trying hard with the students that they have to deal with. Lots of bullying by nasty overindulged kids. Glorified, expensive, public school.

La Jolla Country Day School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
La Jolla Country Day is the finest school in San Diego, no question. Demanding academics taught by a faculty who cares and is willing to work to insure that every student reaches their potential. An arts department that is fantastic and some of San Diego's most competitive athletic teams that win multiple championships each year. LJCD produces young women and men of character who are sought by, and accepted into, the country's finest universities.


La Jolla Country Day School 1

Posted March 16, 2013
- a parent
Be careful. This is school that thinks the parents work for them. We had our daughter here for several years and just pulled her this last year. We are so much happier. The administration and the teachers want the kids to fit a very specific framework. They talk a wonderful amount about what they care about and their theory of education but in reality they practice something very different. Our daughter is so much happier at a new school, private and nearby. We wish we hadn't wasted these years. Some of the teachers truly care and truly try but they are overwhelmed by the focus of the administration and the overall tone of the school. The more we research, the more we have found out about how many kids have been leaving.

La Jolla Country Day School 5

Posted March 18, 2012
- a parent
Expensive, and worth every dime. Our son attended the best SD public schools before coming here, and there is no comparison. Don't kid yourself. . . your child will get a far better education in a class of 10-20 students than in a class of 30+ students. Besides pure numbers, these kids (for the most part) WANT to be here. What a concept. . .getting kids to recognize education as a prvilege (rather than a burden)!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Jolla Country Day School
9490 Genesee Avenue, San Diego, CA  92037
(858) 453-3440
Last modified La Jolla Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
La Jolla Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top