Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
141 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Del Mar Pines School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Marci and her staff are excellent teachers and give their very best each and every day. What sets the school apart however, is its continued focus on nourturing the whole child. I have seen the transformation in my child as they moved from grade to grade strengthening their organization, research and self-reliace skills. We are always reminded by our child that character matters and about the golden rule. I know that my child will be prepared for the next level in her education because of her years at Del Mar Pines. Trully a great school!

Del Mar Pines School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank all the teachers and the Head of School for taking such amazing care of my child and all the children. Well done and thank you! It really takes a village and your village is doing an excellent job.


Del Mar Pines School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are truly gifted, and very kind and loving to the children. A fantastic combination. My child has soared academically and I think the individual attention the teachers give to children is very effective and helpful. They also make learning fun!

Del Mar Pines School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Perfect amount! Very reasonable amount each day and no HW on the weekends and holidays. The best part is that the teachers help the kids become more independent and responsible for doing their HW!

Del Mar Pines School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to do their best work and put in their best efforts. It is a non-competitive environment, but students are routinely challenged across subjects. Students learn that trying is more important than just getting it correct. Students are also encouraged to persist with creative problem solving, group work, conceptual application, and asking questions - all of which lead to persistence, determination, and ownership of learning.


Del Mar Pines School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The school system is positive and not punitive. The students are kind and gentle with each other, even when a student may be struggling. The teachers are excellent role models for kindness and empathy, as they always treat the children with respect and gentleness.

Del Mar Pines School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The school encourages students to be the best person they can be in terms of honesty and integrity. The teachers role model fairness, kindness, and ethics each day in their daily interactions with the children and each other. The school also provides multiple programs on giving and donations, that the children organize and participate in.

Del Mar Pines School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Del Mar Pines is truly a joyful place of learning and growth. We transferred our child to an upper grade in Fall 2015 because of a relocation. I was worried that my child would struggle with the change, as he loved his previous school. The first day I picked him up and asked how it went, he said, "Best school ever! I love my teacher!" This feedback speaks volumes.. and his love for Del Mar Pines has only continued to grow. The school is unique in that it is a small and highly nurturing environment that focuses on whole child development. Hence, the curriculum effectively addresses academic, artistic, cognitive, socio-emotional, and physical development. With 2 teachers in the classroom and a small number of children in each class, the opportunity for teaching to each child's strengths and vulnerabilities is available and excellent. The structure of teaching is exceptional, as it combines applied, project based learning, traditional academics, field trips, and arts. The teachers provided an effective scaffolding and organizational system to foster the child's development cognitively, interpersonally, and across subjects. The teachers are clearly gifted, and very loving and gentle with the children. Based on my observations, the kids love their teachers and are excited to go to school. The families and children at the school are also very kind and inclusive, and it was a smooth and easy transition for us. In sum, I would highly recommend Del Mar Pines as an exceptional school, and I am confident it is a school that fosters children's development and success in the best possible ways across multiple domains. Thank you Del Mar Pines! We are forever grateful...


Del Mar Pines School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at Del Mar Pines (DMP) and we’re very pleased. Our local public school is considered very strong, but the large class sizes and limited individualized pacing caused us to consider a variety of private schools. What attracted us to DMP was its tailored small group instruction in math and language arts, its low student/teacher ratio, and its “extra” classes like Spanish, Science, P/E and Technology. The small group instruction in reading and math, with ~5-8 students in each group, allows for students to progress at an optimal pace for them while receiving more focused individual attention. Additionally, with a limit of 22 kids per class, and one to two teachers per class, classrooms are more easily managed and kids are less likely to be ignored. Marci, the head of school, is responsive to parent input and gets to know all the students personally, sitting in on all parent-teacher conferences. We’ve found this school to not only emphasize optimal academic growth, but the development of a well-rounded, considerate and caring child.

Del Mar Pines School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
I would recommend DMP in a heartbeat to anyone looking for a K-6 school for their chiid/ren. The quality of its academic, social, emotional and physical program is outstanding and truly prepares its students for a journey of learning and exploration. The staff are outstanding - they truly care about each and every child's success in all areas and are the most equipped, able and approachable professionals I have met in a school setting.

Nearby schools

Del Mar Pines School
3975 Torrington Street, San Diego, CA  92130
(858) 481-5615
Last modified Del Mar Pines School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top