Advertisement
Advertisement

Faith Community School

Private | K-6 | 94 students

We are best known for Caring teachers/small classes.

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $312,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 33 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2013

You don't have to look any further and all your concerns will be taken care of by this school. I have money to send my kids to any school we want and after months of research this is our choice. I have one child that has graduated from here and one still enrolled. Great teachers, great principle , great academics , and NO BULLYS ! This is it ! your done . Now just go get enrolled !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

All three of our now adult children attended Faith Community from Kindergarden through 5th grade. They were loved, mentored, nurtured and given sound Christian education. It is particularly relevant that teacher turnover is extremely low and it is a safe environment, enriched by great field trips and fun experiences. I hope that our grandchildren will be attending there as well. We loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Faith is an amazing school. We have three boys and two are graduates and have moved on. One now in College and the second a Senior. They attended from Kinder to 6th grade. The education, individual attention and love provided by Faith teachers and staff have develped them into exceptional students and respectful young men. The perfect class sizes and the curriculum, as well as the Faith based principals are what every child deserves. We love it so much after 5 years we are back at Faith with our 3rd son. We didn't even question what school we would be enrolling him at. It was a given! He is now in 3rd grade and loving every minute of it. From class studies, to P.E., Computer Lab, Chapel time, field trips and much more. We hope and pray you will come and visit, you'll never want to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2012

All three of my children went to this school. The teachers were wonderful. Great field trips., and the education was excellent. My kids were well prepared going into middle school. The class sizes were just right in giving the teacher time to give each child the attention they needed. My children were taught Godly principles thrrough lessons and the teachers examples. Every year they have a Spring musical that allows every child to participate in some way. We all loved this school and miss it very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

My grandson attended Faith Community from Kg through 6th grade. The principal, teachers and staff were excellent. My grandson is a very caring and tenderhearted young man. He was encouraged and nurtured every year. He received an excellent academic education, but more important, he was led in learning to know and worship the Lord Jesus Christ.


Posted November 29, 2012

I am a teacher in the public schools and also a parent of children at FCCS. Although I have a call to teach in the public arena, God placed on my husband's and my heart to guard our children as much as we could for as long as we could. FCCS has done an exceptional job laying a strong and secure foundation. This school and the staff are a sanctuary from much of the "pollution in the world" and nurture the full development of each child. Our children are excelling academically, growing emotionally and socially and blossoming in their spiritual development. The school is like a giant family where older students befriend younger ones, and families reach out to assist and care for one another-it's a total package way beyond just an education! We count our blessings that our children are able to attend FCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I have 3 kids who have graduated from Faith. All of my kids have enjoyed being a part of the Faith Community family. As a parent it was great comfort to know that our kids were being prayed over on a regular basis. The education is outstanding. All my kids were more than prepared to move on. They excelled since graduating from Faith. They have so many great memories! We love Faith!! They're now all 3 at SDSU pursuing two medical doctor careers and a math career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

All 3 of my children attended Faith Community School. This school, the teachers and the leadership directly benefited not only my children but myself as well as their parent. We knew we were genuinely cared about and prayed for. The school attended to the needs of our family while providing excellent education and a safe environment for learning and growth. The families that attend the school are amazing and provide a great resource for fellowship. I highly recommend this school and would send my kids there again if we had to do it all over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

Both Children graduated from Faith back in the late 80s. Went on to High school graduates and college degrees. One, a doctorate. Wonderful school with focus on education and biblical principals. Enjoyed all the good times at Faith. Wonderful teachers and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

Excellent school! Very loving and wonderful staff who truly care about the students, as well as challenging academic programs which help prepare the students for further education. Would definitely recommend this school to anyone in the area!


Posted October 17, 2012

I have 2 boys who have graduated from Faith and my 3rd son is currently a student. All of my boys have thoroughly enjoyed being a part of the Faith Community family. As a parent it is a great comfort to know that our kids are being prayed over on a regular basis. The education is outstanding. Both of my older sons were more than prepared for Jr & Sr. High school and have exceled since graduating from Faith. The kids build a lifetime of memories with each other and with the teachers and principal. My wife and I highly recommend Faith Community Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

Two of my three boys have attended Faith since kindergarten. My third son will begin kindergarten next year. Faith is fantastic in every way! The Principal, teachers, staff, all are very caring, loving and have a wonderful foundation of Christ in their lives which shows in their everyday dealings with the children. The class sizes are another great thing about Faith. They avg 15 or so children to each class. I feel that this is very beneficial for children to receive maximum one on one teaching as well as in a group setting. The teacher and student build a relationship far deeper then if there were 25-30 children per class which unfortunately, is the case in many public schools. My children enjoy going to school and that alone, makes mornings and afternoons, so much brighter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Our son started Kindergarten this year,great school,wonderful teacher,great staff.Highly recommended to everyone.The principal is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Strong academic programs, outstanding leadership, wonderful teachers, and overall a school that cares for the well-being of all of the students. If you are looking for a school were your children will be the focus, the student teacher ratio is small and communication is a priority, search no further. This is an amazing school and I have (and will continue) to recommend this school to all parents who truly want their children's academic needs met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

We have found Faith Community to be such a blessing over all the years we have been sending our children there. The teachers and the staff are caring, supportive, communicative and are very invested in helping the kids grow spiritually and academically. The community of parents is also amazing. There are so many wonderful parents that come together to help their kids and the school meet it's goals. We have also greatly appreciated the school's smaller class sizes and their ability to offer all of this at a monthly tuition that is reasonable. Overall, we believe Faith to be a quality school that will help propel children to achieving a solid foundation. We would definitely recommend Faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

This is our 6th year at FCCS. Now that my son is in 5th grade, I need to start looking at different middle schools for him. It's scarey for me and I'm sure him too being in a class size of 22 to probably 30+. The educational experience that my son has had at FCCS can't be compared to anything, because it's the best. I truly wish that FCCS was able to go through 12th grade, but I know that God will direct me the right way for my son. If you want your child to have a wonderful educational experience, please come visit FCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

My children have been going to Faith now for 2 years, and we Love it tremendously. The support from the teachers and school is rare and we are so blessed to have found not only a good school but great spiritual guidance as well. Keep doing the great job you do faith!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

I have really enjoyed working at Faith. Right from the beginning I felt like part of the family and was welcomed in. I look forward to going to work everyday because I know that what I am teaching is in accordance with God's Word and is portraying a positive message to the students. I have respect for the other staff members, as they are all strong godly examples and really do their best for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2012

This is my son's 6th year at Faith and my daughter's 3rd year. The school has been a blessing for us. Both my children are kind, well mannered, and have a strong belief in God. They also have gotten a wonderful education. I would recommend this school to anyone! The teachers' are very caring and the class sizes are wonderfully small. I asked my kids how many stars they would give their school and they both gave it 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Love this school & staff. My granddaughter started Kindergarten this year and her teacher is wonderful. The class size is small so the students get the attention and help they need while getting a great education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 20%
Black 12%
Asian 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dotty Carter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (858) 565-6726

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Horizon Christian Academy
Christian Unified
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2285 Murray Ridge Rd
San Diego, CA 92123
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 565-4812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT