Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Community School

Private | K-6 | 94 students

We are best known for Caring teachers/small classes.

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $312,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 33 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2008

i attended faith community shcool for 7 years, i am now graduated. the teachers at this school are amazing they all cared for me very much, especily through some hard times, so ya the teachers are great. i did not fell like the school hade the best coriculum and felt that they did not have as much interest for the kids as i hoped but all and all it is an ok school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

This school is great, it supports the good old family values that most schools hve been forced to shove in the closet (on the back of the top shelf at that)! The principal and teachers truely care about the students and their family. I am in the military and I specificly selected duty stations around this school because I dont feel I could ever find a school that can add so much to my childs life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

This school is excellent. Expectations are high and good performance is equally rewarded. This is a safe haven of academic excellence. Our daughter loves it at Faith. She is challenged and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

The teachers are excellent. If yo want a disciplined school this is not it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

We love FCS! Imagine a school where family is important. The principal actually knows every individual student, and their families. There is a nurturing atmosphere, even the students themselves seem to treat each other like family. I feel like every person on campus from the office to the classroom, is interested in my children. The parent participation is incredible! The curriculum is great. My children are much better versed and well read than their peers who attend other schools. My children score 5 to 6 grade levels higher than their grade on many parts of SAT's. They learn and have good role models for good character traits, such as respect. This school has it all. Great environment, academics, and fun after school opportunities! I am so glad that we found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Faith Community School has taught my son the importance of obeying God and his respecting his authorities. It is like a big family so everyone is important plus parents are very involved. The academics and PE are top notch. Activities: talent shows, spelling bees, numerous educational field trips, chapel every Wed. with each child reciting bible memory verses, International day instead of Halloween, a really fun 'all school picnic' the last Friday of the school year, a fantastic CYT play, Mad Science, Spanish lessons, Computer labs, all school prayer circle every Friday before school, pledge to the flag every Monday morning, etc!. My son started writing cursive at Faith Community School in Kindergarten. His teacher then had a PHD and said, 'It connects his analytical side to his creative side to make him a better problem solver.' He is a phenomenal problem solver, has been disciplined and continues to learn to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

The motto of Faith Community School is 'Excellence in Education' which I have found to be absolutely true. Christian values and truths are extremely important in our family, but in addition, we value a strong academic atmosphere where our children will learn and be challenged. We have not been disappointed on either level. Faith Community excels academically and spiritually. The kids are challenged, loved, nurtured and cared for on every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I have been a part of this school for over 10 years with 3 boys. I am a single mom and have been so blessed by the school, staff, teachers and parents. My kids have scored very high in all academics as they have gone on to Jr. & Sr. High Schools. They have all been involved with sports and extracurricular activities. The school teaches them how to get up in public and speak in front of groups, which is a huge fear for most people, but not the students of this school. They learn how to care for others and still get excellent education. Their PE program is amazing and I find the kids are active all of the time. They have before and after school care with above average care and activities for the students, including study hall. This school compassionately meets the needs of almost every family situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My son has been a student at Faith since kindergarten. Our experience with Faith has been wonderful. The atmsophere is warm and caring. The children are nurtured and disciplined toward Godly behavior using Biblical principles and stressing personal accountablity. The staff and parent volunteers are attentive to the needs of parents and children, and are easily accessible. The curriculum is challenging, but not overwhelming. Small class sizes and parent volunteers, as well as an after school study hall allow more inividual attention to the student. Student of the month awards encourage good conduct and study habits. The high level of parental involvement at faith is one of its stongest points. The PTF is controlled parents, many afterschool fundraising and social events allow families to interact. Parents volunteer to grade papers, tutor, monitor playground and form prayer groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I have one child at Faith Community, who is just finishing kindergarten. Every single person on staff seems to really care for each and every child. Their curriculum is excellent and they are constantly aspiring to make Faith even better, ie, afterschool fitness program, opportunity for bilinqual classes, an excellent school musical the kids perform. And God is at the heart and soul of the operation and management of this incredible school. I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

As a 7th year Faith parent, I have experienced every grade, and some twice (4 different children)! We have confidence all staff members truly care for our kids. They are willing to invest into their futures academically and spiritually. Parents are strongly encouraged to be involved. Extracurricular activities have been added (subject to change) which include; after school PE, Spanish, CYT@school, and Girl Scouts. The church offers various parenting support elements as well. If you are looking for a close knit community of supportive folks to travel through your child's elementary years with- you've found the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

This school is amazing! The staff and faculty provide a stellar Christian education with abounding love and care for it's students and families. The Principal is far above excellent in all dealings with the children and parents. She knows each child by name and family personally. The curriculum is advanced and the classroom numbers are small. Very personal care. The children are taught values by example from the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

We chose this school because it is a Christian school. The discipline and curriculum are Christ centered which is what we wanted. The academics are strong in language and reading. Not much is offered in terms of music, science and art. The level of parent involvement is very high. The school is small which makes it nice to get to know alot of the parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

A wonderful school where the teachers truly love and care for their students. My child has thrived in his first year of school and loves his kindergarten teacher. We know that his success is truly due to the dedication of his teacher. Her desire to see her students be the very best they can be through encouragement, creativity and loving guidance are at the core values of this institution. Parent and volunteer involvement at this school is far better than at other schools our children have attended. An excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

I was a single parent looking for a safe and caring learning environment for my son. Over the course of five years I found the staff to be genuinely caring and concerned with both my son's education and his happiness. The principal and all of the administrative staff were accessible and followed up on any problems. My son loved the school, and looks back on his time there with nothing but fondness. He still expresses his love for the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

A very good traditional academic program. My daughter was challenged and scored very well on the state tests each year. The teachers are caring and the principal is accessible and genuinely interested in each student. A faith based curriculum and Christian teachers reinforce what we are trying to teach at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

Wonderful school; great leadership; strong Christian foundation. Would recommend to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 26%
Black 11% 6%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dotty Carter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (858) 565-6726

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Horizon Christian Academy
Christian Unified
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2285 Murray Ridge Road
San Diego, CA 92123
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 565-4812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT