Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
335 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Since 1977 Ocean View Christian Academy (formerly Midway) has educated thousands of Southbay students in our caring, Christ-centered environment. We offer everything from preschool, to before and after-school care, to college counseling. We feature limited class sizes, athletics, and a number of electives for secondary students. We ensure our high school students are not only on track to graduate, but also meet the ever-increasing expectations of colleges and universities. Our past two graduating classes averaged 24 seniors, and over $850,000 in scholarships. Parents are provided online access to grades and homework, and communication to parents is usually provided by several means to ensure important information is received. We also post calendars, lunch menus, teacher emails, and other important information on our website. The dress code at OVCA offers a variety of options for boys and girls, plus we do not require that you purchase items from a particular vendor. Guidelines are available in the office or in the Student Handbook, which is also available online. We are continually thankful for the families who trust us with the education of their children, and tirelessly work to assist them with their student's overall personal growth. I invite any potential parent to visit our website at ovcapatriots.com, or call our office at (619) 424-7875. We look forward to talking with you.
August 05, 2010

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ocean View Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Debbie, Thank you for being there for my two children. My kids are 8 years apart and they both had you for preschool. I appreciate that you showed the same dedication even after 8 years.

Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I had my son here for 2 years and he enjoyed being there. The staff were welcoming and caring. I appreciate the school for its religious culture.


Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
With growing concern regarding how public education is being directed, I am thankful my children have an option like Ocean View in our area. The teachers genuinely care, and take time to meet if needed. Students are taught about faith and God, and are guided through situations when difficulties arise. I am hopeful God will continue to bless OVCA.

Ocean View Christian Academy 2

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
My son was weeded out by the first grade teacher and the vice principal. My son has ADHD and is disruptive when not challenged. He started first grade at a very high reading level and was bringing home kindergarten material for homework. When he was disruptive they took away his recess, which made it even worse. Once he was marked down there was no way he could get points lost back. My son started public school and was finally challenged, but he lost his Christian based education, for which I will forever be saddened. I loved the school at the beginning, but once he was asked to leave I saw it's true colors not what I expected in a christian based school. Keep in mind my child was never threatening, or in any way violent, there was never any problem other than disruptive and being outspoken. They have truly missed out on a great kid, who is now excelling in everything.

Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the primary preschool class for 3 year olds. Its full day and the teachers have been wonderful to her. She is only 3 and knows all the sounds of the alphabet and can write her name independently. Thank you to the staff for working so hard with her!


Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
Our oldest has attended OVCA since kindergarten and is going to be in third grade this year. We have been very pleased with the teachers, the class size and the overall learning environment. With our second child entering kindergarten this year, we are expecting him to have the same great experience.

Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I am pleased to have a student in elementary school again this year at OVCA, and am looking forward to their continued academic and spiritual growth. The school did not raise tuition again this year, for which I am thankful and appreciative to the staff who sacrifices so much to serve at OVCA.

Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. My daughter learns something new everyday and I am always amazed at the wonderful care and attention the teachers bring to the students.


Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a teacher
I work with the Church and School doing maintenance. I'm everywhere and see just about everything. I'm always amazed how excellent the teachers/staff are. The students are always happy and enjoy being here as well. When my daughter is old enough to attend she will be going here.

Ocean View Christian Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is a rare jewel in the San Diego South Bay area. The tuition is purposely as low as possible so as many people who possibly can go are able to afford it. The facilities are wonderful, especially considering they receive no state or federal money. The faculty and administration are very dedicated to their students. The academics are impressive and students consistently test high when compared with other public and private schools. The sports program is also impressive, even though there are not huge numbers of students on which to draw. All of my children attended this school and we are VERY pleased with OVCA!

Nearby schools

Ocean View Christian Academy
2460 Palm Avenue, San Diego, CA  92154
(619) 424-7875
Last modified Ocean View Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top