Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
165 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 109 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gillispie School, The
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are one of the best things about this school. You can tell they really care about your student and they care about getting to your family. We have been so blessed by her teacher this year, and are confident that next year her teacher will be just as wonderful.

Gillispie School, The
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
My student has about 20-30 minutes of homework a night, and unless she's working on a special project. I feel this is appropriate for her grade level, and she has often come home with it finished having worked on it during aftercare.


Gillispie School, The
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
This year our class had two students enter late from other countries with very different cultural background. I must admit that as a mother I was wondering how integrating these new students would play out and whether it would create any issues in the social groups. The outcome was beyond what I could have imagined. Both students were welcomed by the other kids with open arms, and treated with extra kindness while they adjusted to their new surroundings. The students even celebrate their new peer's cultures during special presentations. I really feel like the teachers encourage the loving, compassionate attitudes I've seen in the kids and I am very thankful for that.

Gillispie School, The
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
We love the school's Gillispie values. We love the way students reference the values during conflict resolution and are truly expected to live by them.

Gillispie School, The 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
This was our first year at The Gillispie School and I can say that it will be our first of many. We are so happy with our decision to send our daughter to Gillispie. We love that the school mixes traditional curriculum benchmarks with project-based learning. We feel our daughter is hitting all the milestones while having a well-rounded, hands-on experience. So far the specialities have been great. We would like to see more Spanish or at least have what is going on in Spanish communicated to parents better. The values system is wonderful and we are impressed by the school's warmth and community feel. We couldn't be happier.


Gillispie School, The 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
I just got off the phone with my daughter, who is well into her first job as a psychiatric counselor in a big city. I want to offer thanks to all the schools she attended on her path to this success, starting with The Gillispie School in La Jolla, Ca, which taught her the habits of academic rigor and compassionate that are so important in what she is doing now. Good habits in learning and citizenship have to be taught early; Gillispie did that for my daughter and for so many other children of families I know.

Gillispie School, The
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Ha. The curriculum is so poor, no grit has a chance of being developed. Easy A school is Gillispies nickname.

Gillispie School, The
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The over focus on children of rich families dominates this culture. How does respect develop when families are treated differently if they are big donors vs. ones that are not donating? That is NOT respect.


Gillispie School, The
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The director of the school does not present with honesty or integrity, so how does the school as a whole represent this virtue.

Gillispie School, The 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
At Gillispie you will find a nurturing academic environment that emphasizes personal accountability and respect for others. I am continuously impressed by the passion of both the teachers and administration. Most importantly, my child is happy at Gillispie.

Nearby schools

Gillispie School, The
7380 Girard Avenue, San Diego, CA  92037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 109 reviews. (858) 459-3773
Last modified Gillispie School, The is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top