Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
355 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Diego French-American School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
This school has a great program for education, sports and overall development that my kids have benefited greatly from since pre-school. Its so encouraging to see both my kids very excited and happy to be continuing with the school as they will be going into 6th grade after the summer. Happy kids is the greatest testimony to the school and the amazing teaching staff.

San Diego French-American School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Jarlov has developed a great educational program since he joined SDFAS, has been personally been involved with the students and always looks out for opportunities to further improve overall school program.


San Diego French-American School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
SDFAS develops high degree of honesty, integrity and fairness in its students because they respect every individual and understand cultural diversity.

San Diego French-American School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
SDFAS develops high degree of honesty, integrity and fairness in its students because they respect every individual and understand cultural diversity.

San Diego French-American School 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Our kids started San Diego French American School (SDFAS) at pre-kindergarten and now completing second grade. Over the 4 years we have been very pleased with the overall education they have received in both English and French. They are both perfectly bilingual and excel in other areas, including, social skills, reading/writing, math, art, science, sports and global knowledge. The school nurtures self-expression and provides necessary tools and guidance based on individual student’s development needs. The class sizes are small so every student gets the necessary assistance. Our kids love the school, their teachers and their friends. They are exposed to many cultural backgrounds among their friends so they are respectful and sensitive to others. Some of the comments we hear from other visiting parents are that SDFAS kids are very welcoming and confident of themselves. Among the parents there is a great sense of community and majority of them participate voluntarily in helping in many projects and fund raising. The kids have many opportunities to share their talents in diverse events throughout the year, such as, theater, music, art show, sports events, etc. The kids also participate in international math and language competitions with great results. We look forward to great global opportunities that our kids will have with high confidence after they graduate from SDFAS.


San Diego French-American School 5

Posted March 24, 2016
- a community member
We love SDFAS! We started in Kindergarten and were warmly welcomed into the school community by a core group of families that had been here through preschool. Not speaking French at home has made it really fun to hear our son speak. This isn't high school French- it's the real deal. The school is excellent, the families and community around it are awesome, and hearing 4-5 different languages as parents drop off their kids changes the elementary school experience. It's been wonderful and we're excited about the years ahead! Join Us!

San Diego French-American School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a community member
My children (preschool age) have both started school at San Diego French American school over the past 2 years. We love it!! My husband and I lived in France for a year in college and it was an amazing experience we wanted to share with our children. SDFAS is a truly international community. Not only do the kids learn french (without an accent), but they are also exposed to new friends and different viewpoints from all over the world. Another thing we love at the school - all the lesson plans are amazing and specific to different educational goals. The day is quite structured, but the lesson plans include a variety of activities (i.e. pre-reading, math, science experiments, gardening, art, cooking and obstacle courses). I cannot recommend this school highly enough!!!

San Diego French-American School 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
SDFAS is an outstanding school. The classes are small, the teachers are great, and the school community very close. I love that my sons are learning in two languages and are exposed to a very international culture. They have been at the school for 7 years, and it is wonderful to watch them grow in this nurturing, yet highly stimulating and challenging environment. In a world that is becoming more international by the second, I believe that the education that SDFAS provides is about as close to ideal as you can get.


San Diego French-American School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
We are extremely satisfied with SDFAS. Our two sons have been enrolled since PK and they have been offered a great education. Their French is at the same level any child their age has in France and their English is extremely strong. As an international family we find theses skills will help them succeed in any country or education system. Our children love their school.

San Diego French-American School 5

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
San Diego French-American School ("SDFAS") is, by far, the best Pre-K-8 program in San Diego. I wanted a rigorous academic environment and meaningful cultural experience for my daughter, and I'm so fortunate to have found SDFAS. It is a dual-language immersion school that turns out smart, culturally sophisticated kids, with super strong academics, particularly in math and science, and a mastery of the French and English languages, I have two older children who have gone through traditional private schools, and although they received a great education, it does not compare to what my younger child is learning and will continue to learn at SDFAS. When she graduates, she will be completely bilingual (she already can speak French beautifully and effortlessly without any exposure at home) and possess broad global knowledge, a strong work ethic and extraordinary academic discipline due to the intensity of completing a dual-language program. All this at a cost significantly less than other private schools in the area. The magic of SDFAS is hard to pinpoint, but it must be the combination of the exceptional quality of teachers and the truly diverse cultural experience. The academic program is difficult, but the teachers help their students succeed by being knowledgable and passionate, yet tough and results-oriented. The class size is small and students receive considerable individualized attention. The frequent feedback about her progress, both academically and socially, is remarkable and goes way beyond what I expected. The school is extremely diverse, with a student body representing something like 35 different nationalities, so students are exposed to languages and experiences from all over the world. I truly love SDFAS. I feel like I'm giving my daughter such a gift with bilingual education and she's truly becoming a "citizen of the world." I'm so excited about the possibilities that will be open for her after her experience at SDFAS. I can see already that she is developing into a hardworking, confident individual, after facing and overcoming the daily challenge of speaking in a language that she does not hear at home. She is also a culturally sensitive person, tolerant and respectful of others' differences. These are characteristics that are hard to teach, but are learned automatically at this very special school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Diego French-American School
6550 Soledad Mountain Road, San Diego, CA  92037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (858) 456-2807
Last modified San Diego French-American School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top