Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,009 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horizon Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I disagree with previous reviewer regarding Horizon academics. I have 2 overachieving kids that are thriving at this school. The biblical focus is awesome. The faculty and staff are awesome. Praise the Lord for this school.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
I was privilege to attend Horizon for my last 2 years of High School! When I came to this school the Principal told me something very profound..."I want you to get involved in this school! Be a leader, shine Jesus, and see what He wants to do with you in this School!" Horizon was an amazing experience from academics, worship team, drama, choir, sports, school spirit, Bible classes, art and much more! The students that wanted to do well in any of these areas simply had to have determination, and a desire to excel! I was very blessed by the faculty, students and families. The students that wanted to excel had every opportunity. Many of my fellow seniors graduated completing honors classes in college prep academics! All in all this school was an amazing, Godly environment that the Lord used to put me on the right tack in Him for life! Praise God!


Horizon Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted December 03, 2011
- a parent
My niece attended school here and had a decent GPA. She did not take AP classes, but got into every college she applied for and received more than $70,000 in various local and national scholarships. She just graduated in 4 years from college with honors, so Horizon prepared her well. The love of the teachers and staff for the students was outstanding. They greatly supplement the Christian upbringing with their standards and the way they direct the students. Parents are very involved. It was a great school.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended for two years and was not pleased with the education. I felt the teachers were not well trained for all aspects of teaching in high school level. Their degrees questionable. Lots of favoritisim. At times it did not feel like she was in a christian school. Very poor communication from teachers on how your child was doing. Not worth all the money you pay for. She is doing better off in public schools.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School 3

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
This school focuses highly on athletics. The academics, particularly for a high-performing child, is a low-point. My over-achieving child would have been better served academically by attending the local public high school. That being said, the counseling office is very accessible and has been helpful in providing advice for college entry. The teaching staff needs improvement overall. There is a high turn-over rate. There are a few great teachers here, but the school needs to bring in more higher qualified staff for the upper academic areas and to offer more honors and AP courses to be competitive with the local public high schools.


Horizon Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
I attended this school and loved it. I thought the academics were great and indeed challenging. I loved all the teachers. Extra curricular activities could use some help.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted November 03, 2005
- a student
It can be a great school academically, but often the teachers seem to be more concerned with discipline rather than teaching. There is not a lot of diversity in the student or teacher population. Student-teacher relationships are cultivated and nurtured more so than at other schools. The teachers are available to the students academically and emotionally and will go out of their way to help their students. Overall it is a good school adequate in preparing young people for college.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School
no rating

Posted June 23, 2005
- a parent
My child didn't like this school and from the things he's told me, neither do I. The academics are a huge hit or miss depending on the teacher. Although rare, we've had a few teachers that my son has really learned anything from. Since it is a small school the admistration is very cliquey. Alot of the kids are very viscious for a 'christian school. We hope to take our son out of this school as soon as possible. it may stay the same at a public school, but at least we won't be paying for it!


Horizon Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted June 22, 2005
- a parent
Horizon High has a wonderful environment for children. They not only care about the education for the child but the child as a whole. This has been a good change for our daughter from public school.

Horizon Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted February 10, 2005
- a student
Horizon is a great godly school. If you ever visit there you will be greeted by the staff and see what the daily schedule is. At school all teachers honor and respect what you have to say. This school is a great school for everyone. Come and find out!

Nearby schools

Horizon Junior/Senior High School
5331 Mount Alifan Drive, San Diego, CA  92111
(858) 244-0333
Last modified Horizon Junior/Senior High School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top