Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

425 students|Bonita Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fred Ekstrand Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Freeth, thank you for all that you do with teaching our children the tools they need to be successful in school!

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
My son's teacher in 1st grade is awesome..She is an exceptional teacher. She is loving and nurturing. She entices the minds of the children with technology! Way-to-go Mrs. Freeth!


Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This school really helped my kids . We came to America may. 2013 and enrolled thim with a minimum english knowlege. Now thay can read, write and speak english good . Thank you so much Ekstrand!

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
I love Ekstand (bonita unifed school dist) there are not to many school dists that have before and after school care your child never leaves the campus.. The teachers are great and they try to keep parents update on there childen on how your child is doing.. I do think that the homework is a little to much..

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2009
- a parent
This school really helped my son. We came to America Aug. '06 and enrolled him with a minimum english knowlege. Now his a 6th grader who can read, write and speak english faster than his dad. Thank you so much Ekstrand!


Fred Ekstrand Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! The teachers and principal seem to have students best interests at heart and will do whatever it takes for students to succeed. It is a sweet little school and the gem of BUSD.

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 4

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
I have a son enrolled at Ekstrand, and I'm impressed with the levels and types of services he's receiving. His teacher quickly identified him as needing help in math, and enrolled him in the school's after-school tutoring. I like the way they seem to be looking out for him. Overall, I love the campus, the teachers are supportive, the secretaries are really nice, and the principal seems to actually enjoy being there. I'm happy we're there!

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 1

Posted August 02, 2008
- a parent
Ekstrand school deserves a big fat F on the grading scale. They need to get their act together. They lost 2 years of my child's records from 3rd to 4th grade. The parent-teacher involvement is very low compared to other schools. I would not recommend this school to my friends with small children.


Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 4

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
I am currently Ekstrand's PTA President. An must say together as a team we have worked so hard to continue to improve Parent and Teacher involvement. Along with supporting are extra school activities such as our family fun nights. In every school there is always room for improvement. Thats were us as parents play that key roll in getting involved and using our voices to make that difference for our children. The teachers and staff are such a great group here at Ekstrand and are there to help our children. Ekstrand has helped my children grow, as well as helped me to be the best parent that I can be . As the saying goes GO BOBCATS!!!

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
Previously, I wrote a review on this web page that was a bit negative and now I am eating my words. Things have improved tremendously in the past five months. There appears to be a greater emphasis on each child's individual development. The extra-curricular activities and the after school activities really rock. I do not think you get this level of fun at any private school that I know of. The test scores still need to come up, however, and there needs to be a firm line regarding discipline in the classroom. Go Bobcats!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fred Ekstrand Elementary School
400 North Walnut Avenue, San Dimas, CA  91773-1437
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (909) 971-8203
Last modified Fred Ekstrand Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top