Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Fernando, CA
Students enrolled: 530
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


O'melveny Elementary School 3

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Teacher are qualified to train kids, they give up easily on children that straggle in learning, they don't have a plan how to help the kids and they don't involved the parent for the kids education..

O'melveny Elementary School 1

Posted July 17, 2012
- a community member
You can't be 4 out of 5 stars on the fake scale when you are 4 out of 10 on a real scale. 2 out of 5 would be correct if the community weren't less than 4s.


O'melveny Elementary School 3

Posted November 13, 2011
- a parent
We have our youngest and I have no idea what they are doing. At other schools( been at 3 now with older kids), we were always sent home a weekly packet to show what they are covering for the week, when they have their spelling tests etc..Even at the back to school the teacher asked why do I need a parent conference???? What!!! Usually teachers welcome this..and give specific times and days! I get homework back occasionally that has no notes..not even a happy face..so I always send it back thinking the teacher didn't see the work...again no clue..the website hasnt been touched since 2006?? No money in budget..PLEASE! Oh and finally, we don't get any calls..no reminders..update of anything...very sad!

O'melveny Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent with a child of special needs, so I am rating the school based mostly on the Special Education Dept. The special ed. teachers are excellent...I would actually say they are the best of the best. My child is now moving on to middle school, and I have never been so sad to have to say goodbye. The school also hired a new principal two years ago which made a tremendous difference on improving the general education, and moral of the school. I truly cant express enough on what a wonderful school this has become, and the difference it has made on my child...academically and socially.

O'melveny Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2010
- a community member
the schools score has been growing greatly in the past decade.


O'melveny Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

O'melveny Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
It all depends on who the teacher is. Very few teachers work really hard. It is very obvious who these teachers are. As parents we need to be involved in our kids education. If something is not working then we must act quickly to resolve the upcoming problems. Attend Back to School Night, parent conferences, etc.

O'melveny Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2008
- a parent
I would'nt recomend this school if you have a child who is learning a faster pace than the rest of the kids in the classroom. Don't get me wrong the school has great teachers, but they seem to hold the fast learners back with the rest of the class.


O'melveny Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

O'melveny Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
I love O'Melveny!! My son is in the special day class. The teachers are wonderful! They have great patience with the students. My son is very happy to go to school everyday! Mrs. Richardson(asst principal) is awesome! Always available when I need her! Keep up the hard work!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

O'melveny Elementary School
728 Woodworth Street, San Fernando, CA  91340
(818) 365-5621
Last modified O'melveny Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
O'melveny Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top