Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Fernando Senior High School 2

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
The gang problem is out of Control in this school!! My son (a junior) was a baseball player for this school even won a championship last year, my daughter (a freshman) received student of the moth last month, yet despite their effort to stay away from trouble its hard when the school is full of gangsters who aren't disciplined by staff!! I have transferred my kids from this school! Good ridance!!

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
San Fernando is a school with a long history, est.1896 it is the second oldest school in los angeles. It is a school that has produced congressmen, lausd board members, Newscasters, football stars, Bankers, Nurse's, Doctors and business people it is the gateway to colleges and universities. The Administration, Teachers, and Parents are on the right track to insure these Students are getting the right tools to successfully full fill their dreams.


San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
SFHS has been working with parents and students to improve academic as well as overall performance. My daughter is a freshman and is excelling in all her classess. She feels welcomed and accepted by teachers and students..I look forward to working closely with staff in assuring her success.

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
San Fernando has a great program like Project Grand. Project Grand help's on going to college and taking college classes. Project Grand will work with you.

San Fernando Senior High School 1

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
(Continued) I wish I could write a full review on the regular school. Magnet is a success not just because it's a small community, but because there's a mutual involvement among the students, parents, and staff. A few years ago, the school (like many in LAUSD) created SLCs in an attempt to perform on par with Magnet. Nothing changed. I know because I took a few classes in the regular school due to scheduling conflicts. There are a handful of good teachers but many are STILL uninvolved and lazy. Standards are low; the workload and pace are pathetic. There's a Puente program, but guess what? A friend of mine worked there and said that the teacher is lazy, takes months to complete lessons ("big" assignments being pitiful essays) and gives students passing grades when she tires of reading their work. SFHS does well athletically - academically it's a joke. The school got close to losing accreditation three years ago and as a result, went into panic-mode (i.e., block scheduling). As for the students, most are incredibly disrespectful and it's not uncommon for fights to erupt during class. Unless you get your child in Magnet, avoid this zoo if education, civility and safety matter to you!


San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted October 08, 2012
- a teacher
The magnet program was not as challenging as it should be, several teachers have left due to the lack of discipline from the School staff on their students and employees. Constant lockdowns due to drive by's, constant fights and severe injuries from student to student. Over crowded classrooms, Magnet counselor is a great counselor, very few teachers who do their job right.

San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This school isnt bad, but it falls to the other magnets which offer much more vigourous courses. It has poor availability for classes. It only has 8 AP courses, when many other high schools have 10 and above. This school will not be challenging. Do not send your child here to be a big fish in a little pond. That's pathetic.

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
I'm a former student. I was NOT in magnet, yet had ALL AP/Honor classes. I was continuously challenged! Mr. Muller is one of the greatest english teachers; Mrs. Cardoso for Science; Mr. Morgan for math... If you take the right teachers/classes, this school is just as great as any 'high achieving' school.


San Fernando Senior High School
no rating

Posted July 11, 2009
- a student
It has some good teachers, programs and course, but compared to other schools, it does not have enough resources for its students

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
I am glad my daughter attended SFHS Magnet. She was challenged by all of her teachers and she has a close bond with all Magnet staff, faculty, and peers. As a parent, I like knowing what is going on with my daughter at all times. If she was absent, I got a direct phone call from Sylvia (the magnet secretary), which is fantastic. I've gotten to know all of her teachers well. Most importantly (for me at least) is that my daughter hated reading and writing until her tenth grade year with Ms Alvarez. Now she has Ms Haynes who she equally adores although she is just as rigorous as Ms Alvarez. She also loves Mr Beck, who is according to her the sweetest and most knowledgeable man. I could name all teachers but I'll bore you. All teachers in the magnet are fantastic!!! She's graduating this year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Fernando Senior High School
11133 O'melveny Avenue, San Fernando, CA  91340-4426
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (818) 898-7600
Last modified San Fernando Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top