Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Fernando, CA
Students enrolled: 2,749
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
SFHS has been working with parents and students to improve academic as well as overall performance. My daughter is a freshman and is excelling in all her classess. She feels welcomed and accepted by teachers and students..I look forward to working closely with staff in assuring her success.

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
San Fernando has a great program like Project Grand. Project Grand help's on going to college and taking college classes. Project Grand will work with you.


San Fernando Senior High School 1

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
(Continued) I wish I could write a full review on the regular school. Magnet is a success not just because it's a small community, but because there's a mutual involvement among the students, parents, and staff. A few years ago, the school (like many in LAUSD) created SLCs in an attempt to perform on par with Magnet. Nothing changed. I know because I took a few classes in the regular school due to scheduling conflicts. There are a handful of good teachers but many are STILL uninvolved and lazy. Standards are low; the workload and pace are pathetic. There's a Puente program, but guess what? A friend of mine worked there and said that the teacher is lazy, takes months to complete lessons ("big" assignments being pitiful essays) and gives students passing grades when she tires of reading their work. SFHS does well athletically - academically it's a joke. The school got close to losing accreditation three years ago and as a result, went into panic-mode (i.e., block scheduling). As for the students, most are incredibly disrespectful and it's not uncommon for fights to erupt during class. Unless you get your child in Magnet, avoid this zoo if education, civility and safety matter to you!

San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This school isnt bad, but it falls to the other magnets which offer much more vigourous courses. It has poor availability for classes. It only has 8 AP courses, when many other high schools have 10 and above. This school will not be challenging. Do not send your child here to be a big fish in a little pond. That's pathetic.

San Fernando Senior High School 3

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
I'm a former student. I was NOT in magnet, yet had ALL AP/Honor classes. I was continuously challenged! Mr. Muller is one of the greatest english teachers; Mrs. Cardoso for Science; Mr. Morgan for math... If you take the right teachers/classes, this school is just as great as any 'high achieving' school.

San Fernando Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted July 11, 2009
- a student
It has some good teachers, programs and course, but compared to other schools, it does not have enough resources for its students

San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
I am glad my daughter attended SFHS Magnet. She was challenged by all of her teachers and she has a close bond with all Magnet staff, faculty, and peers. As a parent, I like knowing what is going on with my daughter at all times. If she was absent, I got a direct phone call from Sylvia (the magnet secretary), which is fantastic. I've gotten to know all of her teachers well. Most importantly (for me at least) is that my daughter hated reading and writing until her tenth grade year with Ms Alvarez. Now she has Ms Haynes who she equally adores although she is just as rigorous as Ms Alvarez. She also loves Mr Beck, who is according to her the sweetest and most knowledgeable man. I could name all teachers but I'll bore you. All teachers in the magnet are fantastic!!! She's graduating this year!


San Fernando Senior High School 5

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

San Fernando Senior High School 4

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Fernando Senior High School
11133 O'melveny Avenue, San Fernando, CA  91340
(818) 898-7600
Last modified San Fernando Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Fernando Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top