Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
San Fernando, CA
Students enrolled: 1,424
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Fernando Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter recently graduated from this school with honors. She has straight A's and E's. I am extremely impressed with this school. The school's appearance is neat and clean. Our daughter has had nothing but good reviews of SFMS. I met with some of the teachers and they are very friendly. Any time I called the school or went into the office the staff was always very professional and friendly. The staff, principal and counselors were all more than willing to help. The school has so many programs to help any student who is failing a class or just needs tutoring. They also have a program called project grad which is really good and according to our daughter fun. They allow the kids to come inside during lunch and play chess and other games. They plan college tours and the counselors with proj. grad. make sure the students enrolled in the program are taking all of their prerequisites. It's a wonderful program. The school is well staffed and I liked that they had staff always around before and after school monitoring the students. The staff does a great job motivating the students. All of our daughter's teachers were truly AWESOME! :)

San Fernando Middle School 2

Posted May 19, 2014
- a teacher
The students as a whole do not like being in school and therefore refuse to learn. They would rather goof off than learn anything. Most teachers are amazing but feel like a glorified baby sitter. There is a dedicated group of parent volunteers, however, their children aren't the ones causing the problems in the classroom. There needs to be more active parents in order to change this pandemic of apathy and behavioral issues in the classroom. There is huge potential at this school, but the students have to buy into into it. Most don't care about college or a good job, much less turning in homework and graduating. I would send my child anywhere but here until parents start taking an interest in what goes on with their children and making them behave. Teachers can only do so much. Just look at the test scores, but don't blame the teachers.


San Fernando Middle School 5

Posted July 28, 2011
- a community member
i attended this school and loved it. i never witnessed any bullying! the security is great! the school is across the street for a police station which makes students feel very secure. once a month we would have assembly's about bullying! they made me feel like i was important. once you become a san fernando middle school falcon, you become a member of a very special family!

San Fernando Middle School 1

Posted March 15, 2011
- a community member
This school has no such meaning towards "safe student body" and security towards the students that are being bullied... i would not put my child here!...THEY DO NOT CARE FOR YOUR KID!

San Fernando Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


San Fernando Middle School 3

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Many people have bad views of this school for dumb reasons! It's stupid really. The teachers are not bad. The school is not bad. It is clean. The thing that's bad with the school is the kids. They just dont care. They have no parent involvment, that's what makes it fall below other schools.

San Fernando Middle School 5

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
San Fernando MS has helped my daughter tremendously! Its so clean, the kids are nice, the staff is superb!The teachers are fun and are known for academic rigor. It's honestly just...incredible.Go Falcons!

San Fernando Middle School 2

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


San Fernando Middle School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

San Fernando Middle School 1

Posted July 21, 2009
- a student
This school is low in discipline, pour in academics, teachers don't care about the students playing in the halls and all they do is try to ignore the problem right in front of them.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Fernando Middle School
130 North Brand Boulevard, San Fernando, CA  91340
(818) 837-5400
Last modified San Fernando Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Fernando Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top