Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
449 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chinese American International School 3

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
While the education was great, the teachers were not always respectful or fair to the children in the way they talked to them. It was a very harsh social environment all the way through middle school. When there was bullying or someone was having an issue, it was dealt with strict consequences, which made all the students scared and it did not allow them to understand why what they did was wrong. Being an alum, I wish I had a safer social environment because there were too many times where I did not feel I was being heard or helped when something was wrong between other kids or a teacher. CAIS has a great Chinese language program, but lacks in the English department. It would be beneficial if more time was spent on teaching students how to write and express their creative side.

Chinese American International School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
7th grade Chinese teacher Zhou LaoShi: LaoShi, Thank you so much for everything you did for me. You taught me how I should feel as a person. You were encouraging, genuine, helpful, kind, and a true friend. You taught me that it is okay when you haven't found your friends yet because of all the people you will meet in the future. You are also a great Chinese teacher and you helped me every step of the way. You are what CAIS wants in all their teachers.


Chinese American International School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
It depends on the teacher. But most are very knowledgable and are eager to teach their class. Teachers could improve on how they interact with their students by acting more as a friend as well as a teacher. I think this way students will feel safer talking to their teachers about issues they are having, and a stronger community would start to blossom.

Chinese American International School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
While a lot of homework is given, it is manageable because of the good study habits students develop.

Chinese American International School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
This school has strong Chinese academics. Once graduating from CAIS, you are fluent. Also, due to the large amount of homework given and several required extracurriculars, students learn that even if they don't like something, they should do their best at it and keep trying.


Chinese American International School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
Students lack respect to each other and to teachers. The students just please their teachers when they need to, but they lack real respect for them because of the harsh Chinese way of treating students. Children are also mean to each other and it is hard for them to find even ground because no social skills are taught.

Chinese American International School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
I am alum of CAIS and I attended this school from Pre-K to 8th grade. Rarely in all 10 years that I was at this school, did I feel cared about and safe among my peers emotionally. It has been a nonstop roller coaster because of the lack of proper discipline. Students are taught to listen to the teacher and to please the teacher, but when they do something wrong, they never learn why it was wrong and what to do instead. By the end of my time at CAIS, I felt like I had no true friends and I was thrilled to be moving on to high school. CAIS really needs to work on this area in order for its students to feel safe and happy at school. Because after all, don't you want your kids to enjoy going to school everyday?

Chinese American International School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
There is a weak social environment between the students and with the teachers, which causes students to feel uncomfortable sharing how they truly feel about certain things. It also makes students feel powerless to their teachers, even though they should feel like they have a solid relationship with them.


Chinese American International School 3

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are fantastic. There are many resources available to students, faculty and parents. But the academic targets are only above average, at best. Not excellent. After a parent at FAIS gave me the run-down of their curriculum, I realized how far behind CAIS was in rigor and breadth. There are many individuals within the faculty and administration who are doing fabulous work. But there is a big, unspoken divide b/w parents who want solid academic targets and those who just want to have fun being at what they think is an exclusive private school. By 3rd and 4th grades, so many of the kids are exhibiting such poor to mediocre levels of cognitive and linguistic development in Mandarin that one has to wonder about whether this is all a waste of time, that they ought to spend it making sure there were no gaps in their cognitive academic development in English. We were told that CAIS kids do not score high on the ERB because of having so much of their day in Mandarin. But if the kids are not hitting high targets in English and certainly not in Mandarin, then how are they going to be prepared for a demanding high school? CAIS has the resources to build the right kinds of leadership teams, but they don't curate enough of the right people. There is also a weird new "trend" from parents who have learned tourist level Mandarin through college and working in China - they claim to be "fluent" in Mandarin when in reality they are not. These parents completely miss that immersion's goal is a much more elevated one - the ability to think and function in the language, not just order dumplings and exchange niceties. The teachers know. They do their best to keep doing the noble work of teaching and engaging the kids. But they are treated like second-class citizens. They cannot be miracle workers. CAIS can and should do better. They could start with being more honest with themselves. Many parents want that honesty. But there are also many parents who do not. CAIS should just decide - is the school for the parents with mediocre expectations who just want to have fun? Or do they want to figure out how to achieve higher academic targets? They should benchmark themselves against FAIS. Doesn't matter if French is easier than Mandarin. Parents deserve to have that conversation and perspective on the bilingual cognitive development process.

Chinese American International School 4

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
As two graduates of CAIS, our opinion is that the school is decent, but the academics could be improved, and the quality of education is declining with the loss of good teachers. Technology: Our grade did not have iPads, but we observed many younger students playing games. We feel that the addition of iPads to the school curriculum has had a negative effect on students’ concentration and learning. Middle School Curriculum: ELA: Mr. Gray was insightful, but his class did not adequately prepare for high school in terms of essay composition. At challenging high schools, CAIS kids struggle with deep analysis and essay structure. The classes were also disorderly, making it difficult for students to pay attention. Mr. Sproull’s 6th grade vocabulary and spelling tests helped with standardized tests and the final magazine project taught us how to use our time wisely with a major project. ESS: Though the material was based off a textbook, the teachers, Ms. Reimer (no longer teaching at CAIS) and Mr. Sproull, were able to engage students through discussions and projects. They were also able to enhance our worldly understanding through the current event essays and presentations. Math: During our time at CAIS, we were taught by the LEGENDARY Ms. Soukhova, who is now retired. As each grade had to take the same level of math, we did not learn anything in the actual class. Instead, we turned to the afterschool MathCounts program to learn more challenging concepts. In 6th grade, we were taught by Mr. Churchill, learning basic math skills, such as solving for a variable in a linear system. Science: In 7th and 8th grade, we were taught by Ms. Sherman. Over these two years, we participated in the science fair and covered topics from biology to physics, from birdwatching to earthquake science. In her class, we could count on being challenged by new material everyday. In 6th grade science, we experimented with hands on activities, such as being dunked in water to learn about density. Chinese: CAIS’ Chinese curriculum was excellent in all aspects. Though the teachers gave us mostly written assignments, we were able to improve our oral skills through class discussions. We were also able to broaden our understanding of Chinese language and culture by learning about China’s history in depth so that we could truly grasp China’s traditions. (We would have written more.)

Nearby schools

Chinese American International School
150 Oak Street, San Francisco, CA  94102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (415) 865-6000
Last modified Chinese American International School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top