Advertisement

Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $885,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

This school has an excellent staff. Unlike most schools where teachers do not get familiar with their students this school does. Some teachers stay after school just to help their students. I have sat in on a few different teachers, and they have great teachers. The education is a dual curriculum. They have Judaic studies as well as secular. To teach about the Judaic studies they have people from Israel come to San Francisco, and teach. These people who come from Israel are volunteers. Not only does the school have an amazing curriculum, but also to get closer to the Israeli teachers who not only teach you, but they also help you with life decisions, and become close to you as friends. These Israelis host a shabath meal were you stay in their house have a meal prepared by them, and you talk and have a nice time. The Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy is a safe environment in which bullying, and other things are not tolerated. Most of the students in the school are on scholarship, and from what I have heard from the students themselves is that they love the school, and it is a second home for them. You can see that it is a good school from all the people getting into great colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My wife and I are active in our synagogue and our son attends Hebrew school. So when it was time for him to go to kindergarten, we checked out the Hebrew Academy. Class sizes are small, which is great but the instructions seemed rigid. In conversation with the teacher who was giving me a tour I was told that 95% of the families are not practicing Jews. When I mentioned that my wife had converted at a Reformed synagogue she shook her head, tisked, and told us how our son would have to be re-circumcised! We don't believe in 'Poof you're a Jew'. Needless to say, I left. I found the intolerance inane and insufferable.


Posted January 22, 2008

The negatives:The school has a lot of potential but due to continued money issues, the school is on the decline. Some of the classrooms are not in good shape. It often can not pay teacher on time and therefore, often can not retain teachers for more than a year. Although the school prizes on Judaic studies, the reality is that for the past four or so years, hebrew and judaic studies have been taught by young men and women from Israel who have no professional training in being teachers. There is also no PTA in the school and the Dean discourages parent participation. This is one of the biggest downfalls of the school. The positives: The class sizes are small and many kids feel very comfortable there. The school produces high school graduates that attend some of the top universities in the country. The school has a great English/drama teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Safety, discipline, teachers qualities, principals and deans leadership male this school the best. I spent all my high school years there, for me it was more like a second home, and the teachers were my second parents. Discipline is on very high level, students respect all the taechers, and the students. Best drama club, art, a lot of fund raising, there is no need for parents involvement because the students are doing everything themselves along with their teachers. And have you seen their college attendance, 100% go to best colleges, become doctors, lawyers, you name it. Teachers are the best, they are our friends in all aspects. Highly recommend this school for jewish families. Very safe, clean, in the heart of san francisco.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2006

This is great school with a lot of personal attention to each student due to small class size-about 8 kids in pk-2nd grade.Hot Lunch are provided by school. Teachers are very expierienced and cooperative. This school is for pk-12 grade wich eliminates future problems with high school admission procces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Small classes, individual attention. Great Drama program and teachers. Advanced Placement classes available.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2005

The level of education is great, especially if you are looking to enrich your child's Jewish heritage, history, and religion. Teachers are amazing, and although the school can be pricey and challenging, it's notorious for making students into scholars.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 11, 2003

I am not a parent but a former student. I am in the 11th grade. I left the school before high school. I would like to say that this school is not a good place to learn. When I went to 9th grade I was totally unprepared. I had supposedly taken algebra in 8th grade but I redid it in 9th and I knew almost nothing. The Jewish education there is pretty good but the school is very unprofessional. I'll say it again, if you want your child to get a good education and to be prepared for college go somewhere else. The teachers there don't care about the students and it's just an overall bad school. Academic wise to extracurricular activity wise.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 96%
Hispanic 2%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

645 14th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94118
Phone: (415) 752-7333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Argonne Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Zion Lutheran School
San Francisco, CA


San Francisco Schoolhouse
San Francisco, CA


Star of the Sea School
San Francisco, CA



The Laurel School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT