Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 45
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is a new hope for many families, including us. My shy kid blossomed there and smiling every morning going there! What makes it unique: - K-12, which allows kids to build life-long relationship with each other and their wonderful Teachers - Small classes, which feels more like private tutoring system. Teachers have ability to practice personal approach and offer more attention to every child personally - Extremely high level of classical education - we as parents are endlessly impressed by academic program in both science and humanities - Teachers are extraordinary both personally and academically. Many of them have dedicated their lives to children and to this school. Two years in the row St. John s teachers are being awarded Award for Teaching Excellence by the Herbst Foundation! - Christian values are being seeded at early age and grow with children - Multicultural Orthodox Christian community is enriching life experience for every child at St. John's: you will meet Orthodox families from pretty much every continent - Extremely warm, loving, caring atmosphere - Great lunch program!! - Price is reasonable for such level of education and teacher involvement. THANK YOU!

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a teacher
This school placed first in San Francisco in the National Math League's 2013 Math Counts Contest.


St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 4

Posted April 16, 2013
- a community member
The children from this school are active in the broader community volunteering and giving back. This is a community building school. I see the students giving back to my neighborhood. The children visibly love their school. That speaks a lot for the type of school this is. Glad to be a neighbor.

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a teacher
This is a one of a kind school. This school is dedicated to building the whole child; mind, soul, and body. I'd never consider working at another school. The children here are exposed to the ancient and sure foundations of a classical and Christian civilization. The children learn not to be slaves of the present but inheritors of a great heritage.

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Excellent teachers, challenging academic programs!!! Children don't want to leave school at the end of the day! It feels like home at St. John's.


St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Great school! If you could afford it , go for it ! Best place for the teens and high school students , providing drug , smoke and alcohol Free environment and developing real human qualities we all should value!!!

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
We found this school after leaving 2 previous private school. My family found that there is no better academics and qualified teacher than the ones at St. John's. This school is truely like a second family that has my childs best interest at heart.

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 4

Posted March 19, 2007
- a parent
French, Latin, Ancient Greek, Dickens, Bronte, Austin and the list goes on. Yes, the facts do speak for themselves!


St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
I like St.John s Orthodox Academy as a parent because this school has the followings: Orthodox religious instruction. Off-site opportunities for educational and cultural enrichment such as field trips to museums and the theatre. Hot lunches, snacks Small classes and teachers personal attention to my kids The opportunity for middle and high school-level students learn French and Latin languages and write, direct, and produce a student film in Latin that is screened for the enjoyment of parents during our Open House event. A Yahoo! Group, where school officials share school news and other information of interest with us, such as cultural events, school photos, and information regarding the latest research on child development. A twice yearly I Know contest for kids in 4th 7th grades Chaperoned after-school events (such as parties and games) for older students.

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade 5

Posted February 14, 2007
- a parent
Both my kids go to St.John's Orthodox Academy School. It's a small private school that provides students with a healthy, warm environment to foster the academic and spiritual growth of our kids. The focus in this school is on Orthodox education and religious emphasis. Small class size enables the well-qualified, enthusiastic teachers to provide one-on-one personal attention to students on instructions and class assignments. Aslo, we have healthy snacks and hot lunches everday. This school inlcudes English-only/Russian-speaking students. All subjects are in English and we have a Russian subject as a plus where our kids learn how to read and write in Russian. Students from our school consistently score high in state examinations and exceed state averages in academic accomplishment. The school administration works closely with parents to resolve disciplinary and academic issues. My daughter (5th grade) and my son (1st grade) are very happy in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade
6210 Geary Boulevard, San Francisco, CA  94121
(415) 221-3484
Last modified St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade is a Private school that serves grades K-12
St. John Of San Francisco Orthodox Acade Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top