Advertisement

Montessori House of Children School

Private | K-1

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $597,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2012

My daughter started at MHoC when she was 3 1/2. Like most things, it took a little time for both her (and us) to adjust to, but we are very happy with the school. Our daughter is learning so much, she's happy every day after school and has made lots of different friends with diverse cultural backgrounds. For two working parents the school is incredibly convenient, with before and after school if needed, and no significant requirements to spend time at the school, although we can participate and be involved when we have the time (reading to the class, helping with science, talking about careers etc). We'll definitely be sending our younger daughter to MHoC in a couple of years time when she reaches the same age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Wonderful preschool that we cannot praise enough! Our daughter has been there for 2 years and we have loved every minute of it. She has had amazing teachers that are loving, encouraging and very empowering. It is a small school that embraces diversity from every possible angle. The sense of community is palpable and the administration of the school engages parents and are always there to listen and help. We LOVE International Day and the holiday potluck dinner and celebration that they put together every year. I am so happy to have found this treasure of a school and we will always hold it dear to our hearts. Please schedule a visit and check it out for yourself. See how happy the children look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

If you are looking for an excellent quality Montessori program with thoughtful teachers and administration, you've come to the right place. Both I and my 4 year old son love this school. It is cozy and warm at heart. I don't understand some of the criticisms--they definitely don't discriminate, but EMBRACE cultural diversity. Outdoor time is 45 minutes a day DURING school hours. Aftercare may include additional outdoor playtime. While MHoC does encourage brief "goodbyes" in the morning to assist in separation, there is an open door policy with the administration, and my son's teacher has always has been available to me in the 40 minutes before class begins. I've had my son at a couple of different preschools. Realize that you need to fit the PROGRAM to the child, not the child to the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

I have sent two of my children to this amazing pre-school. My oldest just graduated after 2+ years at the school. My 3 year old just started. We love this school! The teachers are caring, dedicated professionals and the administration is friendly, helpful and committed to educating children. My 5 year old is doing 2nd grade work and my 3 year old teaches me about the 7 continents -- all of them. They sing songs in Sri Lankan, Japanese, Mandarin and Spanish. My children are receiving a quality, nurturing education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

Loved everything about it: from the way it looks (very urban-like, concrete - not to everybody's taste, I guess), location, to - most important - wonderful staff. Everyone from Ms. Suki and Mr. Rohan (principals), all teachers and assistants to Mr. James (gymnastics). This school truly embraces and prides itself on diversity of the student body. One of my favorite memories is the International Day Parade when a Jewish-American kid (dressed in a Polish folk costume) walked hand in hand with his Palestinian-American classmate. My daughter loved it and keeps asking me to go over there to say hi. Parent involvement not required/expected and minimal on my part. I would recommend (and I have) the school to anyone and if I had more children, I would definitely send them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

It is obvious that the postings entered in May through July, 2010 are the work of a disgruntled employee, intended to discredit and damage the school. All information regarding child:teacher ratios, outdoor play time, head teachers' and assistants' responsibilities, how and when children are transferred are all discussed with parents when they tour the school. Every tour is followed by an information session at which time, parents are provided with all pertinent information. Any questions parents might have are also addressed at that time and also at 'Back to School Night'. However, the writer (writing under the guise of a parent) is unaware of what is covered at the school tour. It is unfortunate that the writer has resorted to such a shameful and cowardly act.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2010

Each class had 24 kids and two teachers, the main teacher and the assistant teacher who only watches the kids and doesn t really help. The school has open enrollment all through the year and every six months they have new kids and they move the kids from class room to class room without much warning to parents and kids. The teachers also expect the kids to sit quietly listening to the lecture please the kids are 3 or 4 years old! They only take the kids out to the playground 35 minutes all day, 20 minutes on the morning and 15 minutes in the afternoon. The principal and the teachers don t work with parents through transitions, the kids cry and they don t help them cope with change. We placed our child in another wonderful school that he loves! We are very happy we pulled him out that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

When my children went to this school I loved it and especially loved the preschool teachers. However, the assistants could not speak fluent English which is ridiculous. The kids are not challenged to and my son was way behind when he entered first grade. The before school care is a disaster as the kids sit in the principles office and the after care program was lame. In all fairness the principal and teachers are great but they don t have the resources they need. Nonetheless it is a good school by San Francisco standards which is sad. Having put the kids in a suburban school I regret that I did not move sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Teachers rarely interact with parents, general feel of discrimination against various ethnicity I am transferring my son out of this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Our daughter has had a wonderful experience at this school over the past year and a half. She loves going to school, has developed lots of good friendships, and adores her teachers. I am truly amazed at what she has learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Beautiful facility. Warm and caring administration and teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

Our son has attended since age 2.5 and we are amazed that he is on the verge of reading at age 4! The teachers are friendly, the staff flexible, and they do a fantastic holiday show as well as an international day parade, very charming. Our son is happy, bright and attentive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

Curriculum is rarelly informed to parents. Teacher has poor communication w/ parents, we have no idea of the projects kids are working at. Facility is good but school lacks a publicized daily activity schedule for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

We transferred here after a bad experience at Katherine Michiels School and have loved it. The teachers are great. Although two teachers just left, my daughter is loving her new teacher after only 2 weeks. The Administration is friendly and flexible. The children are advancing well academically and all seem to have a good time. We would highly recommend it. The school does not ask for very much parental involvement which is a godsend for a two income family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Asian 25%
Two or more races 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1187 Franklin Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone: (415) 441-7691

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tenderloin Community School
San Francisco, CA



Redding Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



De Marillac Academy
San Francisco, CA


San Francisco City Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT