Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Russian American International School

Private | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $660,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 25, 2012

It has only been 4 month since my daughter started kindergarten and I am already in love with the school. The atmosphere is just amazing. Kids learn both English and Russian and can read both languages in less than 2 months as they start K class. While the school is highly academic, the kids do a lot of projects and learn through the play. It is just a great balance that is so hard to find. The classes are small - only 10-12 kids, so kids feel really special. The school is just everything I was looking for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

You cannot beat the value that this excellent school provides! It is very affordable, yet the classes remain small. Your child will get individual attention from the teachers. If there are any concerns at all, you will be the first to hear. The principal knows each and every one of the children and their quirks. I always get the feeling that everyone is interested in my children's success. The principal Eleonora Nayberg is highly enegertic and enthusiastic and stays on top of recent developments in education and implements all the latest trends to the advantage of our children. The after-school program offers homework help, chess, art, dance, LEGO and robotics classes, and other fantastics activies. Significantly, parents have similar values, prioritizing challenging academics. Don't be fooled by the small space because big things go on inside these walls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

I am extremely picky when it comes to education. But, as a new parent, I just have positive things about the school: the classes have a small number of students, teachers are very enthusiastic, and authorities know what they are doing. I changed jobs shortly after moving to the area and have chosen almost an hour commute each way rather than moving my child. Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

I used to go to this school, and I really loved it there. Wrote a poem about it too: Accepted I knew it was where I belonged, I felt so welcome there. Everything else was so unfamiliar, So different from where I came from. But there, I was just like everyone else, The same, but different, Different, but the same. The three years spent at that school Meant a world to me. The people there, Ms. Nelsen, My first ever English teacher, Who never gave up on me, And Olga Ianovna, The kind, caring kindergarten teacher Who made me feel warm and welcome When I felt like an outsider, And many, many more people, Who helped me be ready for the real world. That real world is a long while away, But when I get there, I ll know there are people out there who care. For everyone at RAIS school/summer camp :]


Posted June 24, 2010

The school is set apart from other San Francisco schools by its level of academic rigor and breadth of elective classes. The teachers are dedicated and energetic and the children are truly inquisitive, friendly and exceptionally well behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

Great school in sunset district As a parents, We were looking for a school that would give our children all needed skills for a successful transition into kindergarten than first grade and the social skills necessary to deal with life itself. We found that in the Russian-American International School. What a wonderful place to be a child! The school is extremely clean and beautiful with a large play areas. The classrooms are spacious and kid-friendly. The curriculum meets the needs of the children at their level. My daughters knows how to write, count, and read simple sentences in Russian and English which is very impressive. The creative projects kids create are amazing. Principal of the school arrange many special activities such as math, Spanish, Chinese, art, chess, dance, singing and fieldtrips as well. Kids participate in wonderful concerts for New Years, Mother's day and Father's day. Kids provided with daily healthy and nutritional meals. The warmth and understanding of the caring teachers and staff make this school a model for all others. Russian-American International School's teachers are devoted, loving heart that communicates to the children the importance of not only what they do but also who they are. This wonderful school has developed a program that nurtures the child's self esteem and development. Once you have visited the Russian American International School you will realize that you don't have to look further. The best for your child is right here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Not only does Russian American offer a great program during the academic year, the school continues as a summer camp during the summer break. The kids are closely supervised by regular teachers and attend a variety of fieldtrips (library, museums, theatres, etc) on a weekly basis. The summer camp at Russian American is safe, fun and is an excellent choice for parents who want a nurturing environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

My son has been going to this school since kindergarten and is going to start 2nd grade this fall. I am more that satisfied with this school. I am very impressed as to how much my son has learned since starting there. As far as I know it is the only full time Russian school in California. I have not heard of any similar schools in the rest of the states either. They combine both English and Russian school programs and even though the curriculum is intense, the dedication of the teachers and the individualized attention the students get makes it so worth while! The atmosphere of this school promotes healthy, friendly, study-oriented environment. The teachers are very responsive to any of our questions and concerns, and the child's individuality is always kept in mind while developing a course of action to any problem or concern. We love all our teachers- Ms. Olga, Ms. Hurley and Ms. Waters, and can't wait to see them this fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My both sons love the school. Teachers are amazing. They do many field trips to explore the world. I am very pleased...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

Wonderful teachers, many field trips, good after school programs. We love this school and so do our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

My son loves the school and we feel that it has really challenged him and supported him academically. He is just 5.5 years old , but he is already enjoying reading both Russian and English. I am very proud of his Russian skills as it improved tremendously with Russian-American school's immersion program. He also now loves math, and calculation is his favorite thing. The environment created by the faculty and staff is warm and respectful and I feel that children at Russian-American are very cared about as individuals.But teachers are what makes a school great, and they are all excellent.The extracurricular activities are very interesting,fun and exciting as well.The school has a few big performances and a talent show during the school year (http://russianamericanschool.blogspot.com) where all kids participate. It is the only truly fulltime Russian-American School in the Bay Area ,and I am proud my son is attending it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Our daughter is getting through the kindergarten and so far we've been highly impressed. This is a small school with highly dedicated staff and great in-school environment. Even though the name implies the Russian tilt to the education, I would dispute this notion. I would advise prospective parents to look at this school as a school were kids could learn additional language (in this case Russian, although they also have French, Spanish and Chinese classes if kids/parents are interested), rather than 'Russian school'. I suggest any parent who is looking for safe and effective, academically strong and well-rounded school environment for their kids to take a close look at this school. I am glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 94%
Asian 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 Quintara Street
San Francisco, CA 94116
Phone: (415) 665-5467

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT