Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dianne Feinstein Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 518 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

We've been at DFES for almost 6 years now, with a 5th grader about to graduate. Almost all of the teachers here are awesome and our kids have had a great educational experience. If you're looking for a LOT of homework and focus on teaching to the test, this probably isn't the school for you. However, if you're looking for a well-rounded education that doesn't only focus on classroom academics, DFES is a wonderful school. They now have an amazing Outdoor Ed instructor who teaches gardening and cooking with ingredients from the garden. There's always plenty of art, both visual and performing, activities to keep the kids engaged. My kids have also greatly enjoyed many science lessons. It is a caring community and we've made some fabulous friends with other families here. It's a great place to volunteer and I find that if you take the time to be involved, your experience here becomes more enjoyable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

My daughter started at DFES in Kindergarten. Mrs. Schroff worked with us to adjust our daughter to the new environment. She amazed all the parents by having her class (22 kids) put on The Cat In The Hat play. Ms. Small is my daughter s First Grade teacher. She tells me all things she learned at school. I think Ms. Small is wonderful she makes reading fun in her class. For example, the first thing my daughter did when she work up last Saturday was to read me her six Scholastic books. I am also amazed how nice the The DFES community is. The PTA members are very warm and appreciate any assistance. We enjoy going to the DFES community because it is like a family get together. We are very fortunate to have our child in this wonderful school. We never take it for granted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

After being assigned to a neighborhood school across the city, we waited until the SFUSD second "round" to get our first choice of DFES. We are very happy here; my son is in 2nd grade and he looks forward to every day at school. After being open for only 8 years, DFES was awarded the CA Distinguished School award. The teachers strive toward teaching "the whole child" - academic, physical, social/emotional. The principal recently wrote and won a grant for a two-year outdoor education/gardening teacher, and the yard is starting to flourish! Even though we have over 500 students, it feels like a much smaller community. I think this is because the teachers and principal go out of their way to see every student as their own. We've had a great experience at DFES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

DFES is a great school. It has a very caring and diverse community that puts a lot of time and energy into each child's well-being, education, health, and happiness. My daughter has flourished there. Academics are important, yes. But they also make sure that P.E., art, music, diversity, and learning how to live green are all explored. We feel very lucky that she is getting a well-rounded education and all for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

We are now in 2nd grade and are very pleased with DFES! Our son loves going to school and learning (and says he loves science in particular!) The school is good at social and emotional development as well as academics. Caring and kindness are incentivized and made part of the culture. The parent community is active and upbeat. There is something for everyone here if they choose to be involved. I've found the teachers skilled, as well as warm and friendly. I especially appreciate the UCSF science program he had in K, and am looking forward to the launch of Education Outside and the new school garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Dianne Feinstein Elementary School is an oasis for children and parents seeking excellence in primary education. Each grade level stimulates with standard and far-reaching curriculum. Teachers are individuals who each carry a value of continuity to extend through the grade levels from K-5. This continuity representing the personal excellence of each individual. Coaxing excellence from children at every level of the group, an individualized education for all is achieved throughout the student body. This is so difficult to achieve in these times of underfunding. However, at DFES, this is happening now. The parent group at the school are forever supporting to teachers and staff. Researching available resources and grants, parent volunteers work hard to establish excellence in expectations. Collaboration between the teachers and parents really make this community thrive. Join us and find out why so many are committed to working countless volunteer hours to see the best for every student in our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We are thrilled to be at this school! My child is really thriving there and her teacher is amazing. Her teacher is always available for discussion and quick to respond to emails. She e-mails weekly updates of what the class is doing, plus she sends pictures. I love that I can use that info to spark a meaningful conversation with my child about what she's learning in school. I volunteer in the classroom every week and I'm constantly impressed by the teacher's ability to keep the students (kindergarten) focused and make learning enjoyable! On top of the educational standards, the teachers/staff work really hard at building a caring community and teaching all of the children to be genuinely respectful of others. The PTA works hard to build a really supportive community too and it definitely shows! I do not have one negative thing to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

This is a great school!! My kids love it! Lots of parent involvement. Clean, safe, lots of extras like PE, art, computers, good after school program. Teachers are enthused and motivated. Couldn't ask for a better public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

We moved to San Francisco two years ago with a lot of trepidation and anxiety around where our two boys would go to school. We cannot afford private schools so outside of home-schooling, public schools were our only choice. Can I just tell you how lucky we feel to be a part of the Dianne Feinstein E.S. community? It is a true gem of school. My sons have felt safe and cared for and WE, as a family, have felt so welcomed. Principal Chang has done so much to make the school's environment respectful, caring and fun. I have seen firsthand how the teachers and staff have implemented positive changes in student discipline and school values. Inclusion here is huge. Nobody is left out. The school seems to strive for continual improvement and, as a parent, this puts me at ease because complacency breeds failure. Without a doubt this school is a winner!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Our son attends Dianne Feinstein Elementary School and is in 1st Grade. This is our second year at DFES and we absolutely LOVE it!!! We are SO grateful that our son is in this school and he is too. He LOVES going to school every day and is learning so much from the AMAZING teachers they have. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Dianne Feinstein ES has excellent teachers and awesome parent involvement. The school community takes a lot of pride in the education and learning environment of the students. We feel so lucky to have landed here for elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My kindergartner is happy and eager to go to school each day. Our whole family has been welcomed warmly into the DFES community. It's a bright and clean school with all kinds of activities and events. Thrilled that we get to spend the next six years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

My daughter just began Kindergarten with Mr. Aaron and so far it's been an amazing experience. He has been doing an excellent job communicating to the parents on a weekly basis and doesn't seem to mind when the parents linger in the morning for drop off. Looking forward to see what the rest of the school year has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

dianne feinstein elementary school Mrs. Chan is very unprofessional. They seem to punish parents and children who do not contribute money to the school.


Posted October 29, 2012

DEFS is a great school. The principal is a nice lady. Teachers are dedicated, responsible and caring. The school has a friendly and peaceful atmosphere. My kids love this school. They often receive books from the teachers and their classmates. The PTA is active and has many activities. The fall harvest carnival is a highlight of this semester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

There is a big bullying problem at this school and the principal does not handle it very well. Also a couple of disaster teachers that parents can't seem to rid of. The campus is great, but an unusual amount of families leave the school due to its poor leadership and problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

The School is A joke because the principle should be no more than a janitor at best!!!. No skills what so ever. I wonder why the school system is so broken? Because people like her are hired as Principles! No Leader ship skills. I don't know where to begin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

A day doesn't go by when I am not grateful that my two children are at DFES. We were welcomed into the school community as an incoming K family and the feeling has not changed three years later. The teachers & staff are dedicated & amazing (2010-11 API score just grew to 889, up 28 points!) and the Principal has been supportive whenever I've worked with her. It's amazing what the PTA & SSC has accomplished. We have a lot of dedicated parents who give their time to supporting & improving our school. Of course we could use more volunteers, but what school doesn't? We are so lucky to have such an amazing campus, too. Overall, we could not be happier -- more importantly, our children are engaged and thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2011

We have three children at Dianne Feinstein starting with the first year that it opened. It was an unknown and we took a chance. We became involved in the school immediately. We saw how the principal, the teachers, and the staff were dedicated to the education and well being of the children. We became involved in the PTA and watched it grow from a fledgling unit to a unit with a budget of $175K plus. The membership has grown to over 300 by the second month of this school year. The SSC is well attended and works with the PTA and the principal for the greater good of the children of the school. There is continuity in both the PTA and the SSC. We have three different children with three different needs and the school has stepped up to the plate for all of them. The teachers are dedicated both in and out of the classroom as some of them can be found in advocacy, community, and school groups outside of the classroom, working directly with the parents. Yes there are some politics. There are occasional teacher-parent-staff issues. But, for the most part, we love the school and our children cry when they can t go to school for any reason. We are sorry that this is not a K-8 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

DFES is a peculiar school. My child has been in the school since its first year and will graduate this year. My other kids went to a different elementary school. We switched to DFES because it was closer to our house and we thought a new start up at a Science and Technology based school would be fun. The first few years at the school were a mess. School organizations like the PTA, SSC, and afterschool program all faltered due to disorganization and infighting. Parent volunteers were scant and the community was fragmented. The Principal was clearly more reactive, than proactive. We figured that this was just part of the start up. Unfortunately, after 6 years at the school, nothing has changed. The Principal lacks big picture skills. The good to great teachers confine themselves to the classroom. The PTA is hapless. Parent volunteers are frustrated and by meager volunterism and a process-heavy PTA. This has resulted in a dearth of fun school events like plays, carnivals, science fairs. Incredibly, there is no Science and Technology emphasis as purported by SFUSD. However, as was the case on day one, the school is clean, new, and has loads of potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

892

Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

892

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females82%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students72%
Females79%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females83%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students80%
Females88%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females77%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females77%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females92%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state93%

Math

All Students81%
Females84%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state100%

Science

All Students85%
Females87%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 49% 11%
White 31% 27%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Hispanic 6% 51%
Black 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Environmental Excellence Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 1:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Chang
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 242-2532

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)

GLO at Dianne Feinstein Scholarship Program (after school program)

About the program
  • GLO is a child-centered, afterschool enrichment and academic program based on the premise that all children can and will succeed when offered learning opportunities that are inclusive of a wide range of learning styles that are adjusted to their needs and targeted to their unique strengths and assets. GLO offers every student a safe, structured, welcoming environment with programs structured around three key areas: daily academic support, diverse enrichment, and engaging recreational activities.GLO at Dianne Feinstein coordinates the after school enrichment classes that are provided through community partnerships with Inspire Music, Academic Chess, Mad Science, Playtime Gymnastics, Evolution Soccer, Allez Tennis, Lango Language Programs and Painting and Drawing with Crystal Herman. GLO at Dianne Feinstein also coordinates the after school Mandarin Language Program which takes place from Monday through Thursday for an hour.
Operated by
  • Growth and Learning Opportunities
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • 3-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Aptos Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 25th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94116
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 615-8460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Stephen School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT