Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Academy-Cambridge

Private | 5-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $423,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2012

At Silver, the teachers are genuinely encouraging, with the exception of a few, one of whom clipped her toenails and slept during class. At Cambridge, they try their best, but sometimes, even the best isn't enough. It's their system that makes Cornerstone below average compared to other schools, especially public schools. Cornerstone shelters its students to the point of being a "helicopter school." It teaches everything in a technical manner; math, science, writing were like any other math, science writing class at other schools. As a former student and family member of four former students, we can say that Cornerstone did not prepare us mentally for real life. Social issues are not addressed, and the teachers avoid these like the plague: racism, sexism, politics, other religions, and current events. Religions other than Christianity are brushed aside as if they don't exist or matter. Not to say that the teachers personally do not care, but that's the impression they're giving off. Not once in my ten years at both sites was racism or politics seriously addressed, especially during the 2008 elections. This school ignores the outside world and exists in its own little bubble.


Posted June 7, 2012

This is a Christian School. It DOES what it suppose to do - Let God be the first place!!! There is nothing wrong with it. Nobody force kids to believe the truth (they just guide them), and I wish they do force them, because it is the truth. Sooner or later, they/you will find out what is the truth of life. It is for your kids' benefit. My kid has been there for three years now, all the teachers from 3rd grade to 5th grade are excellent so far. They care, and they teach well! To be honest, they are sometimes better (care more) than the kids parents. We used to go to public school, the difference is huge! My kid is obedient to parents, study hard, respectful, and very kind. Most importantly he gets to know God from the teaching environment. There is nothing more I would expect from this school. I know most of the parents think the same way as I do, but they don t write reviews. If they do, the school will get 4.9999999 stars. I wrote because I was looking for school s phone number on the website, and just saw these unfair and nasty reviews. It truly surprised me. I decided to share the truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

Cornerstone is a good school academically. They have a good religious system. Teachers are trying to make class as good as possible. Many hands on activities and visual pictures or kids who need it. They have many programs you can join such as volleyball basketball track and field yearbook debate volunteer and such. They have great care and confidence in what they are teaching. Great meals and guidence for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Many of Cornerstone's good teachers are gone. I think that Cornerstone forces many students to believe in the religion. Cornerstone has many strict rules for the children to follow. Cornerstone's teachers today do not teach as well as those before. Many teachers are irresponsible and sometimes do not know what they are doing. We parents expect better teaching out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

i stuied in this school. i seriously dont think the teacher in there can teach. i think ms.all** has some mentally problem. seriously, she doesnt want us to graduate.


Posted August 19, 2011

NOT WORTHING PAYING SO MUCH BECAUSE THE SCHOOL IS OLD AND NOT GOOD. IT'S COSTING TOO MUCH.!


Posted August 18, 2011

It has a bad academic system and rules, most of the teachers are no good. The those discipline officers always make some funny rules with no reason at all. I was a student of Cornerstone Academy, and I had learnt nothing from this school, after one of the ESL teacher was gone.


Posted August 18, 2011

I am a graduated student from cornerstone high school, it is not a school at all, most of the teachers don't know how to teach. Yes, they have plans, but can't finish the plan. One of the English teacher said how hard, how good the class will be, but the whole year can't even finish a book. It is ridiculous. But the most ridiculous thing is the only chemistry teacher who keep talking with no sense and some of his "funny jokes". And rushing the book before the final.


Posted September 21, 2010

Too much time spent on prayer and bible study. English teachers speak english as a second language.( not very well).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Best years of my life were in Cornerstone. The teachers there are awesome and really care about your education, as well as your future life and what you're going to do with it. The curriculum is rigorous, but the teachers care enough to make sure you understand everything. Lunches are great, also. I'm now in the first year of high school, and everything is incredibly easy, though I'm in all honors classes, because my teachers have pushed me hard enough to make it so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2009

its school curriculum is a bit more advanced than other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Cambridge Street
San Francisco, CA 94134
Phone: (415) 585-5183

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillcrest Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Cornerstone Academy
San Francisco, CA


St. Elizabeth School
San Francisco, CA


Alta Vista School
San Francisco, CA



The San Francisco School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT