Advertisement

Jewish Community High School of the Bay

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $813,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

JCHS has plusses and minuses. Plusses: GREAT teachers and one of the absolute best theater departments in the country; also a wonderful sports program. It's a small community, which can be positive or negative depending on your child's needs. The academic program is rigorous and interesting for most kids. The school definitely helps the children become strong creative and critical thinkers, and the college guidance is awesome. Minuses: If you're not very religious it can be a problem. There are a few ultra religious pockets of the school that are not as welcoming to less religious Jews as they should be. Also, being forced to take several years of Hebrew (without an option for, say, Spanish) is problematic for many families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

My son is now in his senior year at JCHS. He has been very happy, and received a fine education in both secular and Jewish studies. We have minor complaints (who doesn't). Some of JCHS's pluses: this school serves the community - there is a solid middle class that is lacking at many independent schools; many wonderful devoted teachers who go way beyond what they need to do; a great theatre program, and a pretty reasonable sports program given the school size; the small size works great for some kids, less for other kids but it allows for an amazing intimate education with lots of perks from small class sizes, school journeys. I would recommend this school to anyone who is interested in a great school but you must accept that it is a Jewish school with a dual curriculum, so not for everyone - but even if you don't think you want that, it's worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

We find it difficult to believe that a parent had a negative experience with JCHS and especially Marsha Levin. She and JCHS have been amazingly accomodating, receptive and informative towards out family. We are extremely happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Phenomenal school in almost any aspect. If one thing is certain, it is that EVERYONE that comes back to visit says that they were completely prepared for college and everything it threw at them. This, mixed with the genuinely amazing we students have every day, makes JCHS a great place for any student in the Jewish Community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2011

My child applied for JCHS. All other independent private schools we applied to waived our application fee based on our family income; JCHS did not waive the $75 fee. Marcia Levin, Admissions, gave us the results of our admission in a rude and demoralizing voice message on our home phone!!! Wrote to the Head Rabbi to complain about the way we were treated, and received no response. Just can't get past the way that JCHS treated us. They might PRETEND to care about community, but it seems that they only care about their OWN community. No respect for others who don't fit into their little buddble. No Tikkun Olam here.


Posted August 27, 2009

The best school environment one could hope for. Fabulous, caring teachers, beautiful school building, everything well-planned and well-done. I am delighted with the education my daughter is receiving at JCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

What JCHS does best, is combine the incredible education with its amazing sense of community and awareness. It teaches its students (for which I am forever greatful) how to take advantage of all opportunities presented to them. The teachers always have their doors open and are ready to meet with students as soon as the students ask. They deeply care about each and every teenager at the school and will do everything in their capabilities to help them succeed. The school also promotes community service and leadership in a way that will prepare the students for the outside world. There are many leadership opportunities stemming from the many clubs and vaads (clubs with a community service theme) that JCHS offers. It is a fun way for students to learn and develop the leadership skills they will need for the future. JCHS really is setting every student up for future successes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

Wow. What a school. I would dare to say my daughter is getting the best education available in the SF Bay Area. I couldn't be more impressed at the quality of the instruction and the supportive environment. Amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

JCHS is an amazing school for a student to develop confidence, a sense of connectedness, and a sense of accomplishment from working hard in a demanding academic program. Standards are very high and by and large students rise to the challenge. The small school environment means students have ready access to many excellent teachers. All teachers make themselves available to spend extra time with students if needed, including traveling around the bay area to hold study sessions on Sundays with kids before exams! This school is truly a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

There is a kid at JCHS who got a perfect score in math in the private high school entrance exam and he could have got into any school. He chose JCHS because the warm environment is encouraging, the teachers are excellent, and the students feel a real sense of community. Also the sports teams are doing really well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

We have found that JCHS has worked well for our daughter. High-caliber secular subjects and challenging Judaic class have encouraged her development both as a creative writer and as a critical thinker. The small school has also given her the opportunity to participate in a number of extracurricular activities, including theater productions, the literary magazine, the student government and some sports activities. It is a great measure of the school's success that the students want to be at the school; they hang around after classes and have made the campus into their 'home away from home'. And they all feel safe at the school, safe to express their ideas, as well as personally secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

JCHS is an incredible high school with the most outstanding teachers one could ask for.Although it is a Jewish School there are students from all different Jewish backgrounds and from a varied socio-economic standing which makes for a very eclectic environment.The academics are rigorous and the students graduate after 4 years and attend some of the finest Universities/Colleges in the World.Each student is treated as an individual and their individuality is appreciated.JCHS has a very fine art program with individualized attention, and a drama department and director that would compare to any fine school.They continue to have growth in the sports department adding on many new sports each year. JCHS students are known for their school spirit and their involvement in their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 98%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1835 Ellis Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone: (415) 345-9777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gateway High School
San Francisco, CA


The Discovery Center School
San Francisco, CA


Wells (Ida B.) High School
San Francisco, CA


Drew School
San Francisco, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT