Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
160 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 4

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
JCHS has plusses and minuses. Plusses: GREAT teachers and one of the absolute best theater departments in the country; also a wonderful sports program. It's a small community, which can be positive or negative depending on your child's needs. The academic program is rigorous and interesting for most kids. The school definitely helps the children become strong creative and critical thinkers, and the college guidance is awesome. Minuses: If you're not very religious it can be a problem. There are a few ultra religious pockets of the school that are not as welcoming to less religious Jews as they should be. Also, being forced to take several years of Hebrew (without an option for, say, Spanish) is problematic for many families.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
My son is now in his senior year at JCHS. He has been very happy, and received a fine education in both secular and Jewish studies. We have minor complaints (who doesn't). Some of JCHS's pluses: this school serves the community - there is a solid middle class that is lacking at many independent schools; many wonderful devoted teachers who go way beyond what they need to do; a great theatre program, and a pretty reasonable sports program given the school size; the small size works great for some kids, less for other kids but it allows for an amazing intimate education with lots of perks from small class sizes, school journeys. I would recommend this school to anyone who is interested in a great school but you must accept that it is a Jewish school with a dual curriculum, so not for everyone - but even if you don't think you want that, it's worth a look.


Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
We find it difficult to believe that a parent had a negative experience with JCHS and especially Marsha Levin. She and JCHS have been amazingly accomodating, receptive and informative towards out family. We are extremely happy with the school.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a student
Phenomenal school in almost any aspect. If one thing is certain, it is that EVERYONE that comes back to visit says that they were completely prepared for college and everything it threw at them. This, mixed with the genuinely amazing we students have every day, makes JCHS a great place for any student in the Jewish Community.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 1

Posted February 28, 2011
- a community member
My child applied for JCHS. All other independent private schools we applied to waived our application fee based on our family income; JCHS did not waive the $75 fee. Marcia Levin, Admissions, gave us the results of our admission in a rude and demoralizing voice message on our home phone!!! Wrote to the Head Rabbi to complain about the way we were treated, and received no response. Just can't get past the way that JCHS treated us. They might PRETEND to care about community, but it seems that they only care about their OWN community. No respect for others who don't fit into their little buddble. No Tikkun Olam here.


Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
The best school environment one could hope for. Fabulous, caring teachers, beautiful school building, everything well-planned and well-done. I am delighted with the education my daughter is receiving at JCHS.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
What JCHS does best, is combine the incredible education with its amazing sense of community and awareness. It teaches its students (for which I am forever greatful) how to take advantage of all opportunities presented to them. The teachers always have their doors open and are ready to meet with students as soon as the students ask. They deeply care about each and every teenager at the school and will do everything in their capabilities to help them succeed. The school also promotes community service and leadership in a way that will prepare the students for the outside world. There are many leadership opportunities stemming from the many clubs and vaads (clubs with a community service theme) that JCHS offers. It is a fun way for students to learn and develop the leadership skills they will need for the future. JCHS really is setting every student up for future successes.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
Wow. What a school. I would dare to say my daughter is getting the best education available in the SF Bay Area. I couldn't be more impressed at the quality of the instruction and the supportive environment. Amazing school.


Jewish Community High School Of The Bay 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
JCHS is an amazing school for a student to develop confidence, a sense of connectedness, and a sense of accomplishment from working hard in a demanding academic program. Standards are very high and by and large students rise to the challenge. The small school environment means students have ready access to many excellent teachers. All teachers make themselves available to spend extra time with students if needed, including traveling around the bay area to hold study sessions on Sundays with kids before exams! This school is truly a blessing.

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay
no rating

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
There is a kid at JCHS who got a perfect score in math in the private high school entrance exam and he could have got into any school. He chose JCHS because the warm environment is encouraging, the teachers are excellent, and the students feel a real sense of community. Also the sports teams are doing really well!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jewish Community High School Of The Bay
1835 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (415) 345-9777
Last modified Jewish Community High School Of The Bay is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top