Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-3|Private
236 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stratford School - San Francisco 1

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
High staff and student turnover. The kids are not happy. The teachers complain. Not enough active outside play-time. A common punishment consists of the entire class missing recess. (Counterintuitive..it just makes the kids that much more rambunctious) While I appreciate the challenging curriculum, the teaching style is geared toward memorization rather than critical thinking. My child will get a perfect score on a spelling test for which we spent a week memorizing the words, later to be reading a story where a spelling word comes up and he has forgotten it. More current teaching styles make lessons relevant, by relating them to real life situations. The students really learn and retain the information better that way. The curriculum seems geared toward test questions rather than teaching our kids to be smart, thoughtful, creative, well-rounded people. Not money well spent.

Stratford School - San Francisco 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started pre-k in the middle of the school year. She immediately loved this school. Her teachers worked with her and with us to help her catch up. She is now in kinder and continues to say she loves her school. It is academically challenging, but the teachers do their best to instruct in a fun way. Kindergarteners have a weekly spelling exam and two math exams. All the staff greet the children and most know all the kids by name. The principals are wonderfully caring people who work with the children and parents. They do all they can do so that a child enjoys being at school. I am very happy to have my child here. I know she is getting an excellent education, where she can be herself and express her ideas. She has a strong caring relationship with her classmates and with other children in the school. I hope to continue her academics at Stratford even though it is a 30 min commute for us but it is worth the drive to know my child is happy and getting a great education.


Stratford School - San Francisco 2

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
I enrolled my son my son in stratford for kindergarden, and it was the most stressful year any parent could imagine. Stratford is not a school for children to teach children it is an evil corporation that eliminates children for not being perfect. It does not want or care for a complete child it only wants one thing a child it feels can test well and not have opinions or be an individual it wants robot children, who walk and talk in straight line and don't deviate from what they think is the Norm. Which when talking to a learning specialist concerned her.She said Stratford had unrealistic expectations,and flawed opinions of what young children should know. Can you imagine 2months into the school year that a school would say that you may need to find a new school because your child has poor penmanship or is reversing letters. He just started kindergarten, and they were already writing him off. Well by the end of the year my son was writing and kept up with the class he even tested above mid yr first grade on their star testing. Good right not for them his wring is not neat enough and he didn't test in 2nd grade level. If you send your child there be prepared for your child never to build relationships with other children because they have a high turnover rate of people leaving either by them or disappointed parents. they are like a sci movie where people disappear and never come back.Their is no sense of community children don't seem happy. They may have the quiet good students but they will never have leaders or people who create and think out of the box. I decided to send my child some place new that will help him flourish and guide, and support him, not write him off. Stratford does not have support for children at all, most other private schools do have some kind of support for students who may struggle with something. they do not, nor do they want to have one. It is also important to know that teachers do not stay there as well, the credentialed teachers leave because they too are not happy there. As I stated before it's corporate environment of stress and statistics,not of support and a true passion for teaching. Children are (a test score) not human beings. The last day of school 4 teachers/ caregivers asked me if he was returning, I told them he was not. They were genuinely upset and said my son was one of their favorite students and will miss him

Stratford School - San Francisco
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
I may not like the school administration, but I loved his teachers. They helped him and encouraged him, he learned a lot from them. They told me he was very intelligent, he may struggled with his writing but he was above with his social skills, memory, history. Skills you can't test in standard testing, or Stratford Testing.

Stratford School - San Francisco
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
There was a lot of home work but I felt it was it kept me in involved on what he was learning


Stratford School - San Francisco
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
No I do not. Respect would mean they value kindness and good citizenship above perfection. They do not!

Stratford School - San Francisco
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
I do not for the reason, it doesn't consider children as individuals but as a statistics. Emphathy would mean they would actually care for helping children and not look at them as liability of their perfect image.

Stratford School - San Francisco 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My daughter goes to Stratford school for a few year, and both of us couldn't be happier with the school. It gives a log of challenges in academics but all (most) kids don't have any difficulties follow the program. New topics are explained in "kids-friendly" manner so students can get it faster and remember for longer. They are definitely at least 1 year ahead of other students their age in public schools. They promote great discipline, sometimes maybe too much but I see big difference by looking on those kids that were difficult to calm down for even few minutes. Very clean and open classes, kids and their parents are great to deal with. I would HIGHLY recommend this school.


Stratford School - San Francisco 2

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
My child was entrolled in Camp Socrates and Kindergarten. The school is lacking strong leadership(horrible principal) and has very poor communication. It appears to be a very immature staff of teachers which maybe ok for preschool but horrible for grade school. The office staff seem very fake and probably talk about you as you walk out of the door. We left the program feeling as if the program let down our child and family. It also has a heafty price tag and no delivery! Not recommended!

Stratford School - San Francisco 3

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is enrolled in the Kindergarten Camp Socrates. She s thriving academically, but some basics are missing. They do not encourage basic hygiene - I wish they would encourage hand-washing before and after lunch and washing around the mouth after. They also added a new teacher after two-weeks without notifying the parents. The office staff has this sort of fake-pleasant attitude, but you feel like their rolling their eyes at you as soon as you leave as if you are always in their way. I also feel one teacher knows little about young children. She often looks frustrated and as if she can t wait until the end of the day and there seems to be no continuation between what was encouraged in pre-school (hygiene, expectations for lunch and snack). There also seems to be a lack of acknowledgement that some kids are experiencing Kindergarten for the first time, and may not know the expectations of recess and limited time for lunch! I hope the regular Kindergarten experience is better because my daughter really likes going to school and often comes home singing the songs she has learned.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stratford School - San Francisco
301 De Montfort Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (415) 333-3134
Last modified Stratford School - San Francisco is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
Top