Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
135 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alta Vista School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
I find the English teacher in particular to be an amazing asset to the school. She is warm, inviting, stern, clear, creative and strict, all in one.

Alta Vista School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My son had to advocate hard to do the science project he wanted to do, rather than just picking one out randomly off the internet. The teacher laid down some tough (but attainable) parameters, and my son was able to present and develop a project that he believed in and that also met the scientific standards the teacher needed to uphold. The whole process was one of deep learning for my son. My son put up a good fight and was able to explore on his own terms. The teacher really raised the bar for him in the process.


Alta Vista School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
For middle school, AVS offers a perfect balance of experiential and foundational learning. We came to the school from a great public school and have been deeply satisfied with the school's curriculum, its intimacy between student and staff/teachers and staff/teachers and parents, and the ease with which our son found his way socially.

Alta Vista School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
My child's teachers are excellent and effective. During parent teacher conferences I was surprised at how well they knew my child and the insight they have into his strengths/weaknesses. My child is growing in every subject, even math, where he is so strong that we feared he would be bored for the first few years of school.

Alta Vista School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
I'm not a fan of homework in kindergarten but I do find that the homework is brief and interesting. No worksheets at this school!


Alta Vista School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The school has school-wide engineering challenges that encourage kids to work on open ended projects where repeated failure is not only part of the process but actually celebrated (as a necessary part of growth). My own child has developed more of a growth mindset since starting at AVS. I feel like the teachers pushed some magic button that made my child willing to tackle things he previously struggled with/resisted.

Alta Vista School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The classes have 16 kids per class with two teachers. Because of the small group, the teachers are know each student very well and have managed to create a very cohesive, supportive and affectionate community in the classroom. The social emotional curriculum is strong and integrated across disciplines. I have seen my child develop more awareness of being a good member of the community since starting AVS.

Alta Vista School 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
Alta Vista is a unique school that truly stimulates creative thinking and problem solving while nurturing the whole child. There is so much to love about this school. The classes are small and the teachers are smart, engaged and affectionate. The academics are strong- among the strongest we observed in any school. The curriculum is rich and interesting. The kids not only spend time doing science EVERY DAY but they also have drama, art, music and Spanish. Social emotional learning is woven throughout the curriculum. The kids who go to this school are very bright and also very sweet. If you are looking for a school where your bright child who is fascinated with math, science and building will thrive, look no further!


Alta Vista School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had an amazing year@AVS,the teachers she had were very dedicated&dynamic,they really get to know your child due to the small class size.We are very excited for another fantastic year@AVS!Ed knows every child&welcomes them with a warm handshake each morning,what a nice way to start the day! Love this school!!!!

Alta Vista School 2

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Too many young, inexperienced teachers and managers and it's a problem. Too much inconsistency from year to year. Seems like the vision is lost as the school gets bigger. Been told that my kid is behind because it is a school problem, not a kid problem.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alta Vista School
450 Somerset Street, San Francisco, CA  94134
(415) 467-3700
Last modified Alta Vista School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Alta Vista School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top