Advertisement

Presidio Knolls School

Private | PK-8 | 175 students

Our school is a progressive, Mandarin-immersion school.

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $506,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2012

Our daughter has been at PKS for year and we could not be happier with the quality of care and education she is receiving there. Finding a Mandarin immersion school was important to me. But what sold me was the Reggio inspired progressive approach. The teachers and staff genuinely care about her and all of the children. The environment is happy, warm, encouraging, and nurturing. I am also impressed with the team spirit of the parents community at the school. We are delighted that our daughter is receiving a world-class education and keeping a happy childhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

Agree with other viewers' points. When I first started looking for a preschool for my daughter, my vision was a place that foster curiosity and creativity, encourage respect and responsibility, and develop meaningful friendships. After spending a year in the 2's class, Presidio Knolls has exceeded my expectation. My daughter has blossomed into an independent individual yet shows great care for others. She loves her school, her teachers, and her classmates. The parents are all highly educated and professionally successful people who share the passion of creating the best education environment for our young kids. The school cares about their teachers and really focuses on continous education for the teachers. The core teachers have set aside time everyday to review today's children progress and adjust the curriculum. In general, we are incredibly happy that my daughter is in Presidio Knolls and we are excited that with the new development of K-8, she can continue to blossom in this environment while mastering mandarin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

My daughter joined PKS a year ago in their 3 year old preschool class. She has really thrived at the school. The program is based on Emilio Reggio so is very child centric and inquiry based, which places a large demand on the teachers since they are developing new curricula all the time to match the kids interests. It is also a Mandarin immersion program. When my daughter goes on playdates with some of her friends, they speak to each other entirely in Mandarin the whole time! I have found the teachers to be excellent. There are three teachers in the classroom, so she gets a lot of individual attention. She has grown more confident, has developed her vocab and general language in both Chinese and English, and can now add and subtract in context. Simona is a very capable head of the preschool and Wendy is a visionary and charismatic founder. The school just hired a new Head of School who brings deep educational experience to launch the Elementary school. He founded a school in China, ran a Mandarin immersion school in the US, and holds a PhD in Education from Columbia. They fill me with confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Alfonso Orsini
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • None

Presidio Knolls School (after school program)

About the program
  • We provide the following as part of our Extended Care and After School Program: -Extended care from school dismissal until 6pm for current PKS preschool students After school extracurricular classes for current PKS preschool students Mandarin after school care for PKS kindergarten students and non-PKS students in kindergarten through 3rd grade After school extracurricular classes for PKS kindergarten students and non-PKS students in kindergarten through 3rd grade
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
Operated by
  • Megan Low
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 4:00 pm
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-3
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Website
Phone number
  • 415-202-0770

Presidio Knolls School Summer Camp (summer program)

About the program
  • Presidio Knolls School offers summer programs for: - Current PKS preschool students, or newly admitted students for Fall - Elementary school children (rising K through 3rd graders) Each session features field trips, special projects and music and art, providing a fun, natural and engaging way to learn Mandarin Chinese. Elementary students must have some level of Mandarin fluency already, or Mandarin must be supported in the home.
Types of activities
  • Arts
  • Athletic
  • Language
  • Science nature
Operated by
  • Megan Low
Dates offered
  • July 1, 2014 - August 15, 2014
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 9:00 am
End time
  • 4:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-3
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Before / after care
  • After
  • Before
Website
Phone number
  • 415-202-0770
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 13, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Preschool for All
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 10th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 202-0770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Spectrum Center, Inc
San Francisco, CA


De Marillac Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT