Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
175 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Presidio Knolls School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are awesome...I am so happy that my kids are attending this school, which blends progressive education with a strong Mandarin immersion program.

Presidio Knolls School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is student-centric and the amount of homework is not prescribed. Rather, the students work with teachers and parents to determine the way they learn new topics.


Presidio Knolls School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is unique in that teacher and staff work diligently to give students the tools to have fun learning and challenging themselves to go beyond traditional boundaries.

Presidio Knolls School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The progressive learning environment of the school provides a unique atmosphere for developing respect and learning new skills in ways that are very different from how I learned years ago.

Presidio Knolls School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The school really focuses on developing social emotional skills -- it is part of the fabric of all classes. In addition, last year they added Carin, a staff counselor, who invested significant time working with kids and families to proactively address challenging social emotional topics.


Presidio Knolls School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers take the time -- in large groups, small groups, and one-on-one sessions -- to work with kids to help them develop key life lessons.

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Our son has attended PKS since 2011 -- three years in preschool, one year in kindergarten and now he is entering the first grade. He loves the school, his teachers, his classmates, and even many of the parents of his classmates. The entire PKS community provides a loving and safe environment that acts as his fuel for learning. It is so comforting to see how happy he is at this wonderful school. Our daughter has attended PKS since 2014 -- she has really thrived in this unique learning environment where she can develop her Mandarin language skills and, more importantly, develop social emotional skills that are the foundation for future learning. It is great to see how happy she is at PKS!!

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
This is my daughter's second year at PKS preschool and we absolutely love it. She had a tough time adjusting to the school last year and the school director, teachers, and fellow parents reached out to her and me to provide lots of support and tips to ease the transition. Throughout the last academic school year, she grew leaps and bounds in terms of social emotional, self help, academic and language skills. The teachers are extremely loving, caring, and are always available for quick chats or talks in person or via email. The Regio approach and the curriculum are designed so that kids are constantly having fun but learning a ton. We were amazed at how much our daughter knew by the end of school year. Lastly the parent community is incredible. It's warm, welcoming, supportive and we've made some good friends here. We are so excited about the school and look forward to staying there for the long haul (it goes up to 8th grade)!


Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
The presentations that the teachers give to parents in the Spring showcasing the project based work that the preschoolers have done during the year always blows me away. The teachers are educated in progressive, constuctivist pedagogy and they are native Mandarin speakers. It's a killer combination!

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Our preschooler really flourished at PKS. The teachers are wonderful and warm. They really do care about the kids, and it shows! The student-teacher ratio is fabulous so there's always an adult there when needed, or simply just to do a project with. The teachers really follow the Reggio-Emilia approach, which is really very different than traditional Chinese/Taiwanese methods of teaching. However they do it quite well, in Mandarin, I may add, which I attribute to their dedication as well as the time the school also puts into teacher development. It really is a treasure of a school because I don't know any other place that could pull that off. The English level of the teachers is good, so you shouldn't have a problem communicating with them. The preschool director and the head of school are also quite excellent and professional. The most wonderful thing about the school is the parent community. The parents are very involved in many aspects of the school. The administration embraces this very warmly.

Nearby schools

Presidio Knolls School
250 10th Street, San Francisco, CA  94103
(415) 202-0770
Last modified Presidio Knolls School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top