Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
San Francisco, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Presidio Knolls School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are awesome...I am so happy that my kids are attending this school, which blends progressive education with a strong Mandarin immersion program.

Presidio Knolls School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is student-centric and the amount of homework is not prescribed. Rather, the students work with teachers and parents to determine the way they learn new topics.


Presidio Knolls School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is unique in that teacher and staff work diligently to give students the tools to have fun learning and challenging themselves to go beyond traditional boundaries.

Presidio Knolls School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The progressive learning environment of the school provides a unique atmosphere for developing respect and learning new skills in ways that are very different from how I learned years ago.

Presidio Knolls School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The school really focuses on developing social emotional skills -- it is part of the fabric of all classes. In addition, last year they added Carin, a staff counselor, who invested significant time working with kids and families to proactively address challenging social emotional topics.


Presidio Knolls School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers take the time -- in large groups, small groups, and one-on-one sessions -- to work with kids to help them develop key life lessons.

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Our son has attended PKS since 2011 -- three years in preschool, one year in kindergarten and now he is entering the first grade. He loves the school, his teachers, his classmates, and even many of the parents of his classmates. The entire PKS community provides a loving and safe environment that acts as his fuel for learning. It is so comforting to see how happy he is at this wonderful school. Our daughter has attended PKS since 2014 -- she has really thrived in this unique learning environment where she can develop her Mandarin language skills and, more importantly, develop social emotional skills that are the foundation for future learning. It is great to see how happy she is at PKS!!

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
This is my daughter's second year at PKS preschool and we absolutely love it. She had a tough time adjusting to the school last year and the school director, teachers, and fellow parents reached out to her and me to provide lots of support and tips to ease the transition. Throughout the last academic school year, she grew leaps and bounds in terms of social emotional, self help, academic and language skills. The teachers are extremely loving, caring, and are always available for quick chats or talks in person or via email. The Regio approach and the curriculum are designed so that kids are constantly having fun but learning a ton. We were amazed at how much our daughter knew by the end of school year. Lastly the parent community is incredible. It's warm, welcoming, supportive and we've made some good friends here. We are so excited about the school and look forward to staying there for the long haul (it goes up to 8th grade)!


Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
The presentations that the teachers give to parents in the Spring showcasing the project based work that the preschoolers have done during the year always blows me away. The teachers are educated in progressive, constuctivist pedagogy and they are native Mandarin speakers. It's a killer combination!

Presidio Knolls School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Our preschooler really flourished at PKS. The teachers are wonderful and warm. They really do care about the kids, and it shows! The student-teacher ratio is fabulous so there's always an adult there when needed, or simply just to do a project with. The teachers really follow the Reggio-Emilia approach, which is really very different than traditional Chinese/Taiwanese methods of teaching. However they do it quite well, in Mandarin, I may add, which I attribute to their dedication as well as the time the school also puts into teacher development. It really is a treasure of a school because I don't know any other place that could pull that off. The English level of the teachers is good, so you shouldn't have a problem communicating with them. The preschool director and the head of school are also quite excellent and professional. The most wonderful thing about the school is the parent community. The parents are very involved in many aspects of the school. The administration embraces this very warmly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Presidio Knolls School
250 10th Street, San Francisco, CA  94103
(415) 202-0770
Last modified Presidio Knolls School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Presidio Knolls School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top