Advertisement

San Francisco Brightworks

Private | K-8 | 20 students

Brightworks students embark on interdisciplinary projects with adult mentors.

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $675,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

This is the greatest school. * For my children. I am a life long learner, I educate adults and I'm on my second career in a high tech field. Your school is never going to teach you everything, your curiosity is going to cause you to seek it out. For most parents seeking a special experience driven with goals of bringing out each child's greatness, you owe it to yourselves to check into Brightworks. Once you reach outside of the public day care system we call public education, your needs can vary. This might not be the school for your dedicated ballerina or a mathematician phenomena that is going to require NASA engineers to even understand him never mind relate to her. I'm not normal and neither are my children, they are exceptional, but we live inside some normal boundaries and I don't personally know anyone to whom I would not recommend Brightworks. Honest Engine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

My son is in the youngest band at Brightworks, and we couldn't be happier. The community is wonderful. The mixed-age classes and small size means that he plays, works and is friends with kids from 5 to 15. The kids have embraced him as part of their community and he loves belonging. What he is learning is similar to any K-1 class. How he is learning is different. At Brightworks, the kids tend to delve deep into topics they find interesting and important. The math, science, literacy, is woven in. At a given time, all the kids in the school are focused on learning around an arc topic. But, the actual the work they do is developmentally appropriate for them. For example, during the Clock arc, the youngest were putting together see through pendulum clocks, playing with the springs, gears and pendulums to see how they worked, while the oldest band was studying the physics of pendulums. My son loves seeing the various projects that are parallel to his, but more advanced. My son loves Brightworks so much that he does not wants to leave at the end of the day. He also wields a mean drill. He's grown so much in his first 2 months, I can t wait so see what s next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We made the decision to enroll our son at Brightworks because we wanted him in a learning community that would help him grow into an active, engaged, and curious participant in the world, and because we view education as a support to those goals rather than education being the end goal itself. We want our son to attend college, but more importantly, we want him to understand why he needs to go to college. We want him to pick a major because he has curiosity and passion about that subject, and has actual experiences with experts working in that field before he arrives at college. We want him to know who he is, what he wants, what he is good at, what he is not good at, and not be afraid of who he really is. We want him to engage with people of all ages as equals, and to develop deep empathy for people different than him. We want him to spend his days around people who know him and love him for who he is, who model curiosity and learning in their own lives, and who develop deep meaningful relationships with students as real people and not an audience. Those are our primary goals as parents, and Brightworks is an amazing place to watch our son's path towards achieving them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My daughter has been at Brightworks form the very beginning, and it has been wonderful to watch her and the school evolve. At its heart, Brightworks promotes learning in its truest form, encouraging experimentation, tinkering, iteration, and even failure as a means to gaining knowledge. True to its mission, the school itself has experienced the highs and lows of learning as it has been established, modeling for students the way to augment, correct, reconfigure, dismiss, and ultimately triumph from myriad lessons. The experience of being a Brightworks family has made all of us more alert to and aware of possibilities in the world of learning. My daughter is a conscious and active participant in her education and is being taught how to be a passionate, lifelong learner. Brightworks doesn't look like other schools ("tried and true" and "well-worn" don't fit here and for good reason), but the innovation and curiosity which shape it infuse every aspect. Here she has learned to read, handle power tools, ask interesting questions of just about anyone, collaborate, do math, hypothesize, revise, seek challenge, make her voice heard and, most importantly...learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

My 9-year-old daughter has been at Brightworks since opening day. While there have been bumps as with any startup, it's been a an incredibly powerful experience for her. She's met and overcome more difficult challenges in her self-directed projects than she would at a middle school level in a typical program, and completed projects from performances to builds to research papers. I love the public speaking requirement as well, especially for a girl who might be able to get away with excelling quietly in a corner. The administration is sloppy at times (they would say so themselves) but they're working on it and what happens in the school's best moments is unavailable anywhere else. Brightworks is experimental not only in it's curriculum but in being set up as an experiment - it's evolving, and because of the topic-arc structure, every 3 months there's an opportunity to re-evaluate and improve. Like anything in its beginnings, it's not for everyone, but I can't recommend it highly enough if you want your child seriously challenged, taught to collaborate, and spending their days solving interesting problems...and of course if you enjoy experiments yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

Don't believe the hype. There is an enormous difference between running day camps, and running an educational institution. Note what the reviewer who gave the school five stars said, "As hyper-involved parents we make sure the basics are covered." I expect that any school will provide my children with the "basics" of education. The school believes that reading will happen just by being exposed to books. If you are seriously considering Brightworks, think long and hard about how interested you are in paying $21,000 a year to have your child be a guinea pig for a curriculum and structure based on pipe dreams, not on "well-worn and innovative progressive education methods." Examine the credentials for the administration and the Board of Directors. There is one educator on the board. Then there are practical matters. Don't hold your breath waiting for someone to pick up the phone or answer an email. The sole upside to the school is that there are some real gems in the community of families. But that isn't a reason to stay. We will not be back for the 2013/2014 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

My 10-year old has blossomed at Brightworks (curiosity, love of learning, autonomy). It's a brand new school incorporating both well-worn and innovative progressive education methods. As a new school all families are partners in helping it evolve, and it does not look like the school most of us grew up in. But just because the students aren't lined up in desks and watching the teacher give lessons all day, doesn't mean there isn't profound learning going on. Math, science, writing, reading, history are all incorporated through hands-on projects that make the subjects come to life. A 3 stage "arc" incorporates a) the exploration of a subject, including field trips, curated experiences and engagement with subject matter experts, b) child-led project formation and execution, and c) the presentation of projects to the community. Projects for my son included building a dwelling, inventing a virtual currency and marketplace, engineering a trebuchet, filming a stop-motion movie, producing a theatrical play, assembling a Makerbot from scratch. As hyper-involved parents we make sure the basics are covered. What Brightworks provides are invaluable real-world, maker-oriented experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 701-8702

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$20000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1960 Bryant Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone: (415) 701-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brightworks School
San Francisco, CA


St. Charles School
San Francisco, CA





Marshall Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT