Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This is our 5th year at MP - so that says something right there. Our daughter is happy, learning things way above grade level, and looks forward to going to school. The faculty is dedicated, caring and on top of their subject matters. The spanish piece is amazing - my daughter has a crazy good accent and her command of the language continues to leap ahead every year. The parent community is engaged, fun and spirited - always a pleasure to be around. We are very happy we found Marin Prep!

Marin Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a community member
The school sets students, parents, and caregivers on a path of successful learning, with a high expectation for sensitivity to community and the world around us. When we began with the idea of the school, we focused on skill sets we all need in the future, rather than focusing on current models to guide us. The children interpret Pisccaso, Michaelangelo, connect to the cloud, and perform pre-engineering while learning Spanish as a second language. We like to compare the learning environment to that of a Norstrom's Shopping experience when compared to other retailers, because you get a sense of the commitment to excellence we expect, and have come to enjoy.


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter started in TK at Marin Prep in 2012 and we've been thrilled with her progress. Simply put, she is thriving at this school. Class sizes are small and all classrooms have a lead teacher and an assistant teacher. This allows students to get focused attention. She is learning English and Spanish and we are amazed at the level of Spanish she has picked up in her three years at Marin Prep. The school uses the project based learning approach. The innovative teaching methods are amazing. Teachers focus on the interests of the children and capitalize on them to motivate their learning. For example, most of the kids in my daughter's classroom have become very interested in the Magic Tree House book series so the teacher created a book club focused on that to motivate reading. And the parents took initiative to build a tree house that is now permanently installed in their classroom, which is the perfect quiet nook for reading time. To quote one of my daughter's school projects, "My animal symbol is a butterfly because I changed from a shy girl to a confident girl." I credit Marin Prep 100% with her metamorphosis.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
We moved from overseas and while we looked at several schools, ended up choosing Marin Prep because we felt the warm and nurturing environment, a nice community, and the attention to individual needs at times which is needed that would be provided. We felt this throughout the admission process, but the wonderful thing is, the story post joining the school has been even better. There is such cohesiveness between the school and the parents. I feel there is great communication between the Head of the school, the teachers and the parents. As this school is building the years beyond 4th grade (the plan is to build to 8th), this community cares about making this place to be a great place that is inclusive. So many parents have reached out to see how we have been doing and to provide any help transitioning. The teachers have been amazing and there is such positive energy amongst all of them. Most importantly, our daughter is very excited to goto school and has transitioned very well. For those parents thinking of where to enroll their children especially after 5th grade, you may want to consider getting the kids earlier here as it really is a great environment that kids can thrive in.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in kindergarten at Marin Prep, and we just love the school. The teachers are nurturing and encourage learning beyond our expectations. The school is small and growing, so each student gets more personalized attention. Parents are involved but there s no pressure to be involved if you can t for any reason and beyond school, the after care program and school activities keep our son engaged and active. We couldn t be happier! Can t wait to see how the school develops as it grows!


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I have one child at Marin Preparatory School and am about to enroll a second. Marin Prep is a "newish" and rapidly growing school in a wonderful, central location in the city. The facility and classrooms are lovely (both Friends School and Live Oak launched in the same building, but Marin Prep plans to stay for good). The TK / kindergarten teachers and curriculum are universally regarded as amazing; we don't have direct experience yet with any of the higher-grade teachers. The Spanish-focused "infusion" approach of the school is maturing and becoming more programmatic across the school, and really does seem to cultivate strong language skills despite the lack of total immersion. Most importantly, the school feels like a warm, nurturing, and familial place to walk into every day. Everyone knows everyone else's name, the school administration is terrific, and the staff is becoming more tenured and more skilled as the school grows and evolves each year.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Marin Prep is a small school which feels like a bear hug for the children. Because of its size, it offers a very tight school community (parents, kids, teachers, administration). Principal Jeff Escabar has brought a wealth of experience from his 20+ years at Marin Country Day School to offer further stability and excellence to what is already a great school. It's unique values are the Spanish-language Infusion model (vs. Immersion), TK program, beatufully warm and sunny space, and most of the all, the teachers.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
Marin Preparatory is a warm and welcoming environment for students and parents. The teachers actively work to evaluate and improve how students are learning. Parents are engaged in helping teachers! raising funds and building a strong community. Teachers and staff integrate Spanish language and heritage both inside and outside the classroom. The Marin Prep staff and parents find new extracurricular activities for students. This is a wonderful school and a great community to belong to.


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
As we knew the public system would fail us, we applied to a few private schools. One of the other schools we had engaged with mentioned MPS and we went to check it out. It's been kind of surreal to be accepted to such an amazing school and community. We have been beyond pleased with the school! Our daughter is in a kindergarten class with 13 other students. In the few months that our daughter has attended MPS her reading has improved immensely and her Spanish is coming along nicely. Her teacher has created a really focused and balanced curriculum, so there is time for work and play. There is a strong parent involvement, with multiple ways to participate. I cannot recommend the school enough and look forward to seeing the school grow.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter started Kindergarten this year at Marin Prep, and we couldn't be happier. Thankfully, our preschool director recommended the tour. I immediately knew that it would be a wonderful fit for our daughter. It has a very sweet, happy and engaged feel when you walk through the front door. There, you are met with the fantastic and dedicated teachers and administration, and welcomed by the involved and warm parent community. But most importantly, our daughter chose the "Spanish school" during her visits, and two months in she absolutely loves her school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Preparatory School
117 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
(415) 865-0899
Last modified Marin Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Marin Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top