Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
We moved from overseas and while we looked at several schools, ended up choosing Marin Prep because we felt the warm and nurturing environment, a nice community, and the attention to individual needs at times which is needed that would be provided. We felt this throughout the admission process, but the wonderful thing is, the story post joining the school has been even better. There is such cohesiveness between the school and the parents. I feel there is great communication between the Head of the school, the teachers and the parents. As this school is building the years beyond 4th grade (the plan is to build to 8th), this community cares about making this place to be a great place that is inclusive. So many parents have reached out to see how we have been doing and to provide any help transitioning. The teachers have been amazing and there is such positive energy amongst all of them. Most importantly, our daughter is very excited to goto school and has transitioned very well. For those parents thinking of where to enroll their children especially after 5th grade, you may want to consider getting the kids earlier here as it really is a great environment that kids can thrive in.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in kindergarten at Marin Prep, and we just love the school. The teachers are nurturing and encourage learning beyond our expectations. The school is small and growing, so each student gets more personalized attention. Parents are involved but there s no pressure to be involved if you can t for any reason and beyond school, the after care program and school activities keep our son engaged and active. We couldn t be happier! Can t wait to see how the school develops as it grows!


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is in her 3rd year at Marin Prep and is flourishing. Her Grandmother is a retired 3rd Grade Teacher and can't believe the things these kids are doing already. And she's not easily impressed! The environment is so positive. Everyday offers something new and we couldn't be happier with how the faculty, parents and overall community are - it's academically and socially been just great.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I have one child at Marin Preparatory School and am about to enroll a second. Marin Prep is a "newish" and rapidly growing school in a wonderful, central location in the city. The facility and classrooms are lovely (both Friends School and Live Oak launched in the same building, but Marin Prep plans to stay for good). The TK / kindergarten teachers and curriculum are universally regarded as amazing; we don't have direct experience yet with any of the higher-grade teachers. The Spanish-focused "infusion" approach of the school is maturing and becoming more programmatic across the school, and really does seem to cultivate strong language skills despite the lack of total immersion. Most importantly, the school feels like a warm, nurturing, and familial place to walk into every day. Everyone knows everyone else's name, the school administration is terrific, and the staff is becoming more tenured and more skilled as the school grows and evolves each year.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Marin Prep is a small school which feels like a bear hug for the children. Because of its size, it offers a very tight school community (parents, kids, teachers, administration). Principal Jeff Escabar has brought a wealth of experience from his 20+ years at Marin Country Day School to offer further stability and excellence to what is already a great school. It's unique values are the Spanish-language Infusion model (vs. Immersion), TK program, beatufully warm and sunny space, and most of the all, the teachers.


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
We are in our second year at Marin Prep. Our daughter is a shy sensitive girl but really comes out of her shell when she is in school. It constantly amazes me how much she is reading now, all thanks to her wonderful teachers. She is also learning lots in math, science, Spanish, and social studies. We really like the small class size and the project based learning, which helps the kids learn about subjects through building projects rather than just completing worksheets. My daughter loves the arts and music programs. The teachers are all warm and friendly and are clearly dedicated. Our new Head of School, Senor Jeff Escobar, has lots of experience, coming from decades at Marin Country Day School. He clearly has a vision for how our new school will grow and has numerous contacts in the Bay Area to help make that vision a reality. One of the great things about being in a new school is that parents help shape the school's future. We really feel like we are active participants in our daughter's school life. We can't wait for the baby to start kindergarten there!

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
Marin Preparatory is a warm and welcoming environment for students and parents. The teachers actively work to evaluate and improve how students are learning. Parents are engaged in helping teachers! raising funds and building a strong community. Teachers and staff integrate Spanish language and heritage both inside and outside the classroom. The Marin Prep staff and parents find new extracurricular activities for students. This is a wonderful school and a great community to belong to.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
As we knew the public system would fail us, we applied to a few private schools. One of the other schools we had engaged with mentioned MPS and we went to check it out. It's been kind of surreal to be accepted to such an amazing school and community. We have been beyond pleased with the school! Our daughter is in a kindergarten class with 13 other students. In the few months that our daughter has attended MPS her reading has improved immensely and her Spanish is coming along nicely. Her teacher has created a really focused and balanced curriculum, so there is time for work and play. There is a strong parent involvement, with multiple ways to participate. I cannot recommend the school enough and look forward to seeing the school grow.


Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter started Kindergarten this year at Marin Prep, and we couldn't be happier. Thankfully, our preschool director recommended the tour. I immediately knew that it would be a wonderful fit for our daughter. It has a very sweet, happy and engaged feel when you walk through the front door. There, you are met with the fantastic and dedicated teachers and administration, and welcomed by the involved and warm parent community. But most importantly, our daughter chose the "Spanish school" during her visits, and two months in she absolutely loves her school.

Marin Preparatory School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter started in one of the 2 kindergarten classes this year and couldn't be happier- small class sizes, engaging teachers and staff, great communication between the head of school and parents. The Spanish infusion has been a really nice alternative to Spanish immersion. Our daughter has really enjoyed this aspect of it.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Preparatory School
117 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
(415) 865-0899
Last modified Marin Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Marin Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top