Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Scuola

Private | PK-8 | 140 students

La Scuola is an Italian International School • Pre-K though 8th Grade.
 
 

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $616,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

My son started at La Scuola last year in 1st grade, we couldn't be happier. The school is a gem, the teachers and staff love their jobs and deeply care about the kids. The integrated curriculum and project based learning approach is great. Kids are learning everywhere, in the garden, classroom, the city on field trips, art room. It is all connected & well planned. We are not Italian, but we wanted a good international education and the IB program really appealed to us. Since this is a startup school, I believe the leadership is a very good predictor of how well the school will continue to do as it grows. The head of the school is a brilliant, dedicated and energetic woman, she really understands kids and cares about what's best for them. She is very creative and resourceful and always finds solutions to any problem. The staff and the teachers are very competent, energetic, work very well together and engage the parents in meaningful ways. In my kid's previous school parents were treated as free resources, not at La Scuola. The community is very tight and each of us bring a different expertise. Most importantly my son loves going to school every morning, nothing beats that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

My twin girls first started in the pre-school program at La Scuola when they were three and a half and they are now almost seven years old in 1st grade. I am thrilled with La Scuola and my children are completely thriving. They love going to school and I love seeing them so keen to learn and so curious about the world. My daughters speak Italian and English and are able to speak confidently about projects they are working on at school. They have a wonderful and warm relationship with all their teachers, fellow students, Italian chefs and the admin staff. They fully enjoy the variety of art, math, science, music, literacy, gym and gardening aspects of their days and the wonderful Italian hot lunches too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Our son is in Kindergarten at La Scuola and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are amazing - highly qualified and experienced, warm and engaged. The approach - Reggio Emilia inspired and now orienting toward the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program (La Scuola is SF's first candidate school!) is very progressive, interdisciplinary, project-based - but also fundamentally a sound education rooted in deep knowledge of pedagogical theory and child development. After all, how many schools in SF employ a full time pedagogista? The kids are learning all of the requisites (and they are woven together in compelling ways to keep the kids engaged and to bring reading, math and science to life) and they also enjoy great extracurriculars such as gardening and soccer. The "perks" such as a hot homemade lunch everyday are not bad either! I am confident that our son will thrive and that his education here will provide him with a 21st century education and will make him a true global citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

This is our first school/child care experience for our 2.5 year old son and (being new parents) we were very concerned about making sure that he would be well taken care of, feel safe and have fun in the environment. La Scuola has proven to be a wonderful home away from home for him and he now races in when we drop him off. The school is deeply committed to their philosophy and to the children - I personally love their genuine belief that children should be respected and paid attention to, which is illustrated through their Reggio Emilia approach. The preschool is wonderful and they are in the process of expanding to K-8 (yay!). We are thrilled to be part of the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Note: this review is for the pre-school La Scuola, formerly known as La Piccola Scuola Italiana (LPSI). I sent my older child to LPSI for 5 years, until he went off to Kindergarten. My younger child is in his third year at La Scuola now, so I have 8 years of combined experience as a parent at LPSI/La Scuola. The pre-school, in its new since 2010 location, is an incredible place for a young child to explore the world and develop his social skills in fun and happy environment. The Italian immersion for us has been particularly important and La Scuola deliver on that. A unique and great advantage of the school is he amazing food prepared by the on-site, full-time cooks. These kids are so lucky and they don't even know it! On top of that, I would also mention the Reggio Emilia approach to early childhood education and the integral part of the environment. If you visited the school you know what I am talking about. The teachers are very caring and I also trusted La Scuola to be a very safe place, striking the right balance between ensuring the safety of the kids and at the same time allowing them to explore the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

i have a 3 year old boy who has attended La Scuola since he was a toddler (Spazio Gioco). I have found the teachers and staff to be incredibly caring and nurturing and they know the children-- their likes, dislikes, moods, needs. My son loves the food, the chef, the songs, the YARD, the garden and most of all, he loves learning. He is creative, social, curious and perfectly trilingual. What more could you ask for? ...A K-8 school that delivers the same goods-- and now they have one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

I have 2 children who attend La Scuola. We couldn't be happier with the teachers, administration, philosophy and facility. It is truly a gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I have two children attending the Pre-K program at La Scuola, it is our third year in the program. Everything has been great. My children love their teachers and are learning Italian very well. The Reggio Emilia approach to teaching is great and my kids seem to do very well with it. All the teachers and staff are well educated, experienced, caring and attentive to the student's needs. There's a Italian cook on site that prepares snacks and lunches for the children. Their table manners learned at school have been a blessing at home. There is a great parent community to support the teachers, school and each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This is for the new K-8. This is our second year at the school. We feel very involved in what's happening day to day and long term. It's definitely a startup, and has teething troubles now and again, but the teachers and the principal are devoted to the kids. As someone else said, the K-8 isn't Reggio Emilia per-se although it's clearly inspired by the constructivist ideas from that school region. It is applying to be an International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program school. Our kid is super happy there, and has grown tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

In response to the one-star review below, I disagree with the reviewer's assessment of the Reggio Emilia practices at LPSI. My daughter has attended the school since 2010 ( the first year at the "new" space) and both my husband and I are delighted with her progress. The teachers send weekly "momenti della vita" newsletters with pictures of the children, written transcripts of conversations between the kids and an overview of what the children were interested in that week. At each parent-teacher conference I was presented with several pictures of my child, along with samples of their artwork and projects, and suggestions for playdates. I'm unsure if the previous reviewer's child attends the preschool or the K-8, but the cornerstone of the preschool IS it's Reggio Emilia-inspired curriculum. By definition, Reggio Emilia education applies to preschool learning, so the elementary school is not Reggio Emila-inspired, but rather International Baccalaureate (IB), which promotes the same sort of explorative and creative learning as RE. Overall, we are immensely pleased with every facet of the school and are sending our daughter to the young K program in the fall. I highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I liked the idea of having an Italian full immersion in San Francisco . The school has great ideas of the immersion and the Reggio Emilia approach is great. The new building is well done and the community very nice. However I must say they do not apply what they want to be. The teachers are seldom Reggio Emilia trained and a parent can hardly understand if their children really develop their sense of exploration, imagination, creativity and collaboration. For example I was expecting that the teacher observed and documented the daily life of the school to make learning visible, (using a variety of documentation methods, such as cameras, tape recorders, and journals, to track children's thoughts and ideas as they play together or work with materials).about what my child was learning at school. But this never happened in this school. And I just learned that they are changing the teacher again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

Our two children attend preschool here and it is our third year in LPSI. This school has great leadership and an amazing and generous Community. Everyone loves the director. The teachers are ALL competent and loving. There has been some turnover but with great new additions. The brand new space in 20th and Tennesee is beautiful and inspiring. And all the children look so happy in their interactions with teachers, other children, and enjoying their surroundings, including their little garden. They eat organic fresh made Italian recipes, and seat at the table,with table cloth and silverware. What I love the most is how confident and inspired children can become there. I cannot be thankful enough to this school. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Amazing school. We have had our son here since pre-school. High level of quality focused on the child. A nurturing and provocative environment that excites and interests children in learning and discovering. The entire child is considered (not just the mind which is important) but the individual and his/her social involvement and interests. We are very lucky that this school is now continuing through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Italian
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Valentina Imbeni, PhD
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • admissions@lascuolasf.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • La Scuola is a member of various associations including the National Association of Independent Schools, the Bay Area Teacher Development Collaborative, CAL-ISBOA, Independent Schools of the San Francisco Bay Area (BADA), NAREA, NAYEK and ITP.
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAREA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • Working toward IB-PYP Candidacy
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Italian
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground

Dopo Scuola (after school program)

About the program
  • Dopo Scuola is an Italian after school program for elementary school children age 5 and over. The 2-hour class is an extension of the Reggio Emilia-inspired program at the preschool with special focus on project work, which may include art, building projects, gardening, cooking and drama. DS is an Italian enrichment class with hands-on projects that foster creative and critical thinking. Last but not least DS is a wonderful way for children to meet old friends a make new friendships.
Types of activities
  • Arts
  • Italian, Cooking, Projects
Operated by
  • La Scuola
Days offered
  • Tuesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:30 pm
End time
  • 5:30 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-4
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Visit website
Website
Phone number
  • 415 558 9005
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our vibrant and diverse international community inspires critical thinking, creative expression and fosters lifelong passion for learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

728 20th Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 558-9006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

AltSchool - Dogpatch
San Francisco, CA



Live Oak School
San Francisco, CA




Rise Institute
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT