Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
82 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 176 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alvarado Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The AASP is actively working to implement a new anti-bullying program. Additionally they offer regular staff training on topics relevant to educating young kids.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Alvarado is a wonderful school, which we are proud to be a part of. We have 1st grader in SI, who comes from an English-only speaking family, but his Spanish language skills are already quite good, after just 2 years. He still struggles with reading and writing, but is getting the additional tutoring he needs via the school, paid for by the PTA. His teacher this year, Sra Rengifo, is amazing. She is firm yet loving with her students, and they all work very hard to please her. Although Alvarado is not without it's problems (loss of the vice principal position due to changes to SF-USD's attendance min requirements, 2nd new principal in 2 years, high turnover in the after care program), we still feel that the school is a very good place for our son, and our family. The PTA is very strong and active, and raises large sums of money to support extra curricular programs, including arts, math, science, PE, computer literacy, tutoring, music, outdoor garden education, etc. for the students.


Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a student
My daughter is in SI kinder. I'm blown away by how amazing Alvarado is. Her reading and writing skills have improved tremendously and is now completely bilingual. The kids are also exposed weekly to science, art class, computer class, music, gardening and outdoor education, etc. It's amazing all the extra programs this school offers, the festivals, fairs and events are also really fun and great for the community. The PTA is amazing and parents are very involved and supportive. We haven't even been here for one year and already feel part of a strong, diverse and loving community. Both principals are wonderful, and the teachers are so inspiring. We are so lucky that we got into our first choice, very thankful for being part of Alvarado.

Alvarado Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Teacher morale which is visible in the classrooms. I hear a lot of teaches want to leave as they are burned out by the school administrators micromanagement style.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
I am not sure where the previous reviewer draws his or her information, but Alvarado is not at an all time PTA membership low. That's silly. Moreover the PTA raised as much money as ever last year - money that translates into a wealth of excellent enrichment and remedial programs, including extra literacy and math tutoring for large segments of the school population. Have doubts? Look at how Alvarado's test scores have come in over the past several years. No school is without issues. Decisions about how to integrate and manage the after school program left some people bitter and anxious to criticize the whole community (I wonder if that is reflected in certain reviews). There are questions about "smart" kids being under-served as attention is steered primarily to kids that need more help - but I would say this has improved as well. And no, the two most distinct "communities" are not completely integrated. Welcome to the human race. But nor are there giant chasms between us. Alvarado is a happy place with a caring, diverse community and a positive energy, and the school continues to improve and perform exceedingly well academically. We feel lucky to be there.


Alvarado Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
There isn't much of a community feeling or welcoming environment at Alvarado anymore. It is at an all time PTA membership low and the parent leadership is not very responsive. There's been a sad shift in the population and sadly there's fewer of us volunteers willing to deal with the obstacles to do anything anymore. Hopefully in two years things will turn around as I think PTA term limits have limits.

Alvarado Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
Jilma Ortiz is an incredible teacher and one of the highlights of my kids experience at Alvarado. She is the perfect combination of caring, dedicated and firm and brings out the absolute best in all of her students.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
My two boys went through the Spanish immersion program at Alvarado and I couldn't have been happier with their experience as well as ours as a family. Wonderful dedicated teachers, diverse and engaged community, and really nice kids.


Alvarado Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
Strong Spanish-immersion program with very dedicated and inspired/inspiring teachers. Very diverse but divided community. It is hard to bring together such different groups: Spanish-speaking, low-income immigrant families who are struggling to survive in SF and the very wealthy Noe Valley homeowners who seek out the school because of its proximity to their million dollar homes or desire for Spanish immersion. (Yes, there are many families in between who often serve as a sort of "glue"...) Brand new principal and assistant principal seem out of their depth and haven't yet earned the respect of teachers and parents, but that may come with time.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a community member
Hay my name is Camille Personius and i am in 7th grade and i went to this school. It is a grate school for kids to learn and it has grate teachers as well, i would have never know the things i know now if i had not gone to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvarado Elementary School
625 Douglas Street, San Francisco, CA  94114-3140
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 176 reviews. (415) 695-5695
Last modified Alvarado Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top