Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 535
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 75 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


137 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alvarado Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
Strong Spanish-immersion program with very dedicated and inspired/inspiring teachers. Very diverse but divided community. It is hard to bring together such different groups: Spanish-speaking, low-income immigrant families who are struggling to survive in SF and the very wealthy Noe Valley homeowners who seek out the school because of its proximity to their million dollar homes or desire for Spanish immersion. (Yes, there are many families in between who often serve as a sort of "glue"...) Brand new principal and assistant principal seem out of their depth and haven't yet earned the respect of teachers and parents, but that may come with time.
3 people found this helpful

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a community member
Hay my name is Camille Personius and i am in 7th grade and i went to this school. It is a grate school for kids to learn and it has grate teachers as well, i would have never know the things i know now if i had not gone to this school.


Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a teacher
Alvarado Elementary School has teachers that focus on students with a higher ability and ones that may need more help. Alvarado has a Spanish immersion program which is excellent and really improved my daughters spanish, as well it has an english program too. Two things that I would tell everyone about is the art room with Ms. Tremblay and the computer lab with Mr. Bianchi. In art they do clay to drawing and everything in between. Overall when my daughters graduate from Alvarado, no mater what happens to them I know they will always remember this school.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
Alvarado is an amazing school. The students treat each other kindly, the parents are incredibly involved, committed participants and fundraisers, and the teachers are dedicated, talented and top-notch educators. We love Alvarado!

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
Excellent public school in a great neighborhood. Strong leadership/Principal, very good teachers, compassionate and supportive community. Fantastic after school program (GLO) with enrichment and sports. Lots of fun PTA clubs (chess, knitting , skateboarding etc). Love morning circle- where principal , teachers, parents make school announcements - great way to feel a part of the community. Lots of money raised through PTA. Families encouraged to participate to school thru volunteering (and/or financial support). And everyone is invited to share their gifts and talents with the students or in the community We have a daughter who graduated from Alvarado and is graduating from middle school, and a son graduating from the fifth grade. We will all miss Alvarado and feel fortunate to have been a part of this great school !
1 person found this helpful


Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
One of the best public K-5s in San Francisco. Great teachers, involved parents and fantastic kids. Raises an incredible amount of money through the PTA and the quality of education and experience for the kids is superb.

Alvarado Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
We have been pleased with many aspects of our daughter's education at Alvarado. Overall, we feel Alvarado has an excellent cadre of teachers who are well qualified and care about their students. Especially, parents' involvement is remarkable at Alvarado, what has led to a strong and vital PTA. A bit more emphasis on creativity based education, in my opinion, would push this school into the outstanding range.
2 people found this helpful

Alvarado Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
My son will be graduating in May '14 and we will be sad to leave Alvarado! He has had experienced, caring teachers each year, and has loved the PTA-sponsored after-school clubs, especially chess. Teachers in the lower grades are nurturing, just what you want for the wee one's first few years of school. There are literacy breakfasts in Kinder (wear your pj's!), including breakfast, and a take-home book. My son was in a 4/5 split class last year, and was sufficiently challenged, with several written reports assigned, which students presented in front of the class (parents too). While I wouldn't say it's racially diverse (really just Caucasian and Latino), it is most certainly economically diverse. Is it perfect? No such thing IMHO...but Alvarado is a very good example of a high-functioning urban public school.
1 person found this helpful


Alvarado Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Alvarado is an excellent school. The parent body is very motivated to raise funds to supplement the education and so we get more arts, gardening, science... The principal is extremely accessible and responsive. So far (my daughter is in second grade) the teachers have been tremendous. We've been very happy here.

Alvarado Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a community member
I went to Alvarado for 6 years, K-5th grade. I am currently finishing my 8th grade year at Aptos Midde School, and will be attending Lowell next year. Alvarado really helped shape my path to good grades and success through middle school; they had a strong parent to teacher to student program, helping young children in every aspect of life, including learning a second language, spanish. My years at Alvarado were truly spectacular, and any child attending there will be nourished by loving teachers, amazing arts programs, and a positive vibe.
4 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvarado Elementary School
625 Douglas Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
(415) 695-5695
Last modified Alvarado Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alvarado Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 137 reviews. Top