Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aptos Middle School

Public | 6-9 | 991 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I am an incoming 6th grader this coming fall 2014. I look forward to improve our PTA funding. Which will help our school to improve our with extra safety patrolling our school during the morning, during our lunch time especially when we have 991 almost 1000 students having the same lunch time period. It would be awesome if we have extra faculties monitoring students. I also wanted to mention Aptos Middle school had become a great school over last few years. We hope to improve on our extra curriculum, like the school band, art, and after school program for students who absolutely needs help on their school work. WE'RE PROUD TO BE APTOS MIDDLE SCHOOL KID.


Posted February 12, 2014

I don't really know if I should say yes, it's a good school, or no. I have always had good grades, until seventh. I had the hardest math teacher, and he's really hard. I started asking questions, but he'd answer me with another question. This school can be full of bullying, also. I have been bullied here, and I mean the staff acts like they'll help us feel safe, but in reality, you don't. I went back to General Education for eight, and well .. everyone believes I'm "smarter" than everyone in class, but if I were to be,I wish they'd let me prove I belong in the Honors Class. It also may depend who you may hang out with.. This school should improve by caring more of bullying, and students' grades.


Posted August 23, 2013

its fun and all of the teachers are awesome even the princeabal.alsoevey kid is cool to every body nice,and awesome


Posted April 23, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Aside from a small handful of staff who appear to be trying their best despite limited resources, the school seems to have no handle on how to address bullying issues despite numerous anti-bullying posters scattered about. Safety is a huge concern here and staff seem either unable or disengaged to stop the violence, perhaps because there seems to be an entire culture of these sorts of behaviors rather than a few perpetrators. The honors program is also ludicrous. The supposed honors math/science teacher does little but put on children's movies during class times or check facebook or text. Students are allowed to play cards as well as other games on handheld electronic devices during class times. After a semester of math, our child fell so far behind in the honors class that we had to hire a private tutor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

I currently go to this school and both my two sisters went to this school and liked it! my sisters still visit Aptos and I will too when I leave. Aptos is great, it's fun and we learn a lot!


Posted March 19, 2012

I'm currently in 8th grade right now. When I started middle school in the 6th grade, I felt really uncomfortable with the environment and diverse community. But as the year went on, I felt more adapted to the environment and the students weren't as horrible as I thought they would be. The teachers were very supportive and want you to be successful. If you're looking for a middle school, this is the perfect school for your kid. My favorite teacher was Mr. Addiego. He was a truly good teacher and actually taught you the material that you needed to know!


Posted May 25, 2011

Jazz band, regular band, orchestra. Great studio arts teacher. Theater productions. (Many Aptos students go on to attend School of the Arts.) Some really strong science, math, and history teachers--possibly my kids were lucky, but the ones they had were really good. Their classes were good preparation for Lowell. Strong sports teams (make the playoffs or championships in most sports). Really, really diverse student body, the most balanced in the city. A truly dedicated and popular new principal this year. Free afterschool program with enrichment and homework time. Lots of community activities. Active parent group that keeps growing. Beautiful building with refurbished auditorium, and great location next to a park that is just up the hill from the K train. It's a crazy time for parents as the kids are, well, middle-schoolers, but this is a great place....wish I had gone to a school like Aptos when I was in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I've had a student at Aptos for a full school year and so far, I'm amazed at the school quality. The teachers are incredibly engaged. The principal and staff have been supportive. And compared to other schools my daughter has attended, the PTSA is active, inclusive and focused on things that make a difference to the students and their education. I'm thrilled has gotten such great opportunities from a school in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

great school teacher help you and the kids are so nice there and also the pricipal is just the best


Posted August 22, 2010

Our son is a 7th grader at Aptos. We are very happy with the quality of the teachers and support staff. We could not ask for more. The band program is AMAZING, the lunch program is wonderful (he eats!) and he is doing quite well and is learning and excelling at his studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My kid loves it and he is doing so well, the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Honestly, Aptos has been a non-stop nightmare since my son began eighth grade. I am shocked that there are children who have had positive experiences in this poor excuse for a school. Apathetic teachers, poor leadership, and constant chaos. From faculty and staff who ridicule children who are in emotional pain to students who have turned their school into an incubator for worse things to come, Aptos is a pretty sad example for the SFUSD. My husband and I were unable to hear the speakers during our daughter's eighth grade graduation in 2008 due to the extremely rude and obnoxious audience of parents. Shouting, talking, and even blatantly carrying on a cell phone conversation during the presentation! Where do these people come from? Read previous reviews to catch a glimpse of the poor writing skills that are acquired at Aptos. Do NOT send your children to AptosMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

hey yall out there.want to find a great high skool. well for me i think Aptos is a great one. im in the 8th grade and graduating this year. All the teachers i have were very experienced and has a kind heart.One issue is that kids should stop the grafftie and the gums stickings all over the floor and under the table. Aptos is getting a remodling and the 3rd floor is done plus the groung floor caferteria and the girls bathroom plus the gym and the gym locker rooms.they haven't gone to the boys bathroom yet but the will in the summer.the 2nd floor toward the 3 staircase is done and they are remodeling the #1 staricase right now.I had a fun time at Aptos and will miss all the teachers, friends, and classmates i met.Trust me Aptos is a really great skool.- Angela.GO Tigers Rrawrrrrr! CLASS of 2010!!! ROKS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

I'm an 8th grader at AMS, I've been here for the past three years, and I got through my bad times and my good times, learning from everything. I love it, it really changed me. I learned from all the different surroundings, the teachers really helped me. They were willing to help you during their lunch time, and afterschool. I would seriously recommend this school to kids from 6th-8th grade !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2009

This is my son third year at Aptos. I can tell anyone that Aptos is a very good middle school for children. My son is not a smart boy. When he was a 6th grade student, he got 3 point GPA. Although he was in honor class at that time, 3 point GPA is not good for an honor student. He is very lucky since he has great teachers hepling him. His GPA have improved every term from a 3 Point GPA to a 4 point 7th grader. Now, he is a 8th grade student, and he keeps getting As. I am highly recommend Parents chosing Aptos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I love Aptos. The teachers are really helpful and are willing to stay after school to help with work that you are struggling on. I will be graduating next year, and I am sure that I will miss all of the great teachers I have had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

Aptos overall is a good school! The principal and teachers are very passionate about teaching the kids and keeping the kids in line! This is a big school! There are only three grades and over a thousand students! There are alot of other schools that have half the students but the rating is very low..Kudos to the faculty!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I got to aptos and I absolutely love it I highly reccomend it to anyone looking for middle schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

i find it nice, except for the following things: -the 80 year old gum on the floors all the time -tendency for kids to chew gums and not dress -failure to clean up after themselves during lunch (always the 8th graders...sigh...) -rowdiness of class(mine tooP) -rudeness -thieves
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2008

Aptos is a great school, I have tons of fun, friends and the teachers are okay, except for a few who are pretty mean (thanks god I don't have them) The school lunches are really awesome too. :) I recommend Aptos to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

818

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

818

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 25% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 16% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated/Coordinated Science I

The state average for Integrated/Coordinated Science I was 26% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males57%
African American48%
Asian77%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state49%

Math

All Students55%
Females54%
Males57%
African American24%
Asian78%
Filipino55%
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females70%
Males62%
African American43%
Asian80%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students62%
Females73%
Males53%
African American24%
Asian87%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students45%
Females52%
Males38%
African American6%
Asian65%
Filipino36%
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented71%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state42%

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females76%
Males68%
African American58%
Asian79%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state69%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Females84%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state86%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students72%
Females72%
Males71%
African American50%
Asian88%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Science

All Students78%
Females74%
Males81%
African American58%
Asian88%
Filipino68%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Integrated/Coordinated Science I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 43% 11%
Hispanic 30% 51%
White 14% 27%
Black 6% 7%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Speech and language impairments

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • J. Douglas Dent
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 333-9038

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Speech and language impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Transportation options
  • MUNI 23 KT

Aptos Middle School Afterschool Enrichment Program (ExCEL Program) (after school program)

About the program
  • Stonestown YMCA provides enrichment, recreation, academic support, and field trips to students in grades after_school_grade:6,after_school_grade:7,after_school_grade:8 every day after school.SFUSD ExCEL afterschool programs ensure involvement of teachers from students' schools to make sure that afterschool academics are aligned with the school day curriculum. Every school with an ExCEL program partners with a nonprofit community-based organization to run activities and build bridges to the neighborhood.
Operated by
  • Stonestown Family YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:25 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 6-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Website

Summer program 1

About the program
  • Sixth Grade Step Up Program Program will provide a one week orientation to middle school program for incoming 6th graders
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Life skills
Operated by
  • SFUSD
Dates offered
  • June 3, 2013 - June 7, 2013
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 6

Summer program 2

About the program
  • Each program has an academic, enrichment and physical activity component. The programs are based on a youth development model and include project based learning activities. The summer programs are operated by community based organizations that are contracted by SFUSD to provide the services based on grants to the school from California Department of Education. Each organization has a site specific enrollment process. Priority enrollment goes to the students from the school site. Students from other SFUSD schools are eligible to apply though in many of the elementary schools there is more demand than available slots. Funding changes year to year and program offerings change.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
Operated by
  • Stonestown YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Aptos Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94127
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 469-4520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Voice of Pentecost Academy
San Francisco, CA


St. Stephen School
San Francisco, CA





Wen Jian Ying School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT