Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
It's the only school in the District that is in session in July. There's a strong feeling of community there, and although the District struggles to fully fund the schools to support the full complement of programs, Argonne's PTO does everything possible to raise the funds needed to ensure the kids have additional support to keep class sizes manageable, enrichment activities and programs, and additional after school enrichment options which include a variety of classes, Chinese and Russian language programs, Richmond District After School Collaborative, and the Richmond Y.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
We spent a ridiculous amount of time visiting schools all across the SFUSD before we applied for the lottery. We had heard good things about Argonne before our visit, and after our visit it was at the top of our list. (We were, of course, both shocked and delighted when we got a spot.) While we have to drive across the park to get there, Argonne has been everything we hoped for and then some: Our son is now a 1st grader, loves the extended school year, is flourishing in the Chinese after school program, and has been extremely happy with all his teachers and classmates. Enrichment is, well, rich, and there are fantastic programs throughout the year as a result of the support of the strong PTO.


Argonne Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Principal Okubo is FANTASTIC, and (no surprise) she has been able to build an amazing team of teachers and staff at the school.

Argonne Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic Staff and Administration are fostered by a supportive PTO and an extended school year that allows for extra training, support and enrichment..

Argonne Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent staff and administration are always ahead of the curve, and constantly seem to get the balance right between implementing new programs and keeping students focused by not disrupting with too much change.


Argonne Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about homework in general, but I think Argonne gets it about right.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Argonne is a fantastic school with wonderful staff and teachers and a dedicated parent community. My two boys (1st and 3rd grades) have loved it at Argonne.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
A school is only as good as the strength of the partnership between committed, present parents, and a staff that is supported by the district, the leadership and those parents. Argonne has all of this going for it. The PTO is a large group of very talented and active parents; so many wonderful things have come to fruition as the direct result of their hard work. Our new Principal (2011-present) is a delightful chapter in Argonne's story. She is bright, cheerful, caring and so engaged. The children love her. It is surprising Argonne averages four stars, and is rated 8 of 10. Perhaps it's a reflection of the former Principal. She'd been driven out of another SF school and somehow hired at Argonne. She would have been removed if she hadn't resigned under pressure after only four months in her role as Principal. Hopefully this gives readers some perspective on the reviews in 2011.


Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters at Argonne and every morning they are happy and excited to go to school. They are both thriving academically and socially and enjoy the many benefits that come from having a Principal with great leadership skills, an amazing PTA, great teachers, a new and beautiful school, many opportunities for in and after school enrichment, an excellent after school program (rdsac), and a longer school year with many field trips built in.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartner at Argonne and could not be happier. Great teachers, great parental involvement (via active PTA and otherwise), now joined by a great principal whose initial appointment last fall (2012) has been made permanent. Facilities are new and getting even better with the new playground structures and new gardens. Enrichment is solid with the PTA-raised money helping to pay for some which is beyond the district's budget. While we do miss the Russian language teaching which was offered 2 years ago, Russian and other languages and activities (science, music, etc.) are offered on site after school for a fee. Great after school care is available too through YMCA, RSDAC, Chinese after school care (all on site), and a bus which goes to the JCC (we have been happy with the Y).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Argonne Elementary School
680 18th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94121-3818
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (415) 750-8460
Last modified Argonne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top