Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


61 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
A school is only as good as the strength of the partnership between committed, present parents, and a staff that is supported by the district, the leadership and those parents. Argonne has all of this going for it. The PTO is a large group of very talented and active parents; so many wonderful things have come to fruition as the direct result of their hard work. Our new Principal (2011-present) is a delightful chapter in Argonne's story. She is bright, cheerful, caring and so engaged. The children love her. It is surprising Argonne averages four stars, and is rated 8 of 10. Perhaps it's a reflection of the former Principal. She'd been driven out of another SF school and somehow hired at Argonne. She would have been removed if she hadn't resigned under pressure after only four months in her role as Principal. Hopefully this gives readers some perspective on the reviews in 2011.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters at Argonne and every morning they are happy and excited to go to school. They are both thriving academically and socially and enjoy the many benefits that come from having a Principal with great leadership skills, an amazing PTA, great teachers, a new and beautiful school, many opportunities for in and after school enrichment, an excellent after school program (rdsac), and a longer school year with many field trips built in.


Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartner at Argonne and could not be happier. Great teachers, great parental involvement (via active PTA and otherwise), now joined by a great principal whose initial appointment last fall (2012) has been made permanent. Facilities are new and getting even better with the new playground structures and new gardens. Enrichment is solid with the PTA-raised money helping to pay for some which is beyond the district's budget. While we do miss the Russian language teaching which was offered 2 years ago, Russian and other languages and activities (science, music, etc.) are offered on site after school for a fee. Great after school care is available too through YMCA, RSDAC, Chinese after school care (all on site), and a bus which goes to the JCC (we have been happy with the Y).
1 person found this helpful

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
Argonne is a fantastic public elementary school in the Richmond neighborhood of San Francisco. We've been thrilled to have our daughter attend Argonne. It boasts a skilled a devoted team of teachers, an energetic and creative new principal and a caring and engaged parent community. Our daughter is thriving and we couldn't be happier with the school.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
Argonne is one of the best kept secrets in the SFUSD! As the parent of a 2nd grader and a 4th grader, I can attest to the well-balanced education my children are getting at Argonne. We have committed and wonderful teachers and support staff, a phenomenal principal, an extremely supportive parent and family community which devotes time, energy, service and financial resources to make Argonne a wonderful school for all students. The extended year calendar provides students more opportunities for enrichment activities, such as art, PE, dance, chorus, science and garden education, as well as field trips and project-based learning. We love Argonne!


Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
My kids started kindergarten this year. I was already impressed by Argonne in the tour. Now, I am blown away by the parent involvement, dedication of PTO, teacher commitment and the new principal. My twins are in separate classes, and both teachers are excellent. The kids have tons of activities outside of the standard curriculum, such as computer lab, chorus, dance, PE, art (parent-led Art in Action), field trips, gardening, and more. The year-round schedule (four and a half weeks of instruction for grades 1-5 and two weeks for kindergartners) gives the teachers more time off during the year, which helps keep them "fresh". Because there are two, summer, kindergarten sessions, the teachers can focus on getting to know only eleven students at a time, and kindergarteners can acclimate to a new school with less chaos. One of my children is slow to adjust to change and new situations, so this time (and the added structure we will have in the future) was excellent. And, we ll still gives us plenty of time for summer vacation! Our family already feels part of an excellent community, and look forward to our years at Argonne.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
This school has the most talented, committed and caring teachers you will find anywhere. My daughter's kindergarten teacher was unflappable, experienced and nurturing. Kindergarten was everything I had hoped it would be for her. We have had excellent teachers every year. My daughter is a bright child with strong math and verbal skills. She has been challenged and engaged throughout her experience at Argonne. Teachers strive to meet her academic and social needs. This year, we have a new, charismatic, responsive, knowledgeable and effective principal. Principal Okubo builds relationships with all of the families, teachers and staff. She is one of the best principals in the district. We are lucky to have her! We have an extended school year, so we have an additional 5 weeks of instruction every summer. By the time the regular school year begins, our kids have already adjusted to their new grade level and teacher and are already meeting the academic challenges of their grade. Students do not suffer "summer learning loss." We have a welcoming and friendly parent community with a strong culture of involvement. We provide myriad volunteer opportunities that fit into any schedule.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful things are happening at Argonne Our new principal, Ms. Okubo, has brought amazing leadership to our school. She is kind, intelligent, energetic and works well with the teachers and our parents. Most important, she loves the kids. We have bright and passionate teachers, involved parents and an extended school community committed to education. Our new garden is in bloom and serves as an outdoor classroom, our new play structure is an exciting addition for the kids. At this point we think Argonne is one of the best schools in SFUSD. If you are looking for a school in SF, come take a tour and see what is happening at Argonne.


Argonne Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Great teachers, great and newer facility, great parental involvement. Wonderful after-school options (we love the Y run one). The Russian language teaching is also a nice bonus (not immersion at all); however the grant funding for that may end this school year (2011-12). The only other hesitation, keeping this from a 5 star review, is that the old principal left in summer of 2011 and the new one has not been embraced by the teachers and parents (and vice versa). That said, we parents have been told that she will be transferring out this summer of 2012, so a 3rd principal in 3 years should be starting Fall 2012. Fingers crossed, if it is a good fit than this is an incredible school.

Argonne Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
Our son started kindergarten here this year. We feel very fortunate to have this public school option. The teachers are outstanding and with a new engaged principal we hope the school continues to improve. The PTO is very active and creatively raises lots of funds to supplement horrendous budget cuts - kids get art, music, Russian language, PE and they fund reading specialists and class size reductions in the upper grades. The school building is among the nicest in the city and our son heads off to school excited and happy every day. The challenges these schools are facing are unprecedented but this school works hard to make sure the kids don't feel it. This public has it all: expansive library, large school yard, computer lab, clean well-lit art-covered walls and an experienced and caring faculty. The year around school year is not for everyone though so people should look carefully at the commitment of 5 extra weeks of classroom time but that extra length allows for lots of field trips and extracurriculars fit into the year in a way you don't usually see with the state mandated testing being the number one focus. We are happy to have gotten in; most families feel the same.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Argonne Elementary School
680 18th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94121
(415) 750-8460
Last modified Argonne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Argonne Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top