Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 4

Posted October 18, 2015
- a community member
SFSOTA is a creative hub with rigorous academics: students go to next level in ELA program, and are doing differentiated, integrative math with CCSS. Also am grateful to see integration among programs through performance opportunities.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 3

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
My child is loving this school, and though she has late nights for heer discipline, she never complains. I'm sad Todd Wedge is leaving, and have hope that his replacement will continue with the same quality of instruction. I also hope that school board continues to allow out of districts students to participate in this wondereful school.


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, student body and parent leadership! My daughter is in the great Visual Arts Department.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
My child is loving this school, and though she has late nights for heer discipline, she never complains. I'm sad Todd Wedge is leaving, and have hope that his replacement will continue with the same quality of instruction. I also hope that school board continues to allow out of districts students to participate in this wondereful school.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
SOTA is a fabulous school! My child has been studying here for the past two years and each year I ve noticed staff making improvements. We are so pleased that several advanced placement courses were added to the curriculum this year. Adding challenging subjects allows our teenagers to be more engaged, and it shows that SOTA admin are paying attention to parent feedback! Additionally, the quality of the artists-in-residence program is remarkable. If you have a talented kid who is academically motivated, you should absolutely put SOTA on your list!


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
SOTA is a great school! When my son was in middle school, every morning was a struggle just to get him out of bed for school. Now that he is at SOTA, he eagerly looks forward to joining his teachers and friends each day. The talent of the teachers and students is incredible. Some of the academic classes are still quite a challenge for my son but most of his teachers try to help as much as they can. We haven t heard of any drug problems within our department because our son's vocal teacher has a strict policy that drugs are an absolute no. FoSOTA is the nonprofit group that raises money for the school. They help keep the art programs in operation. My son went on the vocal trip to NY this January and FoSOTA was instrumental in making the trip a reality for all the kids in the department. The campus facilities are worn but most of the spaces work well enough for the classes. The performances are amazing! If your child is interested in auditioning, you should definitely go see a few shows. Our overall experience has been wonderful!

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 4

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This is a free public arts high school with lots of talented kids applying. They don't all get in, it's not that you're kid isn't good or anything, there's just a lot of talent out. For every one spot, I think about 4 - 8 students apply depending on the department. So the school has a reputation for drugs, it doesn't have a bigger problem than any other school, but here, they talk about it to the parents and students. Their test scores are the 2nd best in the district, right after Lowell. Think about it, Lowell only takes the best, we take the most talented and they push for education here, not just the arts. Some of the teachers are awesome and go above and beyond to help their students, some just suck. It happens in every school. The PTSA is great here, they try to keep families involved by bringing programs such as how apply for college, talks on drugs, internet use, it's all good stuff. They also do a lot of school activities like staff cookie boxes for the holidays. As always there's tons of school politics and it's sad but it mainly falls under on group FOSOTA which is basically do it's their way or no way. I think with the politics parents don't get as involved.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school for students art, music or theater talent. We live an hour from the school and could not imagined any other school for him, Highly recommend it!


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Amazing team! Motivated and engaged PTSA. Kids are happy! what more could a parent ask for?

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is a jewel of San Francisco. Everything about it - the size, the care and understanding of teachers, the spirit of the student, the incredible artwork and student projects.....this school is very special. My son is very proud to be going here and I am grateful for this opportunity for him.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School.
555 Portola Drive, San Francisco, CA  94131-1616
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (415) 695-5700
Last modified Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top