Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


73 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
SOTA is a fabulous school! My child has been studying here for the past two years and each year I ve noticed staff making improvements. We are so pleased that several advanced placement courses were added to the curriculum this year. Adding challenging subjects allows our teenagers to be more engaged, and it shows that SOTA admin are paying attention to parent feedback! Additionally, the quality of the artists-in-residence program is remarkable. If you have a talented kid who is academically motivated, you should absolutely put SOTA on your list!

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
SOTA is a great school! When my son was in middle school, every morning was a struggle just to get him out of bed for school. Now that he is at SOTA, he eagerly looks forward to joining his teachers and friends each day. The talent of the teachers and students is incredible. Some of the academic classes are still quite a challenge for my son but most of his teachers try to help as much as they can. We haven t heard of any drug problems within our department because our son's vocal teacher has a strict policy that drugs are an absolute no. FoSOTA is the nonprofit group that raises money for the school. They help keep the art programs in operation. My son went on the vocal trip to NY this January and FoSOTA was instrumental in making the trip a reality for all the kids in the department. The campus facilities are worn but most of the spaces work well enough for the classes. The performances are amazing! If your child is interested in auditioning, you should definitely go see a few shows. Our overall experience has been wonderful!


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 4

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This is a free public arts high school with lots of talented kids applying. They don't all get in, it's not that you're kid isn't good or anything, there's just a lot of talent out. For every one spot, I think about 4 - 8 students apply depending on the department. So the school has a reputation for drugs, it doesn't have a bigger problem than any other school, but here, they talk about it to the parents and students. Their test scores are the 2nd best in the district, right after Lowell. Think about it, Lowell only takes the best, we take the most talented and they push for education here, not just the arts. Some of the teachers are awesome and go above and beyond to help their students, some just suck. It happens in every school. The PTSA is great here, they try to keep families involved by bringing programs such as how apply for college, talks on drugs, internet use, it's all good stuff. They also do a lot of school activities like staff cookie boxes for the holidays. As always there's tons of school politics and it's sad but it mainly falls under on group FOSOTA which is basically do it's their way or no way. I think with the politics parents don't get as involved.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school for students art, music or theater talent. We live an hour from the school and could not imagined any other school for him, Highly recommend it!

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Amazing team! Motivated and engaged PTSA. Kids are happy! what more could a parent ask for?


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is a jewel of San Francisco. Everything about it - the size, the care and understanding of teachers, the spirit of the student, the incredible artwork and student projects.....this school is very special. My son is very proud to be going here and I am grateful for this opportunity for him.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
My child is thriving at SOTA. While not every academic teacher has been a perfect fit for her, the great majority are engaging, encouraging and excellent overall. The heads of her artistic discipline (Theatre Design and Technology) are wholly dedicated to the students. They demand the very best from each child, and get it. Staff and administrators are responsive to any issues that come up. In addition, the culture of the school is unique. Frequent performances and exhibitions in all disciplines make up the core of social life at SOTA. The best aspect of the school is the young men and women in action, expressing themselves and supporting one another. There are no stars on GreatSchools to measure that important area, but I'd give SOTA an "11".

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
I am sure that the previous comment is posted by a prankster of some sort. It just doesn't read like an actual comment by a teacher. A teacher would probably spell "Principal" correctly at least. I find Carmelo to be an excellent administrator. Easy to talk to, low drama, intelligent and a straight shooter. I guess this site can't do any fact checking or prevent anonymous posters from posting falsehoods.


Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a student
Best school in San Francisco! I love going there! All the teachers are great, most are like personal mentors! I have friends at other schools in SF, most hate them, but I love going to school! Also, the classes are really not as easy that people say. The academics are very challenging.

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
SOTA has great positives and some negatives. The academics are excellent - only if you are in Honors and AP. You can get a great education here if you take that track. If you don't, expect to get into the California State University system or City College. My son did great, but some did not. Parent participation is key. Some teachers are fantastic, but some really do not teach well. Be a pro-active parent. My child was in theater and the teachers were negative and arbitrary in some ways. They seemed to bear grudges in a manner inappropriate and unprofessional. Perhaps they are burned out. There was still much that was terrific, unique, stirring, exceptional. You will be stunned by the sheer talent in these programs. No school is perfect. All in all, I would do it again.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School.
555 Portola Drive, San Francisco, CA  94131
(415) 695-5700
Last modified Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Asawa (Ruth) San Francisco School Of The Arts, A Public School. Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. Top