Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 494
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
I went there its bad school I got bullied there the teachers didn't do anything about it bad school

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
C sar Ch vez Elementary reflects the diversity of San Francisco's Mission district, displaying fabulous murals and having a rigorous bi-literate teaching program that addresses the needs of English Learners in a warm, nurturing environment. The seismic retrofit will transform the physical space to match the enhanced goals of the faculty and staff to produce scholars and future leaders.


Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Cesar Chavez is a special school. The community is wonderful and vibrant. The staff care deeply about students and they work tirelessly to change outcomes for students. The school faces many challenges such a large size for an elementary school, mostly ELLs, recent immigrants, and families facing extremely challenging situations. People who come here really want to be here.

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Cesar Chavez Elementary is a wonderful school! The children are bright and eager to learn, and the staff is caring and dedicated. S se puede!

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 4

Posted October 09, 2011
- a parent
I would also add that I spend a lot of time on the campus since my daughter is pre-k and so young, and I have never seen bullying or unhappy children on the grade school playground. The children happily play organized games and the music classes ( yes, they have music classes!) bring their instruments out to the playground at lunch. I know that 80% of the students in the grade school are Spanish speakers, and that may bring standardized test scores down, but there is mo reason this school could not have a better reputation. It is safe, peaceful, with an active parent presence, and a dedicated staff. Less than a mile away, the Spanish Immersion school is becoming a very diverse, and very popular school. But Cesar Chavez, which has many strengths, is suffering from a poor ranking and is unable to attract requests from nearby neighborhoods. The magnet program is amazing and should be noted as an asset to the neighborhood.
1 person found this helpful


Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a teacher
It once was a great school. . .unfortunately due to polictics and heavy administration, it got lost in the shuffle. Perhaps the forced closure will help save it. It needs to live up to its name again.

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 4

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
Cesar Chavez is a wonderful school! The instructor are very good and my daughter is thriving there. I would like to see diversity though, as it seems that 90% of the kids are Latinos and segregation is never good.

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2006
- a parent
Observed an excellent first grade class - 19 cute kids kept busy in language arts; very thorough lessons offered. Kids were disciplined and seemed happy to learn. Bustling atmosphere; lots of support for non-English speakers.


Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 2

Posted October 13, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2005
- a teacher
STAR School Spanish Bilingual Program Principal very accessible Hard Working Teachers Garden Program.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School
825 Shotwell Street, San Francisco, CA  94110
(415) 695-5765
Last modified Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chavez (Cesar) Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top