Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
John Yehall Chin is a great school. My son just transferred to this school during the 5th grade. Ms. Annie Luu is an excellent teacher. She is extremely attentive to all her students and she is strict with her homework assignments. Although she assigns a lot of homework, the students love her! The principal, Mr. Lee, is outstanding also. I am sorry I did not start my son at this school during kindergarten.

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
My child is still afraid of the administrators at John Yehall Chin. We were attracted by JYC s high test scores and thought the discipline would be a positive, but on two separate occasions, our Kindergartener was threatened by different members of JYC staff. We saw our talkative and inquisitive child learn to stop asking questions. For children who quietly sit down to receive instruction and don t stand out too much, it seems to work. For our child, attending John Yehall Chin was a year to try to forget.


Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2013
- a community member
Excellent, but the after school leaves something to be desired. Excellent, dedicated teachers and [mostly] good kids with minimal bad eggs. The principal is kind but strict. I've enjoyed my 4th and 5th grade here.

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2011
- a parent
After changing two private schools for my child finally we found academically better school and at no cost. We are very happy with teachers, school staff and kids are disciplined and nice. They also have an excellent afterschool program and every morning professional karate lessons.

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a community member
As a former student of John Yehall Chin I must say I wouldn't have had my elementary years at any other school. The teachers were challenging but the work was reasonable. The principal took the time to learn every single students name every year. Even now when I go back to visit he remembers my name & I see him saying "Goodbye, see you tomorrow ____" to every student.


Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2008
- a student
This is a great school in San Francisco.All the teachers are kind and nice.They will get your child really smart fast!!!

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 4

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
My child will be in the 1st grade this year. In my experience and observations, I have to tell you how impressed I am with the dedication of the principal mr. lee. He looks out for every student. He, mrs. lam and the other teachers knows each students names. Being new to the school my husband and I felt like part of the school's family. Our son's teacher is so great! I volunteered at school so I got to know mrs. tina lee and the students in room 207. She is soft spoken, kind and firm to the kindregarteners in her class. My son enjoyed writing in his jounal. Which he learned everything from writing his name to composition etc. He made many fun school projects were so happy to see. My son enjoyed computer, music,drama they had a play too. Maybe sports will be in the near future.

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School
350 Broadway Street, San Francisco, CA  94133
(415) 291-7946
Last modified Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chin (John Yehall) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.