Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
98 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 140 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This school has a very invested community energy. Parent, staff and students model compassion and tolerance. At a recent Family Assoc. meeting middle school students confidently articulated concerns for inequality for minorities in a city and community growing more gentrified. Very Impressive. The weekly community meeting hosts "appreciations" for staff and students at school. This place is amazing.

Creative Arts Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ron Buchanan stands by current research and best practices for children in early education (up until third grade developmentally) and insists that homework be delayed for our kindergarteners and first graders. My child learns more during the day than by completing mindless worksheets...instead she PLAYS after school!!! Thank you, Ron!


Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
Fantastic leadership with Fernando as principal and HIGHLY involved parent group. The arts curriculum with drama, music and PE incorporated is amazing. Don't think many private schools could provide this

Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
CACS is run very well. The administration is caring and talented. The staff is exceptional. The community is engaged and strong. The aftercare program is really great as well. Children are treated with respect and so are the parents. My daughter is in 2nd grade.

Creative Arts Charter School 2

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
I had two children who attended Creative Arts. For one child, this turned out to be the perfect school. For my other, this turned out to be the worst school ... so bad that I had to withdraw this child and transfer to a different middle school. The good: there are some excellent teachers left here. It is a small school allowing good interaction and fostering community. Great project learning is done here. If your child gets in a good group of friends, these are some great friends who will probably be lifelong friends. The bad: It is a small school. If your child gets in a bad group of friends, there's nowhere else to go. The ugly: Unfortunately, the administration is really, really bad. The principal has a horrible rapport with students: they fear him, and not in a good way. He belittles them. He is detached when he should be involved. In times of crisis, he will not be present for your child. His leadership is so poor, that almost any quality teacher has chosen to leave the school (super high turnover rate, check it out).


Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Our son is too happy. Yes, there is such a thing and it s quite the sight. He is ecstatic about school, and asks me every single morning which art class he will have that day (he hasn t memorized his art schedule yet) and he counts down the days until Monday every Monday his class goes to Golden Gate Park to learn in nature. His exceptional teacher takes the class into nature and teaches things that are difficult to teach within the confines of a classroom and the kids are thriving. She sends us weekly updates with photos and videos of all the fun our kids are having and how much they are learning. Our son can t stop singing songs that he learned from music class, he talks about theater as if he were a professional actor, is excited about homework, and has blossomed as an individual. This school is AMAZING! We love it. If you don t want an exceptionally happy child, don t apply, don't even look at the school. ;)

Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is in first grade after a fantastic kindergarten year. The experience she is having seems unique and exceptional. It's hard to know where to begin in describing why we feel blessed. One obvious thing the project-based arts-rich curriculum -- our daughter gets dance, theater, music, and studio art every week. All of them. Art is woven through the curriculum, and made a way of understanding and engaging the world. CACS practices 'looping' so she has the same teacher and room as last year. So her class hit the ground running! The community is very strong. There is a sense that people are committed to the school -- and watching out for each others' kids. It feels like a co-op. This leads to things like the one unified afterschool program, available to ALL students. That 'watching over' part is important to us. The emotional safety of students is a high and self-evident priority at CACS. That ripples through the way conflicts are addressed at every level. The emotional safety, the sense that CACS grows good humans... and inculcates a love of learning... and a respect for curiosity -- and for one another... those are the things we love!

Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
Remember when you were in middle school and the majority conformed to whoever and whatever was popular? Imagine a school where nonconformity is the norm. That s Creative Arts. Every student works hard on developing who they are and praised for it. I attended the 8th grade graduation in May and all the students were so proud of their individualism. All who attended could clearly see future innovators, nobel laureates, rocket scientists, artists, writers, and goodwill ambassadors. If you have a chance, attend the graduation, it s intimate, fun, emotional, and it s a great window into what the community is like and how your child will develop if they attend CACS. From the first day of Kindergarten until their last day, students are encouraged to think outside the box, create, invent, and problem-solve. They are challenged and enjoy learning. My son will graduate next year and it will be hard to find a high school that will even come close to matching CACS. We feel incredibly lucky to be a part of the CACS community.


Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Why CACS is such an amazing school: the incredible and loving community, the service learning days where students go out in the community and help others, the camping trips where students and families bond in nature, the dynamic, creative, and hard working teachers, the innovative projects students create every day, the art, dance, music. and theater performances the community work on and display in a variety of ways, the dedicated administration, and the phenomenal art specialists. We love CACS and feel so lucky to be part of this beautiful community.

Creative Arts Charter School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
If you are seeking a small community where it feels and operates more like a family as opposed to a traditional school then this is the school for you! Every child, including my daughter, feel they are being educated by aunts, uncles, mothers, fathers, grandmas and grandpas -- this is because every child/family is an integral part of the community. Creative Arts students are loved, respected, and looked after by every single staff member in the building. This is what I love about CACS and I am very grateful for. My daughter, who in the past, had a very difficult time with transitions and new situations, transitioned into Kindergarten seamlessly because she felt she was with family from the first day of school and felt that her individuality was a beautiful and an important addition to the school. I also admire that the every child at CACS feels freedom on a daily basis -- they are free to be themselves and encouraged to explore and work on their relationships with their peers, their teachers, their family, their neighborhood, and beyond. I can t imagine a better community for a child to grow and learn in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Creative Arts Charter School
1601 Turk Street, San Francisco, CA  94115-4527
(415) 749-3509
Last modified Creative Arts Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Creative Arts Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 140 reviews. Top